We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average review for an average hotel!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Agdal Hotel

Save Saved
You added Agdal Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Agdal Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Boulevard Zerktouni, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #378 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Average review for an average hotel!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for a week from mid October. We picked this hotel because of it's price and the fact we thought it was close to the Jemaa-El-Fna (which we were sadly mistaken on as it is a good 30 minute walk for an average speed walker)

After hours delay due to our flight company we didn't get to the hotel till close to midnight where we were greeted by who we thought was the hotel manager, he was very lovely and gave us a pool room once we asked. We went up in the lifts (do not use if you have claustrophobia) The larger lift is rather slow, you could go up and down in the other lifts before that one had even reached the 1st floor! We then walked down a very dark corridor with no lighting (you have the turn the lights on yourself and they turn back off after about 5 minutes)

While in our room we could hear an alarm going off, we though it was a car alarm and was hoping it wouldn't be this noisy for the rest of the week, being very hungry we went for a walk, on our way down the stairs we noticed the noise was the lift, we banged on the door and shouted if someone was stuck inside with a reply for a scared woman shouting for help. I ran down to tell reception to be told "I know" he then started swearing in French on the phone to someone. Once back in the hotel we used the toilet to be greeted by a loud humming sound, at first we didn't put two and two together and thought it was someone playing a trumpet, it wasn't till the 2nd day that we knew it was the toilet.

The next day we were rudely woken up around 6am by birds on our balcony doing their mating sounds, it was covered in bird poo, feathers and everyday dirt.

Breakfast isn't worth waking up for, it was rock hard 'pancakes' with stale bread that I wouldn't feed to a dog. We went to have lunch at the hotel and whatever we asked for wasn't in stock so we settled for a spaghetti bolognese which had no meat in even though it cost us 40dh they also charged us 15dh for water which you can get in the local supermarket for 5dh.
Dinner wasn't any better, everything is in French and the staff do not speak much English. I used a translator app and because the hotel had spelt things incorrectly it wasn't giving us the correct food. You never get a full meal. Their chicken tagine was just one piece of chicken with 20 olives and what felt like 1L of oil. We had to ask for rice which was cold and we all had to share. The Tagine is the only thing that is hot in the whole hotel, nothing else was ever heated. I work in the hospitality industry and know if this was in the UK they would have been shut down.

They change their prices daily, we got charged 12, 11, 12.50 dh all for the same coffee depending on the man's mood and I'm guessing if he hasn't got enough tips that day! He even charged me 22DH and when I realised he called me a liar saying he didn't short change me. Lucky for me a different member of staff gave me my 10dh back.

The room was pretty spacious for two people but we had no air con all week, I asked for a remote and the man wanted to come turn it on and take the remote back so we couldn't turn it on or off. The bathroom had limescale and we went a few hours without any water in the whole hotel! There after all you got from the cold water tap was loud air noises.

The pool was full of flies, wasps and moths, some alive, some not. There wasn't enough loungers for a full hotel but lucky for us it was pretty empty, the loungers were dirty and smelly and were in need of some cleaning. The umbrellas were too heavy for even most men to be able to move.

I wouldn't say this hotel is horrid but you do get what you pay for, I'd advice that you pay a little bit more and get a nicer hotel, I just don't think Marrakech is the place to go 3*.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view room and for air con remote if there isn't one in your room Bring a English...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    31
    48
    29
    19
See reviews for
17
41
22
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

i stayed in this flea pit recently but never again - barely rates as a one star hovel - the whole place is filthy dirty esp the floors - somebody got stuck in the lift on the first night - bed sheets were not changed all week - there was a black mark on my bed sheet which moved around a couple of times where it got turned over by the cleaners - but the only time it was changed and the room was cleaned was as we were about to check out - the cleaners were expecting a tip - and like everybody else in the place they were hanging about waiting for a tip and trying to make us feel guilty
the food was atrocious - as was the staff - we were expected to tip for service we never got - meals were cold, inedible, and often just half a meal - once i received three squares of meat in a tagine with eight prunes - another time i got a piece of chicken and that was it - we had to ask for rice to accompany the meal and were expected to tip for the privilage - one of the waiters has to be the most miserable man in marrakech
toilet was filthy really - the shower was situated so that it sprayed the wall and not the person - you could easily trip over a bidet which was stuck out of the bath - me and my son got a double bed so we had to go begging for a single bed - our friends had no air con all week - their room was like a sauna with 104 temps outside - pigeons roost on the balconies - nowhere really to put clothes - we got one coat hanger between two of us
at least pool side rooms don`t stink of the heavy road traffic outside the hotel - however the consierge areas did often smell bad of the pollution outside
the pool was full of wasps moths and flies - there was around five or six sun loungers between all 140 rooms but luckily the place was empty and was like a morgue - i wonder why

Room Tip: ask for pool side rooms - le chamber d` piscine
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Stayed at the Agdal for 7 nights from the 15th October.Arrived after midnight there was nowhere to get drink or food.No drinking water in rooms.

ROOMS
We had 2 rooms on the 4th floor.Rooms were very basic,only 1 of the rooms had a/c for the whole week.Rooms were very basic and very well worn and dated they are in desperate need of a complete refurb.Bathroom needs a good scrub it is full of dirt and limescale.Towels had big holes in them lucky we had brought our own.Toilet had flushing problems all week that was not fixed.

Staff
Elderly gentlemen on the reception is very nice and manages to speak enough english to be understood.But keeps trying to sell you excursions.Restaurant manager and his staff are rude and ignorant unless you keep tipping them all the time.

POOL
Nice size,clean but full of dead flies and wasps.It is a total sun trap.

Food
Breakfast tough pancakes and pastries.Tea or coffee.
Dinner is a set menu Tagine Tagine and more Tagine served with either prunes or olives.Meals are always served warm nothing is hot,they will not heat it up for you.Vegetable soup has no veg in it not 1 bit looks more like luke warm water.Chefs special gateau was infact a bite size chocolate eclair.Waiters are very rude.Menu is in french only.

Hotel charges 15 dirhams for a bottle of water and 12 dirhams for a can of coke,across the road at the supermarket same bottle of water is 5 dirhams and a litre of coke is 7.

Hotel is about 30 minutes walk from the medina and about 10 minutes to the plaza main shopping area.There is a train station 10 minutes walk away.Buses stop at the end of the road.

I would never stay again at the Agdal.It was very disappointing. The hotel bar was not open throughout our stay and hadn't been for months.

Room Tip: Rooms facing pool are more quite but there is a locals club in side street that gets noisy till earl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Located around 25-30 walking minutes from central Marrakech, it would have been good to also enjoy staying at the Agdal....but the fabric of the building is tired, the facilities basic, breakfasts simple and lacking stunningly fresh bread/pastries. Using the bath/shower meant negotiating the obstacle course of an ill-sited bidet and close use of mirrors was similarly obstructed. Plumbing fittings were falling apart - much investment seemed necessary to address these many issues.
Thankfully our air-conditioning unit worked and helped drown noise from the night-club opposite.
Overall under-whelmed by this hotel....there must be better places.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Stayed for four nights with two girlfriends as we wanted to visit the medina and we were mostly guided here by price. Overall the first impressions were that the hotel was a bit dated, but clean. The staff are kind and helpful. The shower in the room was lovely and almost always piping hot (wonderful for a group of girls) downside is that though the housekeeping staff would tidy the room they never changed the bed sheets and never gave us clean towels which was a bit gross.
The breakfasts were minimal but the coffee was delicious & the pastries seemed fresh and were yummy.
Overall, you get what you pay for. Cheap, yes, but if you want gourmet food & top notch facilities go to a 4/5 star hotel simple.

Room Tip: Pool view rooms have nice little balconies & seem quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

Once arriving at hotel staff was helpful and nice.i requested a room away from the busy streets,yet I was given a room right infront if the main rooms.Be aware if the make staff that works in the kitchen always dressed ima suit!charges you extra money without reason.he is quiet rude if you do not eat from his restruant in the hotel.the 4 nights I stated there the Air con was broke!beds where horrible.service was really crap at times!i would not reconnect any one to go there!!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

I did not like the fact that the mattresses in the room could cause severe lower back pain. The rug in the rooms are slippy very hazardous indeed. They all just want money expecting handouts all the time. The stupid kitchen staff don't know how to cook properly. I ordered burger it was tiny and I got 7 pieces of fries with it. I once ordered mix meat soup and I get veg soup with two skewers of lamb and chicken boosting the price. Brother brother welcome its all fake reception. There is a guy who runs the souvenir shop he seemed ok and at a reasonable price but once i bought the goods he did not even look at my direction again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Agdal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agdal Hotel

Address: 1 Boulevard Zerktouni, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #378 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Agdal Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Otel, Orbitz, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Agdal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agdal Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Agdal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.