We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely traditional peaceful oasis in the heart of the city, great rooms, facilities and staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Les Jardins de La Koutoubia

Save Saved
You added Les Jardins de La Koutoubia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Les Jardins de La Koutoubia
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   26 Rue de la Koutoubia, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #183 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
“Lovely traditional peaceful oasis in the heart of the city, great rooms, facilities and staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

I don't get some of the reviews and ratings here. We have just completed our stay at the hotel and we've had a lovely peaceful time and the hotel and staff have all been great. We had a great holiday and the hotel was the perfect base. We were well treated and looked after perfectly.

It is probably one of the largest and best equipped hotels this close to the centre of the city. So it is perfect, being only 5 mins walk from Jemaa el Fna, the souks and nowhere in the medina is more than about 30 mins walk. If you want a large modern spa hotel then you'll probably be better off further out, or if you want a small cosy riad then go for that - but if you want a hotel with all the 5* facilities AND be close to the centre then this hotel is perfect.

The staff were all friendly and tried their best to help with every request. They didn't always provide the quickest service but that was all part of relaxed atmosphere. The concierge was helpful and we booked two trips and a cookery class, and all our transfers through the hotel - all of which worked out well.

The hotel is based around two large courtyards. The first courtyard contains the main pool and is surrounded at ground level by a lovely garden, the entrance lobby, the bar, one of the restaurants, the cafe and a whole series of quiet cosy alcoves and rooms. At night it is delightful to sit out with a drink, to take in the glinting lights, the gentle local music and the wonderful birdsong.

The other courtyard has a garden overlooked by the patio rooms and suite balconies and contains one of the three restaurants.

There are three pools, the main courtyard pool, the rooftop sun terrace pool and another in the spa. Three restaurants all of which were great although I think the Asian "Jardins de la Bala" was the best.

We had one mix-up. I'd emailed in advance to the hotel to arrange a transfer from the airport however the Moroccan government decided to change daylight saving time at the last minute so there was a misunderstanding about our arrival time. But it was resolved quickly.

As far as rooms are concerned, we were upgraded to a mini-suite so we had a super large bed, then down some steps there was a large seating area - we had a balcony overlooking the garden courtyard and the bathroom was lovely traditional 'old Moroccan style'. The bed, linen and bathroom were clean and well kept and were very comfortable. The rooms had a lot of light and storage space which is often not the case.

The one gripe was a shortage of accessible plug sockets.

One thing highlight though was that on arrival the rooms was beautifully decorated with roses (actually there were roses all over the hotel), water, some nice fruits and a selection of Moroccan pastries. Lovely :) And a sign of how well they look after you :)

Room Tip: The mini-suites are great if you can get one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

701 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    366
    212
    67
    32
    24
See reviews for
106
389
14
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Barnstaple, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Good location ideal to explore Marrakech situated in the old city, lovely rooms, good facilities, good restaurants. Friendly staff. 3 pools to choose from. Beautiful spa with good choice of treatments.

Room Tip: All rooms very goods junior suites very large
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bolton
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Having had such an excellent trip last year, we decided to revisit this hotel 12 months on.

Thankfully, very little has changed, and i still rate this hotel as one of the finest in Marrakesh, for location, service levels, qulaity and standard of rooms, and general all round appeal.

There have been a lot of neagative reviews on TA regarding this hotel, and to be fair everyone is entiltled to their own opinion, however i feel that some of the reviews are far from justifield.

The staff are extemely helpful and accomodating, having emailed the hotel prior to our visit, they were kind enough to arrange a taxi for us which was waiting at the airport as we arrived. Check in was simple and efficent, and an upgrade to poolside suite was most appreciated. The hotel is also spotlessly clean.

The room itself was stunning, very large comfortable bed, big lounge, 2 bathrooms and 2 sets of patio doors which opened up to the view of the pool. attention to deatil is wonderful, from the fresh fruit in the room, well stocked mini bar, selection of complimentary toiletries, right dowm to the rose petals laid out on the bed after the room has been cleaned

We used the roof top pool where we found the poolside bar staff to more than helpful, there is an excellent choice for lunch and the food it lovely, very weel cooked and presented, and not partucualrly expensive for a hotel of such quality. Sunbeds are plentiful and very comfy and the sunterrace is just a lovely quiet sun trap

Breakfast is great, plenty of choice and again well cooked, and dinning on the terrace by the pool is just a great way to start the day. There are also the hotel restraunts which have been revieed seperatly

In all, if you want a very relaxing quality hotel, just a short stroll from the medina, but set in its own completly tranquil setting this hotel is peerfect and highly recomended

Room Tip: poolside suites are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This hotel is in a great location , minutes from the central square and close to taxis to get anywhere else you want to go. The swimming pools are great, a cold one on the ground floor and a heated pool on the roof. We managed to get upgraded to a mini suite with a nice terrace which was great, however we were due to be in a standard Medina view double room. I asked to see this room as well and I have to say if we had not been upgraded I would have been very disappointed in the value for money as this hotel is on the expensive side and the standard rooms are very standard! Everything is very clean, the breakfast and restaurants were great and the staff very very helpful. I would definitely recommend but I would say go for the nicer rooms.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

This fantastic hotel is in a perfect location close to the main square in the Medina -it provides a perfect sanctuary from the hustle and bustle of central Marrakech-you can relax in the quiet courtyard by the pool after a hard morning haggling in the souks.
It is incredibly 'soundproof' to the chaos outside both day and night so you can enjoy a quiet drink in the bar or on the terrace before heading out to enjoy a Moroccan dinner
The restaurants in the hotel are a good standard with a variety of cuisine - breakfast provides a wide range of fresh food to set you up for the day.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

I am hardly ever compelled to write a review about any hotel I stay in negative of positive, but the treatment we have received from one of the staff was one that was appalling and has motivated me to unfortunately write.

We arrived to stay our last day in Marrakech in the hotel to be greeted by a very unprofessional staff but specifically one in particular who is working in reception. The woman working at the reception desk was completely unprofessional in handling both our check in and check out. She was very rude indeed and had a very disrespectful attitude and tone. At check in her unfriendly mannerism took us by surprise and we thought she might be having a bad day. However, during checkout when asked did we take something from the mini bar, under the assumption that the water was complimentary we said no, as we were leaving she ask the porter to call us back into the hotel and across the hall yelled out that we did not pay and that we have lied. When I confronted her and asked her to speak in a politer manner she continued her unprofessional yelling and hand gestures that I have never seen a receptionist in a 5 star hotel behave! My partner had to also ask her to lower her voice and speak to the clients with some respect. I was about to tell her that we are not trying to save 20 dirhams on a water bottle when we have paid around 3000 dirhams for a room, but refrained from making this obvious comment.

It is unfortunate to have to experience this at a luxurious place like Les Jardin de Kotoubia we were very much looking forward to spending our last night in a nice place, which in our case was really dampened by this woman at reception.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Great location by the main square and souks but, as others have said, far from five star. In need of major upgrade of some rooms and most corridors. To be fair, work was happening on the top floor- sadly loudly during our stay! Our children were given an updated room which was lovely with a good bathroom. Our next door room was old and pretty disappointing with the bathroom floor flooding every shower due to ill fitting shower head and curtain that was too small, air con that rattled loudly unless on full power which made the room too cold. Service and food very variable but that true of everywhere we went in Morocco- we live in Asia where service is generally considerably better. Certainly expected a little more leeway on checkout time. We asked for an extra two hours for one of our two rooms but this was denied. Wish our room had been cleaned so promptly during our stay! We were surprised that the third, indoor, pool was not free. One MAJOR problem for us was the poor wifi. The computers in the computer room were wifi reliant and we could not find anywhere in the hotel where the wifi was reliable. Unfortunately though on holiday wifi was necessary for us on a couple of days and there was none available for many long stretches during our stay. It would not take much to really improve thus hotel and the staff. We visited a smaller riad for dinner which showed what could be done and where the rooms just looked more cared for and where service was excellent with management very visibly monitoring service levels.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Les Jardins de La Koutoubia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Jardins de La Koutoubia

Address: 26 Rue de la Koutoubia, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#35 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#72 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#72 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#85 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#136 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Les Jardins de La Koutoubia 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Otel, TripOnline SA and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Les Jardins de La Koutoubia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Jardins De La Koutoubia Hotel Marrakech
Jardins Koutoubia Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Les Jardins de La Koutoubia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.