We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect - oasis of peace in the heart of the medina” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Les Jardins de La Koutoubia

Save Saved
You added Les Jardins de La Koutoubia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Les Jardins de La Koutoubia
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   26 Rue de la Koutoubia, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #177 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
Antwerp, Belgium
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Perfect - oasis of peace in the heart of the medina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We stayed early January for a week in this beautiful hotel with a group of six. We all had beautiful very large rooms, very well appointed, quiet and with roses refreshed every day.
The hotel pool with a great view of the Koutoubia is a great asset to bask in the winter sun. The pool itself is a little shallow to properly swim and is rather overheated at 32°C. For those who like to have a proper swim there is the large pool on the ground floor, which unfortunately isn't heated, so only to be used by polar bears in wintertime.
Being situated around the corner from Place Djemna El Fna the hotel makes a great place to venture into the medina. After strolling around the hustke and bustle of the town, it is great to find this oasis your home.
Service was impeccable all over, including all four restaurants. The Parisian, pool restaurant and the Indian restaurant on the top floor are all excellent. The Moroccan restaurant comes out rather weak in comparison to the many good Moroccan restaurants in the neighbourhood.
We traveled with Jetair and our package included half pension. The breakfast was very sumptuous, while you could choose to either use your main meal a la carte at one of the four restaurants, either lunch or dinner.
A place to remember!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

732 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    384
    221
    69
    33
    25
See reviews for
108
408
16
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Porthcawl, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Been to N Africa before and love to be in the centre but that can be overwhelming. We didn't want to stay in the more soulless new area though and this hotel turned out to be perfect. It's a 5 minute walk from Jemaa El Fna and the sights and sounds of the city but once you go in it's an absolute haven. We were upgraded to a suite in the new part, which was huge, spotless and beautifully decorated Moroccan style- there was even an indoor fountain and rose petals were put everywhere. Sheets changed daily and service across the board was polite and very smiley. There are 3 restaurants- we were half board and it was a very good deal. Few issues for a vegetarian coeliac but I had a lot of omelettes and veggie tajines, Indian restaurant was particularly good too. We had great weather for Jan and the heated pool on 3rd floor was a blessing as was the Clarins Spa. We did a couple of trips with a guide via the hotel which were just us so pretty laid back- 2 long days, 1 into Atlas Mountains and 1 to Essouiria. They were good value and well worth the drives which were in very comfy 4 wheel drives. Loved the souks as ever and also the Marjorelle Gardens and a day of tombs, storks and palaces- got lost but no-one anything but helpful. I reckon there is far less hassle then 10 years ago and people are just trying to make a living. A lot of smiling and polite thank yous go a long way wherever you are in the world. Did but some great bargains from tin makers square too and fabulous week away at miserable time of year.

Room Tip: New area may be better?
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rabat, Morocco
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

This is the place to stay in Marrakech. The location is fantastic--just away from the main square and great food, shopping and sites. In addition, the property is totally private and absolutely gorgeous. The staff if fantastic--very helpful and friendly with kids and grown-ups alike. This is a good choice for families with the wonderful restaurants in house and 3 pools but it's not overrun with children and I'd definitely head there for a romantic stay as well.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

the hotel was beautiful. its a real get away from the busy streets of marrakech. the staff are friendly and helpful. our room was the mini suite and had a view of the patio- definitle would recommend this hotel to anyone

the hotel has three restaurants- indian on the terrace, morrocan and french on the ground floor. we went to all of them and found the food lovely. in fact there was some entertainment when we went for dinner at the morrocan restaurant- with a pair of men playing what im guessing was native music (think guitar and drum) and a bellydancer also made an entrance- i would reccomend that the hotel make this a "bigger" thing. as we really enjoyed it.

we also visited the spa and had a pedicure done- the staff were really helpful and did a good job

overall a good solid five star hotel, worth the money

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

Tripadivsor said it was good, but that is understated.
Could not fault it, every thing was perfect.
Had 3 pools!!!!!
Wonderful spa, bar and staff.

We had Our room upgraded....wow!!
We had rose petals on the bed and in the bathroom every day.

Can highly recommend.
We booked this trip with expiadia and the price was amazing for a 5 star hotel.

Would recommend to anybody.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Amazing hotel located really close to the main square ,opposite mosque.Inside its typically Morrocan,staff really helpfull,food very good,and exceptionally clean.We used the swimming pool on the roof which is heated as it was November,also the Indian resturant in the hotel was worth a visit.Medditeraneen resturant also lovely.In the evening the piano was a must offering drinks.It was a safe peacefull haven inside the hotel compared to the madness of the souks outside.I would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone and would definately go back.We were also upgraded to a junior suite ,this was fantastic.

Room Tip: ask for a room with pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ITALY
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

This was our second stay. It is not a riad but an hotel. It is not new and, to be honest, it reflects this in some parts. Our room (2 adults + 6 year old child) was very big. It is close to a mosquee so you can hear the muezzin calling at 5.30 in the morning but it was not noisy, it just added charme to the place. On the first day we found both our bed and the child's one covered with roses and petals and some fruit to be eaten. Good breakfast with also an egg station and a crepes one. Close to the swimming pool on the first floor there is the international restaurant, where you can have salads and burgers for lunch. Before dinner we enjoyed a Negroni and a glass of wine (they brought some peanuts with them) in front of the swimming pool before having dinner in the Medina (where alcohol is forbidden in many restaurants, beware!). The location could not be beaten; you turn the road and you find yourself in the Djeema el Fna but you are also close to Mohammed V avenue where you can catch a taxi to go wherever you want. The location of the famous hotel Mamounia is not at all so good as this one. Staff was very nice: a bee stang me one night and one of the piano bar waiter was so helpful to take off the bee point from my arm and to bring me some ice without even asking

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Les Jardins de La Koutoubia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Jardins de La Koutoubia

Address: 26 Rue de la Koutoubia, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#38 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#68 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#71 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#81 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#121 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Les Jardins de La Koutoubia 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Les Jardins de La Koutoubia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Jardins De La Koutoubia Hotel Marrakech
Jardins Koutoubia Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Les Jardins de La Koutoubia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.