We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Oasis in the Chaos” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Les Jardins de La Koutoubia

Save Saved
You added Les Jardins de La Koutoubia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Les Jardins de La Koutoubia
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   26 Rue de la Koutoubia, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #176 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“An Oasis in the Chaos”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

It's fair to say that this hotel is in probably one of the greatest locations in Marrakech. We were looking for a hotel in the old town with a proper pool; while there are many amazing hotels many of them don’t have anything more than a paddling pool on the roof. However this hotel is approximately 250 meters from the Square and the souk and slap bang in the middle of the crazy life that is Marrakech.

We were upgraded on arrival to a suite, which was very kind and unexpected, the room was very spacious, clean, comfortable. We did think that being so close to the hustle and bustle we would hear the outside noise, however we heard nothing (not even the call to prayer from the main Mosque which was only a couple of 100 meters away. The only slightly downside was that the aircon in the room seemed to struggle with the heat and at night it was warmer than you would like, however it was 46oC during the day so we weren’t really surprised!!
As for the hotel, yes it is a bit dated, but it has a wonderful colonial feel to it. The pool area is great to spend the afternoon relaxing. The Spa is great (top end prices though) the food and drink within the hotel is great. The staff are so friendly. If fact I have pretty much nothing negative to say about this hotel.

In short, great hotel, great location worth a visit.

Room Tip: Ask to be in the main building - much closer to the pool etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

732 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    384
    221
    69
    33
    25
See reviews for
108
408
16
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Blissful, Tranquil, Calming, Friendly, Unobtrusive, Relaxing, Comfortable... Just a few words to describe the 'Les Jardins de La Koutoubia' Hotel in Downtown Marrakech.

After a rather bad start to our first vacation in Morocco, we had to move hotels next day; I went in search for a hotel that I could rate 'clean' and 'friendly'. Thanks to my iPad and hotels.com, within 2 hours I stumbled upon the 'Les Jardins de La Koutoubia'. Situated in the cities old-town (The Medina) I knew I was home as soon as I walk though the front doors. I checked in for 7 nights and never looked back... blissful could only describe the well kept surrounding of this larger than normal boutique hotel. In anyone’s standards, this was truly 5 star. I met several of the hotel guests during my stay; some of who were British, American but most were obviously French.

The hotel has several outdoor swimming pools as well as a wellbeing underground pool in the hotel's luxury spa. The main pool area was situtated in the hotels courtyard area. It had plenty of clean, comfortable sun-loungers shaded with Palm-trees. The noise from the hustle & bustle from Marrakech's noisy streets was completely blocked by the shape of the hotel... With only the sound of birds in the overhanging palm-trees, I had to keep reminding myself I was in the middle of a busy city. Marrakech Square is only 5 minutes away, a place everyone goes of an evening. The Souk’s busy backstreets surround the hotel from all areas. To soak-up the Moroccan experience, I had picked a hotel ‘right-bang-smack’ in the perfect location.

A full breakfast service was available to all guests in the hotel’s ground floor restaurant and poolside terrace. By day… soft drinks, coffees, teas, beers, light lunches & ice cream were served to you by the pool our nearby restaurant’s terrace. Of an evening the hotel’s three truly wonderful restaurants opened for dinner. The main eatery was the ground floor Moroccan Restaurant. Close by, the hotel’s gardens were turned into a wonderful international restaurant serving tasty meats, chicken, fish and vegetable dishes. On the hotel’s rooftop terrace restaurant, we were delighted by the flavours of Asia… the ‘Les Jardin’s de Bala’ Indian Restaurant. By day they served light Asia snacks and meals either in the restaurant or by the rooftop poolside but by evening the ‘Les Jardin’s de Bala’ burst into life… ‘Indian style’. The food and service were wonderful in all restaurants.

Our hotel suite was clean, modern & very spacious. It had a large balcony overlooking the hotel’s garden, 2 large wall mounted LCD Televisions with a few English speaking news and movie channels, plenty of wardrobe space, large bathroom with separate bath & shower... but most importantly of all... a very comfortable bed.

My stay at the 'Les Jardins de La Koutoubia' was perfect in every way but its friendly staff made my visit most memorable, a special mention to ‘Kareem’, one of the hotels young concierge staff… he was so welcoming, friendly & helpful when we arrived. If I ever return to Marrakech, I will most definitely stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Check availability & cost of a suite overlooking the Hotel's garden. If your budget fits...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york, new york
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Beautiful hotel. Great pool area on ground floor and another smaller pool on terrace. Had a very nice room and was surprised that my friend and I each had our own bathroom. Windows completely shut out noise. Superb location just a 3 minute walk to Djamaa. Helpful concierge called Royal Air Maroc to confirm our reservations for the flight home.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel for 5 nights in July and absolutely loved it. I don't really have anything negative to say about it.

The hotel has an excellent location right next to the main square. It is on a very busy street, but it really is incredibly relaxing and quiet inside. The pool area was very quiet and clean and you could order food and drinks (there are two outdoor pools-one in the central courtyard and one on the roof-both were lovely). You could also get a bed by the pool easily anytime.

The room was lovely, with small moroccon pastries in the room on arrival. It was nice and clean, with a lovely view out to the central courtyard and pool. It was also nice and quiet. It is true that the air-conditioning was not very strong (there is also a ceiling fan), but we were there in July and found the temperature at night, with the air-con and ceiling fan on was fine.

The hotel itself is lovely and in a traditional design. The bar area and seating outside were nice and we enjoyed having a drink there in the evening. The cocktails were really good. The staff at the bar were also very friendly and attentive.

Food- we ate at both the moroccan restaurant and the indian rooftop restaurant in the hotel and had really good meals in both. We also ate lunch in the poolside bar and the food there was really good and reasonably priced compared to other 5* hotels in Marrakech that I have visited.
We also ate out in Marrakech and the hotel reception were very helpful in recommending places and booking tables for us. They were also very helpful in getting us a taxi out in the evening if we needed it. I found that everyone working there had good English.
Breakfast was pretty good, with all the things you need and they also make crepes.

We would definitely stay at this hotel if we return to Marrakech. Overall i'd say that it had a nice character and the staff were really welcoming and helpful so we really had a great experience.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Good service, a warm welcoming with sweets and peppermint tea.
The lobby is quite impressive, specially when you see the swimming pool area outside.
Breakfast is ok, but they have a bar on the roof (with another swimming pool) where they serve indian tapas. OMG! Try them!
In the evening try their delicious tagine (careful, huge portion).
The rooms are good and their spa is just like heaven.
Super location, maybe even too close to the market :)
Be careful with some strange people coming and offering to take you to a tour. The hotel has some people for that and they are really good. One of them took us shopping on the good stores, hidden and interesting spots for a really fair price.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Location, Location, Location....
This beautiful Hotel is located next to the Medinas and the main Plaza. You can feel really safe visiting the traditional market and the Plaza late at night.
The Hotel layout follow traditional Morrocon architecture, meaning all spaces are open towards a central patio, this time, filled up with a gorgeous pool.

Room sizes are large enough to accommodate an spacious sitting area and a comfortable queen bed, daily decorated with different rose petals. Bathroom area has a separate toilet room.If you travel with friends, the corner rooms shares a terrace, perfect for an evening email check (internet is free) and night activities planning.

The staff is very friendly and fluent in French, English and some Spanish, and in Morocco that's a plus.

Breakfast buffet is well provided and satisfies diversities, from plain cereals to elaborated pottage. In house you can choose from three different restaurants, Morrocan, Indian and International with hi end setups, but lacking a very short menu and almost no wine options

The Piano Bar is well provided and with elegant sitting areas, perfect hideout where you can enjoy a generous drink while waiting for your wife to get ready.

The Clarins Spa is great, make sure you call in advance to get the Vapor room ready... it's a must !!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staines
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Awful start to a holiday when you exit an airport and the taxi cab drivers shout abuse at you for not wanting to pay 4 times over the odds for a cab ride. 80dhm is approximately what you should be looking at. Absolutely roasting at the mo with humidity at about 100%. Good long daylight hours, with hot nights. Didn't see any mozzies. Great location for the hotel- needs more attention to detail to bring this up to a good 4 star. Most hotels do themselves a dis-service by overselling themselves. Structurally beautiful with high ceilings and authentic furniture pieces. The B.A Rep was selling very overpriced excursions which you can pick up for alot less anywhere else (NB. haggle) Pool side drinks are very expensive- especially when they are being presented in just a can. An advantage if you can speak french/morrocan as very little english is spoken by key hotel personnel (reflected in cable tv channels- only 2 in english). Internet works sporadically. The pool side is un-manned for 95% of the time. Towels are limited on a first come first served basis. Sun beds were comfortable with plenty of shaded seating areas. The pool and surrounding areas were kept clean. I had read on other reviews that the a/c didn't always work; unfortunately this problem continues. It really is no joke in those kind of temperatures. We did have a lovely big room with 2 a/c units, the one nearest the bed didn't work properly and sounded like a drilling machine. Nights were very uncomfortable as the ceiling fans only moved the air around and the beds are made up of a duvet when a thin sheet is all that is required. There is no view to speak of as the curtains need to remain drawn to keep the sun out. The curtains are made up of a heavy material and a black out curtain. Nothing inbetween which would allow you to enjoy looking out over the pool; as soon as you draw back the curtain you are looking directly into someone elses room. Very intrusive. This also meant that the windows remained closed and the toilets had very poor extraction fans. Not a very plesant aroma. A cool box would remain colder than the fridge. There is not enough hanging space in the small closet and no hooks to hang towels up in the shower room. The bedside lights didn't work on the left side of the room which was annoying as the whole room would then have to be lit up when reading at night. Breakfast is clean and plentiful with a large variety. Ask for Nescafe if you can't handle the local gloop. The orange juice is delicious. Bewarned that pick pockets and beggars are rife outside/in the market. Be warned to keep your wits about you when outside the hotel; you'll get jostled, spoken to rudely, dismissed with a hand gesture and ladies WILL get groped. Personal space is not respected. Be aware when eating outdoors as we were duped/lured into a restaurant only to be told that they served a 3 course set menu at an extortionate price (after they'd sat us down and taken drinks orders) The price for a carriage ride should be around 200Dhms for the hour, irrespective of how many of you get in the carriage. Everyone is out to put one over on you, needless to say I wont be going back. The food in the hotel pool bar is definately worth the price. Well presented, fresh and authentic. Chocolate milkshake is highly recommended. Be warned the lifts regulary break down. The spa seems very over priced, therefore empty.The points I have made all seem small but when you put them all together, a 5 star hotel it does not make...BUT a lovely 4 star which I would recommend.

Room Tip: All rooms can be looked into as there is no sheer/privacy curtain so don't bother paying anythin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Les Jardins de La Koutoubia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Jardins de La Koutoubia

Address: 26 Rue de la Koutoubia, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#38 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#67 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#71 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#81 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#121 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Les Jardins de La Koutoubia 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Les Jardins de La Koutoubia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Jardins De La Koutoubia Hotel Marrakech
Jardins Koutoubia Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Les Jardins de La Koutoubia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.