We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good central hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Agdal Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Agdal Hotel to your Saves list
Agdal Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Boulevard Zerktouni, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #374 of 460 Hotels in Marrakech
Copenhagen, Denmark
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Very good central hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

For the price this hotel is fantastic. It is very central in Marrakech just a little walk away from the railwaystation and the airportbus stops just on the other side of the road, It has a little swimmingpool. The breakfast is good and there a lot of small restaurant with fantastic and very cheap food

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    32
    51
    29
    19
See reviews for
18
42
23
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here from 20.12.12 to 27.12.12. When I first laid eyes on the hotel I was very hopeful, as the outside looked promising and as well as the reception but once I entered my room all the hope was lost. The room was very dark and the decor wasn't very inviting. The bathroom was dingy and my mom had the clean the toliet herself! But the shower was very powerful and hot! The food at the hotel was horrible and all I ate was pancakes (you have to pay extra for fruit) and if you drink at lunch or dinner you have to pay for that too. The lunch was terrible the fish and chicken was always deep fried...not very moroccan. I only thing I would recommend this hotel is for the location which is very good. At the moment there is a hotel being built next to it so if you like to spend a lot of time at the hotel this could be a problem. Some days the work started at 7am! On a nice note there's a bar called Charlie's on the same side as the hotel where the food and hospitality was lovely!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

A fairly decent hotel situated in th heart of the commercial area and close to the train station and straight road to the old city, which takes around 25 minutes to walk to. I was reasonably content that at least it had free WIFi availability, even if is just limited to the foyer area.

The rooms offer limited satellite TV including a BBC world news and a movie channel along with a host of Arabic channels. The en-suite bathroom was reasonably decent with a tap operated shower, with a daily change of towels, although they were a little worn out. The room was kept clean by the ladies who provided a daily going over. The real serious gripe I had was with the beds which really past it and gave me some backache every morning.

But unfortunately the rooms and corridors do feel very lifeless due to the dull decor, infact the whole hotel could do with a fresh lick of paint and bit of general sprucing up.

A decent buffet breakfast is provided with a reasonable choice of bakery products. the chef will cook up an omelet on request, which was very tasty with the crepes or the flat bread. However it had no cereal during my stay which I found very disappointing. The evening meal consisted a choice from set menu with standard 3 course meal. During our stay we tried the soups, chicken, kebabs and spaghetti all had the same dull microwaved taste. The sweet dish consisted of a choice of gateaux, flan or the chefs choice, which we discovered to be a bowl of fruit.

The hotel reception staff are initially overtly friendly and helpful until they suss out how much you will be spending on their in-house excursions and gift shop and then they become quite robotic.

Overall I had a pleasant stay of 4 nights, considering the cost, and it would be the only reason that would compel me to return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Just returned from 7 days half board stay. Room was spotlessly clean and overlooked the pool. The towels which were changed every day had seen better days! Pool towels were threadbare and had large holes in them. Sheets clean but again had seen better days. The cleaner was a joy always smiling and even gave us carpets in our room when it turned a bit chilly! Breakfast was always freshly made omelette or fried eggs with croissants,bread etc. Loads fresh orange juice,tea and coffee. Dinner or lunch was varied! Sometimes very good but always a choice, it was just bad luck if you chose the wrong thing. The only person with no sense of humour and not helpful was the Restaurant Manager. All reception staff were very friendly and helpful.
We ate from a roadside cafe one day which was very cheap and very good. Another night had to experience the stalls in the Medina! What a disaster that was , very expensive and poor quality. Just around the corner from the hotel a restaurant called Nostalgia serves very good food and is cheap. Less than half the price of eating in the square!!!!
Take extreme care if visiting the Kasbah many people want to act as guides and are not amused when you do not give them much money.
The trip to the berber village and Atlas mountain was well worth doing also the day pass on the Tourist Bus. No 19 airport bus very good value.
Marrakech was a "must go place" on our list but having been once am unlikely to go back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We have just returned from a five night stay at the hotel we had a first floor room road side did not fine the trafic to bad at all, very large room and bathroom lots of hot water at all times rooms cleaned very well and clean towels each day. reception staff very helpfull at all times , breakfast basic buy made fresh omlette each morning with nice orange juice . we where waiting for a bus back to the airport when one of the porters came up and asked why we where not getting a taxi we said to expensive he stopped a taxi drive and gt the cost down to the same price as the bus , and we had already left the hotel so i call that good service , we did the tripe to the atlas mountains a great day ,also did two day bus pass we had a great time and grat value for money

Room Tip: room over pool would be quieter, high rooms at the front would give you a view off the atlas mountai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

We arrived on the 29th of oct' and my first impression of the place was average. We then got taken to our first room and the back door was broken so we couldn't lock it. The hotel manager was helpful and took us to another room which was overlooking a busy road and was extremely noisy. The hotel manager then took us to a third room which was a very weird lay out consequently in the night my friend wacked her head on the corner of the wall and it started bleeding quite badly luckily we had a bandage.
The swimming pool is freezing cold with dead flies all over it, the breakfast isn't that good either there's stale croissants and far too sweet orange juice another thing is you can only us the wi-fi in ths loby.The upsides are that the staff are friendly,the hotels in a good location for up market marrakech and the hotels relatively cheap.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I stayed in the Agdal Hotel at either end of a cycling trip round Morocco.
The first stay left a poor impression of the Hotel. The proximity to the busy road outside means the rooms on the first floor are very noisy and breakfast seemed average. The room was very clean if a little dark and dingy.
After staying in other Moroccan hotels my impression drastically improved.
We stayed on the 3rd floor on our return and the rooms at this height are far quieter. Again the room was clean but dark.
Everywhere else in Morocco, breakfast was bread and honey so the croissants/pastries and omelettes available for breakfast were fabulous.
The pool and surrounding area was clean and well kept.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Agdal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agdal Hotel

Address: 1 Boulevard Zerktouni, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #374 of 460 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Agdal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Otel and TripOnline SA so you can book your Agdal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agdal Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Agdal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.