We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Agdal Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Agdal Hotel to your Saves list
Agdal Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Boulevard Zerktouni, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #374 of 460 Hotels in Marrakech
glasgow
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Good value for money!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Just returned from 7 days half board stay. Room was spotlessly clean and overlooked the pool. The towels which were changed every day had seen better days! Pool towels were threadbare and had large holes in them. Sheets clean but again had seen better days. The cleaner was a joy always smiling and even gave us carpets in our room when it turned a bit chilly! Breakfast was always freshly made omelette or fried eggs with croissants,bread etc. Loads fresh orange juice,tea and coffee. Dinner or lunch was varied! Sometimes very good but always a choice, it was just bad luck if you chose the wrong thing. The only person with no sense of humour and not helpful was the Restaurant Manager. All reception staff were very friendly and helpful.
We ate from a roadside cafe one day which was very cheap and very good. Another night had to experience the stalls in the Medina! What a disaster that was , very expensive and poor quality. Just around the corner from the hotel a restaurant called Nostalgia serves very good food and is cheap. Less than half the price of eating in the square!!!!
Take extreme care if visiting the Kasbah many people want to act as guides and are not amused when you do not give them much money.
The trip to the berber village and Atlas mountain was well worth doing also the day pass on the Tourist Bus. No 19 airport bus very good value.
Marrakech was a "must go place" on our list but having been once am unlikely to go back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    32
    51
    29
    19
See reviews for
18
42
23
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We have just returned from a five night stay at the hotel we had a first floor room road side did not fine the trafic to bad at all, very large room and bathroom lots of hot water at all times rooms cleaned very well and clean towels each day. reception staff very helpfull at all times , breakfast basic buy made fresh omlette each morning with nice orange juice . we where waiting for a bus back to the airport when one of the porters came up and asked why we where not getting a taxi we said to expensive he stopped a taxi drive and gt the cost down to the same price as the bus , and we had already left the hotel so i call that good service , we did the tripe to the atlas mountains a great day ,also did two day bus pass we had a great time and grat value for money

Room Tip: room over pool would be quieter, high rooms at the front would give you a view off the atlas mountai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

We arrived on the 29th of oct' and my first impression of the place was average. We then got taken to our first room and the back door was broken so we couldn't lock it. The hotel manager was helpful and took us to another room which was overlooking a busy road and was extremely noisy. The hotel manager then took us to a third room which was a very weird lay out consequently in the night my friend wacked her head on the corner of the wall and it started bleeding quite badly luckily we had a bandage.
The swimming pool is freezing cold with dead flies all over it, the breakfast isn't that good either there's stale croissants and far too sweet orange juice another thing is you can only us the wi-fi in ths loby.The upsides are that the staff are friendly,the hotels in a good location for up market marrakech and the hotels relatively cheap.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I stayed in the Agdal Hotel at either end of a cycling trip round Morocco.
The first stay left a poor impression of the Hotel. The proximity to the busy road outside means the rooms on the first floor are very noisy and breakfast seemed average. The room was very clean if a little dark and dingy.
After staying in other Moroccan hotels my impression drastically improved.
We stayed on the 3rd floor on our return and the rooms at this height are far quieter. Again the room was clean but dark.
Everywhere else in Morocco, breakfast was bread and honey so the croissants/pastries and omelettes available for breakfast were fabulous.
The pool and surrounding area was clean and well kept.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We have just returned from a week at the hotel and my husband didnt tell me where we were going until we got to the airport so I would not look on trip advisor due to mixed reviews on every single hotel in every place I had looked at. Have to say that after looking at the reviews tonight I would not have stayed here but the experience we had of the hotel and Marrakech in general was great.
We had a warm welcome when we arrived and the concierge and the man on reception could not have been nicer. He told us everywhere to go in very good english and was very helpful about the buses and local shops.
The cleaners were lovely and gave us clean towels and changed and made the bed every day, the air conditioning was on and the room spotless, I left my jewellry out and nothing had ever gone in fact was so pleased gave them both a pair of shoes when I left.
Yes there is building work next door but have to say that didnt bother us as we left the doors closed and air con on so was not a problem,
my husband used the pool once and said was fine, the seating area near by was lovely.
I agree that the breakfast was basic and maybe not to everyones taste but you are not in Britain so you have to accept that, the tea and juice were fine and they cooked the pancakes and omlettes for you so that was a nice touch.
It is about half hour walk to the main square and souks but we enjoyed the walk and you can haggle for taxis of which there are plenty.
Would go back to Marrakech again and loved the hussle and bussle of the place, the 2 day bus trip is worth doing as you can jump on and off and the main square at night is a sight to behold with cheap wonderfu lfood, you can have alcohol in most of the restaurants inside if you wish but a cup of mint tea in a cafe watching the world go by is perfect!!!
All in all would say for the what you pay for this hotel is fine they do hard sell on the trips but you only have to say no and accept this is a country with very different customs to ours, staying in the new town though gives you a good insight into both parts of Marrakech and I would say it is great for a hotel that you are sleeping in and not for a week around the pool.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimavska Sobota, Slovakia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

we were 2girls traveling. the hotel and rooms were nice, clean.we had a balcony with a view to the pool. the pool was amazing! the staff was absolutely friendly and helpful. they offered many excursions from the hotel. the location was 30min from the centre. it is in the new part of the city and close to bus/train station and shopping area. plenty of restaurants around. the hotel itself has a restaurant.the breakfast was sufficient and tasty. we stayed 6nights and got complimentary dinner.very good price.i would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: we had room number 222, two separate beds , A/C and little balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

My wife booked this hotel for our holiday. After reading some of the reviews, I was terrified by the idea of staying at the Agdal.

I was wrong.

A nice hotel, with friendly staff, and reasonably good accommodations. the pool was clean and always with happy people around it and on it. The housekeepers were very professional, always with a good morning and a smile. Breakfast was great, with Moroccan pancakes and omelettes made to order.

The rooms are basic, but, after all, you don't book a hotel to stay in the room.

Fairly close to Jemma elFna, surrounded by restaurants with good food, like the Amalou, Gourmandise, Sandwich Toubkal, Ayour, etc.

5 mins away from a stop for the open top bus tour ( a must do) and only a few mins away from the roof top terrace bar offering amazing views.

We would happily stay at the Agdal again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Agdal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agdal Hotel

Address: 1 Boulevard Zerktouni, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #374 of 460 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Agdal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Otel, HostelBookers and TripOnline SA so you can book your Agdal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agdal Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Agdal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.