We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only visited the Piano Bar for cocktails but was wonderful !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Les Jardins de La Koutoubia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Les Jardins de La Koutoubia to your Saves list
Les Jardins de La Koutoubia
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   26 Rue de la Koutoubia, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #178 of 462 Hotels in Marrakech
buckinghamshire
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Only visited the Piano Bar for cocktails but was wonderful !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

I went to the Piano Bar at this hotel for cocktails before dinner at the Narwama restaurant which is practically next door.
The hotel is beautiful , just a short walk from the square. The setting is stunning , we were there when it was dark so the pool area was lit beautifully. We had a little walk around outside deciding if to sit outside or in. We chose in as it was a little cold. The staff were welcoming.

The Piano bar was quiet apart from the man singing at the piano. The bar staff were very friendly and chatty and we ended up sitting at the bar on three stools. We had our cocktails whisked up in front of us and they were delicious. Nuts & olives were flowing and used shells whipped away without us noticing ! We were celebrating a birthday and the man on the piano and the bar staff all sang Happy Birthday in English , French and Arabic !

We had a real laugh and would of stayed all night had we not had a dinner reservation. The cocktails were 70-80 Dh each , so about £5 - £6, cheap compared to London prices and worth it for a special start to an evening.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

779 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    406
    240
    75
    33
    25
See reviews for
120
424
16
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Exceeded my expectations. I booked last minute and in the rush it seems we double booked but once we got to the hotel the receptionist was happy to clear one of the rooms for no charge and no fuss. I hadn't told them I needed a car but once I arrived I called them for the address and the woman tried to see if they had one available, alas they didn't but not a problem.

The location is insane. Jmaa El Fna and the Koutoubia Mosque are 3 steps away and the surrounding area has cash machines, restaurants and the traditional souks to enjoy yourself in. You are right in the action.
When you enter the hotel however, it is different. Well-secure, high class and an elegant place with a fantastic piano bar and two great pools. The staff at both bars were so friendly and the indian restaurant was great.

To end with, the value for money is good. We stayed for three nights, made phone calls abroad, used a laundry service which was fast and constantly used the concierge to make us bookings and what we paid was well, well worth it.

Only negative points, they are strict on visitors and the wifi in the rooms isn't great. Didn't try the breakfast so can't comment.

Room Tip: Room 156, not sure what it's called but was amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

When we drew up to the hotel we thought "OMG" but once in - super! Great rooms, good food and .right in the middle of Marrakechech 2 minutes from the square.
Staff helpful, central courtyard with pool calm and verdant, just as advertised.

Room Tip: Views of the mosque good and the morning call to prayer wakes you up anywhere in the city!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and enjoyed the experience. It's not in the class of an internationally recognised 5 star hotel, but for Morocco it is a class above mostly everything else. Lovely to see rose petals and roses used in our room. Staff were very friendly and attentive.

We had a room in the new/recently renovated Relais de Paris section. You had to actually go outside to get to to this, normally not an issue in Morocco, but for our stay it was cold and wet! Also the room had a strong smell of paint/paintstripper one day - I think they're doing work across the hotel as we heard occasional banging too, but the smell went away and the work wasn't obtrusive. I couldn't connect my iPhone or iPad to the wifi in the room, but could connect in the reception area.

We ate in all 3 hotel restaurants (rather than chancing our luck finding something outside or around the square) and we were very happy with them all. Yes, they're more expensive than outside, but we found the quality to be very good. The outside heated pool on the roof was nice, if a little shallow to have a proper swim, but the views were impressive. Would've loved to use the comfy looking loungers, but on our short winter stay, it was simply too cold!!

Room Tip: Ask for the passcode for the wifi when you checkin, it's not like some where you enter your name...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

I would agree with previous reviewers that this is not really a 5 star hotel, more like a 4 star. It just doesn't have quite the luxury and attention to detail that I would expect for 5 star, although some rooms are better than others. We had two rooms for our party of five which were next door to each other. However the room my parents were in had a terrible smell (a recurring theme on reviews) and they had to complain. They sent up the maintenance men and the smell got better but then recurred. In the end they moved my parents to what was a much nicer room but over in the annexe by the Relais de Paris restaurant. Lovely room but to get to it you had to go out of the hotel and down a short alley so they were miles away from the rest of us. We gathered from speaking to the public relations lady at the hotel that problems with smell are not uncommon. So if you have a problem I would suggest you just raise the issue with reception straight away and ask to be moved.
So saying, this is still a lovely hotel and it's like a tranquil oasis when you come in from the city. It's so convenient for the square and for that reason if no other I would definitely consider it again. Breakfast was lovely, loads of choice, and we always found the staff to be friendly and helpful. We were there with two children and it was great to have so much space inside the hotel complex where they could safely roam, and also things like the heated pool and snooker table.
Ate at the Moroccan restaurant at the hotel on the first night but this was expensive and the food was much less good than that which we had at the Marrakchi restaurant off the main square on a later night. Also the Imlil snack bar is really expensive for what you get.
All in all, a lovely hotel but don't quite expect 5 star. Well worth considering though just for the amazing location.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

A beautiful hotel in an excellent location. Staff were friendly & helpful and very calm which was welcoming when coming in from the frenzy of Marrakech. Our room was large and beautiful, a bed was ready for our daughter as requested.
We ate in all 3 restaurants and the food was very good. The pool on the roof terrace is heated and we swam here. - the indoor pool is only free if you are using the spa.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

Having been here before 2 years ago I was very pleased to find it again and just as we remembered it.
A group of 8 of us ended our busy day and hussle round the night market and souks here for a lovely cocktail or 3. The Piano Bar was our destination and was pleased to see the sane chap playing along to his backing tracks and singing a range of songs. He really enjoyed us dinging along with him and applauding him at the end. Some bum notes and words missed but it added to the fun. The waiters give excellent service and make very nice cocktails and table snacks always served. These are hotel prices though so be careful how many you have. It's a lovely looking hotel and seems to be a well kept secret as not very busy bearing in mind most restaurants in the area do not serve alcohol ad in sight if the mosque. It's just off the main square so hardly any walk at all. There are cabs available outside which is handy. It was great to visit again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Les Jardins de La Koutoubia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Jardins de La Koutoubia

Address: 26 Rue de la Koutoubia, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#32 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#69 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#70 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#77 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#128 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Les Jardins de La Koutoubia 5*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Otel, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Les Jardins de La Koutoubia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Jardins De La Koutoubia Hotel Marrakech
Jardins Koutoubia Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Les Jardins de La Koutoubia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.