We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis in Marrakech” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Malika

Save Saved
You added Riad Malika to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad Malika
29 Arsat Aouzal, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #78 of 1,046 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Noosa, Queensland, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Oasis in Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Fantastic small riad in the heart of the Medina area. Behind the front door you find a tranquil garden area, beautifully decorated rooms and a pool which is just what you need after a hot day exploring the souks. The manager was very friendly and helpful. He organised a great day trip to the Atlas Mountains for us. The room was lovely, the beds comfortable, the internet service good, and the breakfast tasty and varied.
The riad is in walking distance of the main square, but is a little hard to return to. particularly at night, so its best to explore for the first time in the day light. Also take advantage of the hotels offer to collect you at the airport/station as the riad is not easy to find on your own.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    278
    33
    1
    2
    3
See reviews for
38
171
9
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
King's Lynn
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I took my son on a long-weekend break and we were thrilled by the Riad Malika which offered an authentic and highly relaxing Marrakech experience. It's only a max 15-minute walk from the main square/souks but feels quite remote. Once you're inside it has a quiet, secluded ambience, with friendly helpful staff and reasonable amenities. We booked the Suite Royale and were quite amazed at the scale of our facilities, which included four different 'sitting' areas as well as twin beds, bathroom and even a piano. It's very hot at night in August but they did their best to fit us up with fans etc, and the best thing is that you can always plunge into the exotic communal pool for an instant cool-down. The breakfasts were sumptuous and leisurely. We had one dinner which was also good. Transport to and from the airport was efficiently arranged. It's probably not the cheapest of the Riads, but there were no 'hidden' costs -- we paid for what we consumed with everything clearly marked. The only extra was the tip at the end -- entirely voluntary, but we found ourselves providing one quite willingly. Don't stay here if you're in a tearing hurry or if you want the spotlessness of a 5-star hotel; but if you want to see a bit of Marrakech from a relaxed base with an authentic Moroccan feel, this is the place.

Room Tip: Suite Royale (Room 2) was magnificent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

First of all, We strongly recommend you to book this riad.
Staying in this fabulous hiden treasure was the best way to finish our long trip in Morocco as backpackers. It was the only caprice with we indulged ourselves and we'll never regret it.

We stayed in one of their rooms and everything was meticolously looked after. Breakfast was increadibly good and all the ambience and decoration was just amazing. We loved everything.

We also want to thank Rashid for his kindness and savoir-faire. He made our stay perfect!
They also let us stay in the riad the last afternoon until very late swimming and relaxing in the terrace because our flight was at night.


Book book book!!!!

Room Tip: Our room was supposed to be the simplest one and this one was perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winterthur, Switzerland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

During our trip to Marocco we chose this riad based upon the positive reviews online and were not at all disappointed.

Upon entering the Riad, nested in the Medina in walking distance of the main square, we were met a quiet and idyllic courtyard. But the major surprise came when we were led to our Junior Suite which consisted of 3 separate floors and a private access to the roof terrace.

We absolutely recommend to splurge yourself in the very affordable Junior Suite which was a perfect hidden get-away in the midst of busy Marrakech.

While the room certainly was exceptional, breakfast didn't disappoint either. It included the "usual" Morroccan pancakes, yoghourt, the whole setting in the patio provided you with a perfect start into the day.

The host provided valuable advice with respect to external restaurants as we did not opt to eat in the riad itself (as we were too late with notifying them).

Internet was perfectly working throughout the riad.

All in all, riad malika is a very recommendable hidden gem in Marrakech with exceptional rooms, which combine modern design elements with "typical" architecture so the riad is certainly not your "average" Moroccan riad.

Room Tip: Afford the junior suite as it is extremely spacious but you will need to climb stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

First of all - considering that this Riad has 211 excellent reviews, 3 terrible at the date I write this, please read more than just the review entitled "Do not book!" if you want a proper representation of the hotel ;-)

=====================

Positives:

* Hotel arranged our taxi from airport to Riad (and vice-versa) for a very reasonable price, suitcases were carried for us and we had an easy journey.

* The room was beautiful and very authentic. We were on a floor where there were no other rooms overlooking ours and so we effectively had a "private" balcony.

* The riad is located about 15 minutes walk from the "Big Square". It is down a side street so slightly confusing on the first visit....but after that you realise it's a hidden oasis!

* The courtyard where breakfast (and possibly dinner if you decide you would like it) is served is amazingly tranquil and shaded.

* The food is exceptionally good, we stayed for 5 nights and breakfast was different each day. We also had 2x evening meals and we were very pleased with them.

* The air con in the rooms takes the temperature down to "too cold" in no time at all. Our room was on the 3rd floor so would have been unbearable without it.

* The pool was our standard afternoon location after trudging about in the hot summer sun during the morning. With there always being an area in the shade next to the pool, there's the choice of both sunbathing and relaxing.

* The staff were excellent and knew all the guests by name.

* We never felt that security was an issue regardless of the fact that keys are left at reception when leaving the riad. The safe was also adequate for all our valuables.

* Free wi-fi!

Negatives:

* Could have used a small fridge in the room, but space is at a premium so may not be possible.

* TV signal was quite poor, but then again we didn't spend long in the room and we found stuff to watch on Youtube if bored.

=====================

We would definitely return! Thank you for a great experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malika1968, Propriétaire at Riad Malika, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Thank you for your genuine comment.
The review -do not book- you refer to was put by a travel agency in order to let our rank drop, and in fact we lost 30 ranks; but it isn't that important.
It only shows that Tripadvisor doesn't take our complaints into account, even in case of unfair competition.
We have nothing to feel bad about. More over, they left without paying...
We play the game, but we hope that Tripadvisor will get some experience to detect that kind of reviews from dishonest people, even if we understand that it isn't an easy thing to do.
Thank you again for answering so nicely, and we do hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

To start off.No one could get my husband & i to the hotel. Not the taxi drivers nor locals.. Once we got to the nearest point by taxi. we had to take our large suitcases and walk through dodgy alleys until we found a sign with the name of the riad.We finally arrived. We had to knock in order for someone to open for us. After checking in. We have informed the host about the fact that we might check out the following day as the room wasn't comfortable enough and up to our standards( pictures attached) however he stated that they have no cancellation policy and the riad is at full occupancy at this point. As we had no choice except to stay by force. We decided to leave the riad and go for dinner.. We had a pleasant dinner in town and took a taxi back to our riad. Once we wanted to reach our riad.. No one knew where it was as per our previous experience. After finding our way back. We had to ring a bell and wait in the dodgy alley for a while in the middle of the night. Another receptionist opened the door without asking for our names nor our reservation details and allowed us to pick up our room keys from the table at the entrance on our own without questioning. My husband and I decided to call it a night and not complain about anything.. The A/C stopped working after entering the room in 5 minutes. There was no phone in our room and we had to place a call from our personal mobile in order to complain. Once our complain got thru. We had the receptionist come up the room and check for himself whether the ac worked or not. He found out that we were right and the ac truly didn't work. He offered us a fan instead of providing us with an adequate solution. This riad is supposed to be "a first class riad"however we've been through all of the above.. After refusing to get a fan.. The receptionist offered us an available room although his colleague informed us earlier on that the riad is at full occupancy.
Please note that the riad consists of 9 rooms and there is only 1 person in charge of it on each shift. there are only 2 shifts . If they cannot make sure that it is well maintained then they shouldn't promote it on international and well renowned websites . They should also make sure that their 2 staff members speak a few words of English.. They only speak Arabic and French. Noting that they do not understand proper Arabic as they wouldn't understand my husbands middle eastern dialect. Thank god I spoke some French in order to translate to both parties.
Also note that their cancellation policy has ZERO TOLERANCE . We have tried to cancel our stay for the following nights however they stated that they would charge us for the whole stay.. After going back and forth, they accepted that we cancel the following nights without being charged. We were just charged the taxes of the remaining nights.
To be honest, this is the worst hotel/ riad experience for my husband and I.. Noting that my husband owns one of the leading Luxury travel agencies in Amman Jordan.. This stay taught him a lesson.. Never book this riad. Just book a regular hotel so you won't go through this hassle and headache on holidays.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malika1968, Propriétaire at Riad Malika, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
We could consider such a review as a funny one if it didńt lower us of about 50 ranks in Trip Advisor system.
Let the customers-to-be judge by themselves, as I havenot understood yet what this young lady reproaches us.
Maybe she thinks that
1/ Jordanian people, certainly not Moroccan people, can speak good Arabic.
2/ Taxi drivers must carry the passengerś luggage from the street to the hotel, although she hasńt confirmed that she wanted this service.
3/ You wońt believe it: you have to ring the doorbell to enter the Riad. Isńt that incredible!
4/ There are so many sleedy places in the Medina of Marrakech... Our neighbourhood is just next to the Royal Palace, and it is the only one to be watched over by street cameras.
5/ this lady doesńt know how to use a AC remote control, neither does her husband.
6/ this lady says she owns one of the biggest luxury travel agencies of Jordany. So why cańt she read properly the contract she suscribed with Booking.com, and why doesńt she know GUESTHOUSES /HOTELS rules? Weird when you own a travel agency... But her husband doesńt either.
7/ These customers asked the staff to get them illegal products. (riad Malika doesńt want such guests.)
8/ Their bank refused the withdrawal for insufficient funds. We had to let them go away as they still owe 2 nights.
May we suggest her and her husband to start a training before opening their risky luxury agency?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

All i need to say: Great!

Staff, place, rooms, food, location, the turtles in the garden ("Mechtild" and "Hubertus")...just great

We spent 3 nights there and the second day barely left the place (only for dinner). Next time I'll stay the 3 days inside, the food is fantastic too and there is always room on one of the terraces where a memmber from the great staff happily serves a sundowner!

Hope the place never shows up in the lonely planet...

Room Tip: Room #6 with private terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Malika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Malika

Address: 29 Arsat Aouzal, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 1,046 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the first charmed hotel in Marrakech, located in a historic place of the Medina, a few steps from the famous Dar el Bacha, Riad Malika offers, in a subtle blend of "Art Deco" and traditional moroccan art, 10 luxurious rooms, patios, its swimming pool, hammam and its beautiful gardens shaded. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Riad Malika reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Malika Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Malika, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.