We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to end a busy day” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Les Jardins de La Koutoubia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Les Jardins de La Koutoubia to your Saves list
Les Jardins de La Koutoubia
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   26 Rue de la Koutoubia, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #174 of 462 Hotels in Marrakech
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Perfect place to end a busy day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

Having been here before 2 years ago I was very pleased to find it again and just as we remembered it.
A group of 8 of us ended our busy day and hussle round the night market and souks here for a lovely cocktail or 3. The Piano Bar was our destination and was pleased to see the sane chap playing along to his backing tracks and singing a range of songs. He really enjoyed us dinging along with him and applauding him at the end. Some bum notes and words missed but it added to the fun. The waiters give excellent service and make very nice cocktails and table snacks always served. These are hotel prices though so be careful how many you have. It's a lovely looking hotel and seems to be a well kept secret as not very busy bearing in mind most restaurants in the area do not serve alcohol ad in sight if the mosque. It's just off the main square so hardly any walk at all. There are cabs available outside which is handy. It was great to visit again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    388
    221
    70
    33
    25
See reviews for
108
412
16
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

Having spent the day wandering around the dusty and noisy ( yet brilliant) medina and markets then this hotel bar has just what you need. The piano bar is a dark oasis offering " cheesy" piano music alongside a menu of cocktails and beers. The staff were very friendly and the atmosphere relaxed and refreshing. Sit back, relax and accept it for what it is

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tavistock, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Hotel falls way short of a five star hotel, we were not advised by Kuoni (our travel agent) that work was being carried out during our stay. There were at times dust flying around, constant banging, drilling and workmen shouting. At one point we had no electricity in our room as it had been turned off (without warning) due to the fact that workmen were working on a lift. Staff at this hotel were very helpful if you gave them a tip! On checking our bill on the day of our departure, errors were found and had to wait until these were rectified. Our credit card was handed over only to be rejected, this threw us into panic as we have a substantial limit, we then had to pay cash. Upon checking with our credit card company on our return home, our credit card transaction was authorised in the UK but somehow the Morrocan system rejected it for some unknown reason. All in all we had a lovely break in the sun, we would return to this hotel as it is so convenient but ladies don't pack your five star hotel clothes as you will not need them. Stay away from the Relias de Paris restaurant at this hotel, staff need management direction, none to be found sadly here. Chef thinks that if he ladens his food with salt it will taste better. Steak was as tough as old boots. The Asian/Indian restaurant on the rooftop of the hotel was a welcome delight, all the staff and management were always pleasant, caring and attentive. I have to say that this resaurant is not run by the hotel and you can see the remarkable difference, a wonderful experience for lunch and dinner.

Room Tip: Rooftop suites are good, sunny but WiFi not always available. These rooms are great if you use the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed in MANY hotels and inns around the world and in this time we have enjoyed and endured these places. And in this time we have rolled with the punches and we have NEVER complained. But this pretentious hotel is a joke! Endure it if you must.
Service is poor, standard rooms smell, level 3 pool bar staff ignore you, breakfast staff ignore you, reception staff tell you to come back and talk to someone else, air-conditioning fills the room with an acrid stench, the Indian restaurant is average at best, internet unavailable in our wing although offered, no water in the rooms, no kettle, poor reception on the TV, poor staff training... etc etc etc. Sure, language barriers exist and as thats our issue not theirs then thats NOT a problem.
5 star? What the hell?? They probably got a local brass merchant to whip up the stars for them. And boy, are we reminded of the 5 stars!!! Every directional sign has the 5 stars and there are MANY signs.
If you like getting what you dont want then this place is perfect ... for a 3 star hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

This is a gorgeous hotel whose prime is clearly past. Though it has surely lost its former grandeur, the public spaces are still quite impressive and it retains plenty of advantages: its central and convenient location, right near the Jemaa el Fna; enormous rooms with their own bath "complexes"; a great hammam (though admittedly I have nothing to compare it to) with a beautiful heated underground pool (in addition to two outdoor pools); and a very extensive breakfast buffet (including made-to-order omelets as well as pork products). Everyone was nice, the grounds were lovely, and the staff at the front desk and restaurant spoke good English. On the down side, it's hard to imagine why they keep the ratty red rugs in the hallways, which make the place look like a flophouse. Simply replacing the rugs would do wonders! Similarly, the extra touch of using fresh flowers everywhere was ruined because they are using dead roses. The room had multiple sets of interior doors (one to the toilet room, another to the changing room), all of which had clunky pendant knockers that looked pretty but created a racket whenever you moved through them. In the winter, the concrete bathroom and toilet room were quite cold. You had to go through two sets of doors to wash your hands after using the toilet. It took quite a long time for check in (we had to wait about 30 minutes to get into our room), but by the same token (and probably for this reason) they were quite generous about late check-out. If you're coming to Marrakesh for a honeymoon or to hang out in your room, this is probably not the place for you. But if you're going to spend your time in the souks, this is a good value.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We stayed early January for a week in this beautiful hotel with a group of six. We all had beautiful very large rooms, very well appointed, quiet and with roses refreshed every day.
The hotel pool with a great view of the Koutoubia is a great asset to bask in the winter sun. The pool itself is a little shallow to properly swim and is rather overheated at 32°C. For those who like to have a proper swim there is the large pool on the ground floor, which unfortunately isn't heated, so only to be used by polar bears in wintertime.
Being situated around the corner from Place Djemna El Fna the hotel makes a great place to venture into the medina. After strolling around the hustke and bustle of the town, it is great to find this oasis your home.
Service was impeccable all over, including all four restaurants. The Parisian, pool restaurant and the Indian restaurant on the top floor are all excellent. The Moroccan restaurant comes out rather weak in comparison to the many good Moroccan restaurants in the neighbourhood.
We traveled with Jetair and our package included half pension. The breakfast was very sumptuous, while you could choose to either use your main meal a la carte at one of the four restaurants, either lunch or dinner.
A place to remember!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porthcawl, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Been to N Africa before and love to be in the centre but that can be overwhelming. We didn't want to stay in the more soulless new area though and this hotel turned out to be perfect. It's a 5 minute walk from Jemaa El Fna and the sights and sounds of the city but once you go in it's an absolute haven. We were upgraded to a suite in the new part, which was huge, spotless and beautifully decorated Moroccan style- there was even an indoor fountain and rose petals were put everywhere. Sheets changed daily and service across the board was polite and very smiley. There are 3 restaurants- we were half board and it was a very good deal. Few issues for a vegetarian coeliac but I had a lot of omelettes and veggie tajines, Indian restaurant was particularly good too. We had great weather for Jan and the heated pool on 3rd floor was a blessing as was the Clarins Spa. We did a couple of trips with a guide via the hotel which were just us so pretty laid back- 2 long days, 1 into Atlas Mountains and 1 to Essouiria. They were good value and well worth the drives which were in very comfy 4 wheel drives. Loved the souks as ever and also the Marjorelle Gardens and a day of tombs, storks and palaces- got lost but no-one anything but helpful. I reckon there is far less hassle then 10 years ago and people are just trying to make a living. A lot of smiling and polite thank yous go a long way wherever you are in the world. Did but some great bargains from tin makers square too and fabulous week away at miserable time of year.

Room Tip: New area may be better?
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Les Jardins de La Koutoubia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Jardins de La Koutoubia

Address: 26 Rue de la Koutoubia, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#67 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#70 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#85 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#121 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Les Jardins de La Koutoubia 5*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Les Jardins de La Koutoubia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Jardins De La Koutoubia Hotel Marrakech
Jardins Koutoubia Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Les Jardins de La Koutoubia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.