We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true palace in the heart of the medina” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Les Jardins de La Koutoubia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Les Jardins de La Koutoubia to your Saves list
Les Jardins de La Koutoubia
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   26 Rue de la Koutoubia, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #168 of 473 Hotels in Marrakech
Amersfoort, Netherlands
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A true palace in the heart of the medina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This is a truly outstanding hotel. First of all, it is huge, but it never feels that way. The different sections of the hotel, are all well furnished, decorated and kept brilliantly. The rooms are huge (we had two fully equipped bathrooms!) and fairly quiet. Fairly, because (as in many hotels) the cleaning crews start early, and if that is in the room directly above, you might as well get up - the noise! That same crew makes a pattern with rose leafs everyday on your bed - very romantic.
The hotel ouzes old world charm, without it being opressive. The breakfast is great, with fresh juices, fruits, all types of bread and anything you could wish for. The ground floor restaurant is also good, but not outstanding. It is however on a much higher scale than any restaurant in the vicinity of the hotel, so if you're not willing to walk in the dark medina or take a taxi, you might as wll eat here. They make great cocktails (especially mojito's) in the pianobar, but both me and my wife where wondering if there was any alcohol in them, as we couldn't detect any. The location of this hotel is absolutely superb - right in the thick of it, just a minute's walk from the main square. It is arguably the only five star hotel in the medina, and that might well be true. The staff is attentive, but not intrusive.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

893 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    478
    271
    84
    35
    25
See reviews for
138
482
20
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

It was a very nice stay. Lovely atmosphere, very frindly staff, great breakfast.
I had the opportunity to try the luxury indian restaurant and it has been a very nice experience.
All the hotel amenities are fantastic.
Recommended

Room Tip: i loved the room with a view of the inner yard with the pool. you will have the chance to meat the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

The hotel is walking distance from the main square but you wouldn't know it once you're there as its so quiet and peaceful. It's a beautiful setting and very old school Marrakech.

Hotel decor is of good quality, and the rooms were excellent, although we were lucky and got an upgrade. This was a room along a passageway from the hotel and was actually above one of the restaurants which at first seemed a bit odd but was not a problem, the especially when we had a bigger room and you couldn't hear a thing

Reception staff were mixed, one chap was great and very helpful, the woman there wasn't so helpful or knowledgeable which a bit frustrating when we were asking her advice on which restaurants to go to/how best to get there. You should watch out for the taxi they use outside the hotel (Mustafa) as well as he turned out to be a bit of a rip off - we nicknamed him Must-haffa-more-money!

The spa was excellent and reasonable value, surprising for a good quality hotel which normally charge the earth. They were very accommodating with me moving appointments as well

The breakfast was average, the service was too, some of the waiters were a bit surly but it was a pleasant place to sit in any case with a coffee

Lunch - a fairly limited menu but it was all very nice. Again some waiters/waitresses were better than others -it seemed they were easily distracted and forgot to bring things we'd asked for, so didn't exactly ruin the experience

The bar is great and probably worth a visit even if you're not staying as its such a lovely setting. The head waiter there was really good, very attentive service all round.

We ate in the Indian restaurant which was very good, we didn't go to the other two. The Moroccan one looked ok but we preferred to go out of the hotel to some of the more highly recommended restaurants arund the city.

Would highly recommend the hotel, we really enjoyed our stay and its beautiful. It was full of various european visitors, mostly french, rather than British so you really feel like you've found a gem.

Room Tip: If you go for pool view rooms, be aware these would also overlook the restaurant and bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

Writing this while still sitting in the hotel courtyard after four nights. Our experience couldn't have been any better. From the moment of arrival from the craziness of driving in this city (certainly wouldn't recommend that to anybody) in this oasis of calm and quiet and pleasant smells and very friendly as well as attentive staff until now we enjoyed every minute.

Don't want to repeat what other positive reviewers said as I can only confirm with their assessments. But to give a couple of examples of the attentiveness: previous guests of our room (very beautiful and very spacious junior suite) seemed to have taken the antenna cable of the TV as well as the hair dryer. Once we called the reception they replaced both within minutes. Nomad the bar waiter, was together with the lady concierge (sorry don't have the name) the most friendly ones. We truly felt at home here.

If I would change one thing in this hotel it's the pianist, who really isn't that fantastic, however by not being that great he is very entertaining as well.

After reading comments about supposedly inattentive service I can only assume that these guest must have been the ones who are in general unfriendly with anyone working in service and not willing to tip. A couple of dirhams make things go a very long way in Morocco. Don't forget that people in the service industry are making a fraction a month of what you spend in a hotel like this per night.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

The hotel was ideally situated for the jema al fna and the koutoubia mosque. Outside the hotel you got a real feel for Marrakech and within the hotel walls it was peaceful & relaxing. The room was very comfortable, the hotel facilities were great ( including a spa & 3 pools & 2 restaurants) & the staff were helpful & efficient.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Firstly the setting was 4-5 days in Marrakesh with my wife unsure as to what was on offer. The hotel is as many have already described an oasis in the middle of the mayhem that is Marrakesh so location is perfect.

Room excellant and restaurants all apart from the International not actually connected to the hotel are worthy of a visit or even two. Indian and Paris are top notch and reasonably priced for 5*.

Quiet and relaxing no question and I found the staff friendly and helpful also....... albeit and only because we are talking 5* somewhat unattentive when it comes to the service around the pool area. YES we had to wait and sometimes had to go and force our order usually during the day however it never took away from an otherwise excellant experience.

Would stay again ....... YES

Room Tip: Relax and take it easy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

This hotel has the best location in Marrakesh. Right outside the Medina. Two minutes from the Jemaa El Fna Square. Wonderful rooms. Fantastic Spa. Four different restaurants in the hotel.
Very good breakfast that you can have in the garden. The service was wonderful. This is absolutely a place I wsnt to visit again.

Room Tip: All rooms were of a good size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Les Jardins de La Koutoubia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Jardins de La Koutoubia

Address: 26 Rue de la Koutoubia, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service Spa
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#70 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#80 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#80 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#108 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Les Jardins de La Koutoubia 5*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Splendia, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Les Jardins de La Koutoubia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Jardins De La Koutoubia Hotel Marrakech
Jardins Koutoubia Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Les Jardins de La Koutoubia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.