We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fake and deceiving.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Agdal Hotel

Save Saved
You added Agdal Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Agdal Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Boulevard Zerktouni, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #380 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fake and deceiving.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

I did not like the fact that the mattresses in the room could cause severe lower back pain. The rug in the rooms are slippy very hazardous indeed. They all just want money expecting handouts all the time. The stupid kitchen staff don't know how to cook properly. I ordered burger it was tiny and I got 7 pieces of fries with it. I once ordered mix meat soup and I get veg soup with two skewers of lamb and chicken boosting the price. Brother brother welcome its all fake reception. There is a guy who runs the souvenir shop he seemed ok and at a reasonable price but once i bought the goods he did not even look at my direction again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    31
    49
    28
    18
See reviews for
16
41
21
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for four nights. As I entered the hotel, the staff were really friendly and helped us take our luggage upstairs. I requested for a room away from the busy streets but was given one regardless. The rooms were really quite depressing and made me feel really pessimistic about my holiday. It was really dull, the lights were not working properly and the flush was broken. I really disliked the rooms. However the ambience of the foyer room was really nice, and it had wifi :). All the staff were really friendly bexcept the restaurant manager, he is really big in tips, and if you don't pay him then he becomes really grumpy with you and limits his conversation which I personally found really rude. He did not give me change back and used to charge extra for everything so don't make the mistake of eating at his restaurant. Everyone else was really friendly. The location was the best part of the hotel as it is very central to everything like the old city and the restaurants. I would not return to this hotel as I was very disappointed with the rooms and they expected a lot of tips.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

If you are the type who'd spend most of your holiday time outside the hotel exploring the city rather than in your room, then this is the hotel for you. Very convenient location, close to restaurants and in between two of Marrrakech's main avenues. 5 minute walk to a supermarket (Acima). A cab ride from the hotel to the medina (old city) would cost 10-30 dirhams (depends on how well you haggle).

Rooms are a bit dated although airconditioning is ok. Water pressure is good, warm water is available. Most of the rooms have a balcony. Smoking permitted almost everywhere - from the lobby to the corridors. Hotel restaurant located next to the pool.

Breakfast consists of bread, bread and more bread. Eggs and pancakes are available as well, along with coffee and juice. I asked for more servings of eggs but was refused, saying only one egg per person. Ha!

Staff was friendly and accommodating. All in all an OK hotel, nothing much but located in a very convenient location.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms facing the pool. Seem to be more quiet rather than the rooms facing the main stre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Arriving at was in general no pleasant experience. The staff is harassing you at your room, with endless offers, most of them over-priced; the breakfast is poor and the coffee undrinkable and the rooms are old and smelly. In general a no-go

Room Tip: Go some place else
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Velez-Malaga, Spain
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Hotel Agdal was not good at all. The Breakfast was very bad (the croissants served were hard as rocks and didn't taste of anything, the coffee was disgusting and I didn't dare to try the rest of the food), the people who worked there weren't very polite (the only polite person in the building was only the man who took our bags up to the room, and that was because he wanted money). The reason why I'm giving this two stars is because the rooms have got A/C. The Wi-Fi only reached the reception area and even there it was pretty bad. Not recommendable

Room Tip: Wi-Fi only reaches reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

For the price this hotel is fantastic. It is very central in Marrakech just a little walk away from the railwaystation and the airportbus stops just on the other side of the road, It has a little swimmingpool. The breakfast is good and there a lot of small restaurant with fantastic and very cheap food

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here from 20.12.12 to 27.12.12. When I first laid eyes on the hotel I was very hopeful, as the outside looked promising and as well as the reception but once I entered my room all the hope was lost. The room was very dark and the decor wasn't very inviting. The bathroom was dingy and my mom had the clean the toliet herself! But the shower was very powerful and hot! The food at the hotel was horrible and all I ate was pancakes (you have to pay extra for fruit) and if you drink at lunch or dinner you have to pay for that too. The lunch was terrible the fish and chicken was always deep fried...not very moroccan. I only thing I would recommend this hotel is for the location which is very good. At the moment there is a hotel being built next to it so if you like to spend a lot of time at the hotel this could be a problem. Some days the work started at 7am! On a nice note there's a bar called Charlie's on the same side as the hotel where the food and hospitality was lovely!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Agdal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agdal Hotel

Address: 1 Boulevard Zerktouni, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #380 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Agdal Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelBookers, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Otel, HotelsClick, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Agdal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agdal Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Agdal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.