We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional Rhiad, nice retreat from Marrakech markets” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Les Jardins de La Koutoubia

Save Saved
You added Les Jardins de La Koutoubia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Les Jardins de La Koutoubia
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   26 Rue de la Koutoubia, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #181 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Wales
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Traditional Rhiad, nice retreat from Marrakech markets”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

When you first pull up outside the Rhiad it doesn't look much from the outside. It's in a small backstreet with various stalls selling cheap watches and hi-fi stuff. When you then enter you are greeted with a cup of delicious mint tea while you check in and then taken taken to your room.
The Rhiad is very traditional with stone staircases, which, whilst looking slightly worn in places, adds to the romantic traditional of the property. Our room was beautiful overlooking the courtyard and main Mosque which is lit up at night. The bed and bathroom were covered in fresh rose petals which were replaced every day when the room was serviced. The bathroom itself was large and comfortable and although showed some wear and tear, it was in keeping with the atmosphere of the Rhiad (some minor knocks and bumps in stone is only to be expected).
The staff were polite and attentive without being "in your face" - a pleasant retreat after the attentions of street marketers of Marrakech.
Eating wise, the breakfast was lovely (and very entertaining thanks to a beautiful and playful kitten who enjoys saying hello to everyone in the morning - ladies watch out for any flappy bits on your handbags!). The french restaurant attached to the Rhiad and the Moroccon restaurant were lovely. The Indian restaurant on the top balcony was lovely food but poor service. The lunch there is fairly basic.
We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

716 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    374
    217
    68
    33
    24
See reviews for
107
399
16
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Brunswick, New Jersey
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

This hotel is a lovely hotel right in the medina of Marrakesh, easily accessible by taxi from the rail station, and just a few minutes’ walk to the main square of the medina. You enter directly into a rich red and quite lush lobby and seating area with luxurious sofas. Check-in service was efficient and courteous, and a tea was provided. My room was located in the front of the building with a room looking down on to the busy medina street. I was glad of this, rather than having a room looking down to the inner courtyard with the pool. It was actually quiet in the evening, which was great. The room was spacious, with fresh roses provided each day on the bed, complete with rose petals. A very nice touch. The evening of my first day there, a small set of tagines provided fresh chocolates. Bottles of water were available in the room. An in-room safe is provided. The bathroom was adequate for one person, with a great tub and shower in the tub.

Breakfast was provided in the lobby level restaurant, and it was excellent. A wonderful selection of hot and cold foods, great variety of juices, fresh fruit, breads and pastries, and eggs and waffles made to order. I also had dinner in the restaurant one evening. The lamb tagine was superb. The rooftop, with bar and heated pool, provided some good views over the medina, as well as a magnificent sunset one evening. Internet service is free, but dreadful. It is not available in the rooms, and speed and stability varied from time to time in the busy lobby area where the best (?) access seemed to be available. Need to improve this considerably. Everyone seems to expect a tip, even for minimal service. A little blatant. Need to teach staff some etiquette and discreetness here. Some lovely open lounge areas (and open fire) around the patios of the pool area. Very nice.

Room Tip: Ask if rooms look out to the medina or to the courtyard of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bilthoven
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

This traditional hotel has everything a traveller needs. We had two rooms with connecting balcony and the rooms were ample, good beds, and very nice bathroom with great shower!
The people working there very helpful. Breakfast is great too, very nice orange juice.
Location is very good, a 2 minute walk to the big square. We especially liked the Indian restaurant even our daughter who didn't like Indian food. That changed this holiday. Also the " snackbar' at the pool was very good. And one night we ate at the Moroccan restaurant were we had a modest show of two musicians and a belly dancer. We enjoyed it very much. One thing is for sure: we will return. Again in winter time because of the very nice weather, 20-25 degrees during Christmas break.

Room Tip: traveling with family rooms 129 and 134 have connecting balcony/terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

This hotel exceeded expectations. My husband and I were upgraded to a junior suite overlooking the patio and pool. Our 2 offspring had a double room each. The facilities were excellent including a heated pool on the roof top. The Indian restaurant was superb, the breakfasts were fantastic and the bar was a great place to finish off the day. The roof top restaurant served great Moroccan food and the staff were all very friendly and helpful. This hotel is in a superb location in the medina near the square, so easy to find but it is an oasis amongst the chaos of Marrakech. Thoroughly recommended.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte, MG
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

We spent 5 days in the hotel, in one of its suites (the best available accomodations), so one might take this fact in consideration if the choice is for another type of room. The suite is superb, including a living room, the room itself and a "salle de bain" with a confortable bathtub (for two). Great accomodation. The hotel has three restaurants (indian, morrocon and international). We have not tried the latter, but the first two are pretty good, mainly the indian. There us a delicious spa which we also tried, with different types of massages. The service is adequate, although a bit slow when the hotel is fully booked (at a certain day it took one hour for the room service bring us some sandwichs). The location may be an advantage or disadvantage, depending on the profile of the client. The hotel is practically inside place Djema El Fna. To me, a huge disadvantage, because I hate the noisy old town (and the hotel is an oasis of peace surrounded by that mess), but my wife was delighted to be in that place, close to the souks, in the heart of the Medina. But it is at a 15 minutes walk from the new town. I would go there again, for sure

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
254 reviews 254 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

Have always dreamt of staying in this hotel after visiting Marrakech many times and decided to finally pay for it as a special treat. Booked previously online at a discounted price which included breakfast.

Checked in which seemed to have taken such a long time, however the front desk kindly upgraded our room which was nice, we did see the previous room ‘medina view’ and would have been gutted staying there for the price we paid, the mini suite we got upgraded too was gorgeous and very nice.

Location is the best location to be so close in the market but so quiet and lovely inside. The pools looked lovely, such a shame they charge to use the indoor pool, its pathetic after the price you pay to stay they charge so much to use an indoor pool!

Wifi was shockingly poor, had better staying at a 2 star! Kept disconnecting after every minute, I called reception and they apologised, thats all they could do. I guess it is a common issue.

Hotel looks worn out and in need for refurbishment, carpets tiles, dust and generally.

The bathrooms have a see through glass, so if going with a friend/family member, be warned.

Breakfast had a very big selection of food but service was very poor, they do not speak much English and not sure why they have to serve water and juice, so you have to wait for a long time when you want a glass of water. But the selection was very good and tasty and filling.

Only reason not voted 1 star because we got upgraded and because of the location.

Would stay again if I could afford it and a mini suite, would recommend it for someone wanting to stay close to the market.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rabat, Morocco
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

I don't know exactly how to start with this hotel, but it's just terrible. No easy access if you have a car, couldn't find a spot. so imagine having to drag your luggage in the middle of carts and cars and people.
Breakfast was just bland, a "meh" is in order here. Nothing exciting really. Other than that, it's beautiful from the inside, but so are the 600 hotels in Marrakech, the different lies with the quality of the food, the treatment of the staff and so many other factors.

This hotel deserves much less than the 2 stars I gave it.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Les Jardins de La Koutoubia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Jardins de La Koutoubia

Address: 26 Rue de la Koutoubia, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#36 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#71 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#73 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#88 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#128 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Les Jardins de La Koutoubia 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Les Jardins de La Koutoubia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Jardins De La Koutoubia Hotel Marrakech
Jardins Koutoubia Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Les Jardins de La Koutoubia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.