We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap hotel does the job” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Agdal Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Agdal Hotel to your Saves list
Agdal Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Boulevard Zerktouni, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #394 of 474 Hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Cheap hotel does the job”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

If you are the type who'd spend most of your holiday time outside the hotel exploring the city rather than in your room, then this is the hotel for you. Very convenient location, close to restaurants and in between two of Marrrakech's main avenues. 5 minute walk to a supermarket (Acima). A cab ride from the hotel to the medina (old city) would cost 10-30 dirhams (depends on how well you haggle).

Rooms are a bit dated although airconditioning is ok. Water pressure is good, warm water is available. Most of the rooms have a balcony. Smoking permitted almost everywhere - from the lobby to the corridors. Hotel restaurant located next to the pool.

Breakfast consists of bread, bread and more bread. Eggs and pancakes are available as well, along with coffee and juice. I asked for more servings of eggs but was refused, saying only one egg per person. Ha!

Staff was friendly and accommodating. All in all an OK hotel, nothing much but located in a very convenient location.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms facing the pool. Seem to be more quiet rather than the rooms facing the main stre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    32
    53
    33
    20
See reviews for
20
44
25
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Arriving at was in general no pleasant experience. The staff is harassing you at your room, with endless offers, most of them over-priced; the breakfast is poor and the coffee undrinkable and the rooms are old and smelly. In general a no-go

Room Tip: Go some place else
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Velez-Malaga, Spain
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Hotel Agdal was not good at all. The Breakfast was very bad (the croissants served were hard as rocks and didn't taste of anything, the coffee was disgusting and I didn't dare to try the rest of the food), the people who worked there weren't very polite (the only polite person in the building was only the man who took our bags up to the room, and that was because he wanted money). The reason why I'm giving this two stars is because the rooms have got A/C. The Wi-Fi only reached the reception area and even there it was pretty bad. Not recommendable

Room Tip: Wi-Fi only reaches reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

For the price this hotel is fantastic. It is very central in Marrakech just a little walk away from the railwaystation and the airportbus stops just on the other side of the road, It has a little swimmingpool. The breakfast is good and there a lot of small restaurant with fantastic and very cheap food

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here from 20.12.12 to 27.12.12. When I first laid eyes on the hotel I was very hopeful, as the outside looked promising and as well as the reception but once I entered my room all the hope was lost. The room was very dark and the decor wasn't very inviting. The bathroom was dingy and my mom had the clean the toliet herself! But the shower was very powerful and hot! The food at the hotel was horrible and all I ate was pancakes (you have to pay extra for fruit) and if you drink at lunch or dinner you have to pay for that too. The lunch was terrible the fish and chicken was always deep fried...not very moroccan. I only thing I would recommend this hotel is for the location which is very good. At the moment there is a hotel being built next to it so if you like to spend a lot of time at the hotel this could be a problem. Some days the work started at 7am! On a nice note there's a bar called Charlie's on the same side as the hotel where the food and hospitality was lovely!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auchtermuchty, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

A fairly decent hotel situated in th heart of the commercial area and close to the train station and straight road to the old city, which takes around 25 minutes to walk to. I was reasonably content that at least it had free WIFi availability, even if is just limited to the foyer area.

The rooms offer limited satellite TV including a BBC world news and a movie channel along with a host of Arabic channels. The en-suite bathroom was reasonably decent with a tap operated shower, with a daily change of towels, although they were a little worn out. The room was kept clean by the ladies who provided a daily going over. The real serious gripe I had was with the beds which really past it and gave me some backache every morning.

But unfortunately the rooms and corridors do feel very lifeless due to the dull decor, infact the whole hotel could do with a fresh lick of paint and bit of general sprucing up.

A decent buffet breakfast is provided with a reasonable choice of bakery products. the chef will cook up an omelet on request, which was very tasty with the crepes or the flat bread. However it had no cereal during my stay which I found very disappointing. The evening meal consisted a choice from set menu with standard 3 course meal. During our stay we tried the soups, chicken, kebabs and spaghetti all had the same dull microwaved taste. The sweet dish consisted of a choice of gateaux, flan or the chefs choice, which we discovered to be a bowl of fruit.

The hotel reception staff are initially overtly friendly and helpful until they suss out how much you will be spending on their in-house excursions and gift shop and then they become quite robotic.

Overall I had a pleasant stay of 4 nights, considering the cost, and it would be the only reason that would compel me to return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Just returned from 7 days half board stay. Room was spotlessly clean and overlooked the pool. The towels which were changed every day had seen better days! Pool towels were threadbare and had large holes in them. Sheets clean but again had seen better days. The cleaner was a joy always smiling and even gave us carpets in our room when it turned a bit chilly! Breakfast was always freshly made omelette or fried eggs with croissants,bread etc. Loads fresh orange juice,tea and coffee. Dinner or lunch was varied! Sometimes very good but always a choice, it was just bad luck if you chose the wrong thing. The only person with no sense of humour and not helpful was the Restaurant Manager. All reception staff were very friendly and helpful.
We ate from a roadside cafe one day which was very cheap and very good. Another night had to experience the stalls in the Medina! What a disaster that was , very expensive and poor quality. Just around the corner from the hotel a restaurant called Nostalgia serves very good food and is cheap. Less than half the price of eating in the square!!!!
Take extreme care if visiting the Kasbah many people want to act as guides and are not amused when you do not give them much money.
The trip to the berber village and Atlas mountain was well worth doing also the day pass on the Tourist Bus. No 19 airport bus very good value.
Marrakech was a "must go place" on our list but having been once am unlikely to go back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Agdal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agdal Hotel

Address: 1 Boulevard Zerktouni, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #394 of 474 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Agdal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and HostelBookers so you can book your Agdal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agdal Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Agdal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.