We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“absolutely wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Malika

Save Saved
You added Riad Malika to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad Malika
29 Arsat Aouzal, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #84 of 1,046 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“absolutely wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

we spent the most fantastic 5 days in this beautiful riad , the rooms are comfortable and very nicely designed , the staff and particularly JP the manager were very helpful and accommodating , cant recommend it enough

Room Tip: the royal suite is best room i have ever stayed in
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    280
    33
    2
    2
    3
See reviews for
39
172
9
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

My husband and I recently travelled to Morocco and were keen to stay in a traditional Riad in the heart of the Marrakesh Medina. We were very fortunate to discover Riad Malika on Booking.com. The Riad was absolutely outstanding in every way, from the stunning French art deco decor and antiques, to the water fountains, gardens, relaxing music, heated pool, incredibly comfortable king size bed, delicious breakfast and excellent staff and service. This Riad is truly an oasis, and so peaceful and relaxing! After sightseeing in the bustling Medina it was a welcome relief to come home to this lovely place. I could easily return there and spend an entire week curled up in corner of the garden with a good book and a glass of French wine! We were given the roof top terrace room, which had a beautiful stained glass wall, lovely art deco furntiture and paintings, and lounge chairs for sunning ourselves, or gazing at the stars. After 2 weeks in Morocco, staying in a variety of riads, kasbahs, gites and hotels, Riad Malika was without a doubt the highlight of our accomodation in Morocco. We can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Request the roof top terrace room - you won't be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

It was over two years since we'd been, and - as is often the case - one always wonders if somewhere can possibly maintain something as excellent.

The Riad Malika, however, can (and this from somebody who rarely gives five-star reviews).

The setting is delightful, the location ideal, and the service is quite simply outstanding. The staff treat the guests with exquisite courtesy (even the most difficult and belligerent ones who I would literally have sent packing).

And the food? Really, the best we have ever had in 17 years of visiting Morocco. We gave up "smart" restaurants in the evening very quickly, seveeral visits ago, once we realised that the quality at the riad was so much better - including delightfully set, rose petal-strewn tables and a great choice of wines.

So another successful visit - I hope it won't be another 2 years before we go again.

Room Tip: They are all stunning, quirky, so really any of them will be an experience. If you have the means, g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roma
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We had read the wonderful reviews and decided to stay at the Riad Malika. We were happy to see that the Riad is indeed beautifully appointed with a lot of taste. The location is convenient right in the Medina and close to the main square. The meals were excellent, we had dinner twice. We had cold weather but the rooms were well heated. We would like to mention the excellence of the service, attentive and discreet and ready to help with anything.
We stayed in the Junior Suite which was spacious but perhaps is more suitable for younger people as it is on three different floors, but it had a terrace with a gorgeous view over Marrakesh, so this was a big bonus! We should mention that the water pressure was weak in our bathroom, hopefully this problem will be addressed. We definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: The Junior Suite is on three levels, we think it is more suitable for younger people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

This place was exceptional! The service incredible the staff super friendly and a calm atmosphere! Just what you need after a day running through the souks. The meals served were delicious. The room welcoming and very well kept. The location is nice 10-15 minute walk from the square (Jemaa el Fnaa) and you can go by main road or souk which ever you choose.

We met a couple who had been staying at Riad Malika for 15 years. I would certainly recommend this place to others!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

My wife and I stayed in the gorgeous royal suite for three days at the beginning of january, after having been to other moroccan cities and having stayed in a number of different riads or luxury hotels. Words fail me to describe the comfort we had and how beautiful the place is. The staff is great: from Jean-Pierre, always full of good advices about where to go and what to see, to Rasheed, always available and ready to help.
Location wise it is extremely easy to find and it is a short walking distance from every important place in the Medina in Marrakech. We totally recommend it and we will be back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Having stayed in a number of Marrakech riads, I have come to expect that along with the charm and style, there is usually the downside of small rooms with too few windows and too little light. So when a friend and I arrived at Riad Malika and found ourselves in a spacious duplex with great windows, a small balcony and even a breakfast-perfect private porch - all moderately priced -I was absolutely delighted. Furthermore, instead of the usual courtyard with fountain and potted plants, we found a lush, inviting garden.
It was our first stop in a month-long journey through Morocco - in November and December - and it turned out to be one of the only places we stayed (including some that were more expensive) where there was adequate heating.
This is a very special place, owned by a lovely French couple and overseen with grace by the always accommodating Rasheed. But next time I'm booking the appropriately-named Royal Suite. We caught a glimpse on our last day; I don't thnk I've ever seen a more whimsical, more beautiful, more interesting or inviting hotel room anywhere in the world. I'm already looking forward to returning to Riad Malika.

Room Tip: There is not a bad room in the hiuse, but this is one property where paying a little more is more th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Malika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Malika

Address: 29 Arsat Aouzal, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 1,046 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the first charmed hotel in Marrakech, located in a historic place of the Medina, a few steps from the famous Dar el Bacha, Riad Malika offers, in a subtle blend of "Art Deco" and traditional moroccan art, 10 luxurious rooms, patios, its swimming pool, hammam and its beautiful gardens shaded. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Riad Malika reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Malika Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Malika, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.