We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful and comfortable Riad in a great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Malika

Save Saved
You added Riad Malika to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad Malika
29 Arsat Aouzal, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #78 of 1,046 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Roma
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A beautiful and comfortable Riad in a great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We had read the wonderful reviews and decided to stay at the Riad Malika. We were happy to see that the Riad is indeed beautifully appointed with a lot of taste. The location is convenient right in the Medina and close to the main square. The meals were excellent, we had dinner twice. We had cold weather but the rooms were well heated. We would like to mention the excellence of the service, attentive and discreet and ready to help with anything.
We stayed in the Junior Suite which was spacious but perhaps is more suitable for younger people as it is on three different floors, but it had a terrace with a gorgeous view over Marrakesh, so this was a big bonus! We should mention that the water pressure was weak in our bathroom, hopefully this problem will be addressed. We definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: The Junior Suite is on three levels, we think it is more suitable for younger people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    278
    33
    1
    2
    3
See reviews for
38
171
9
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

This place was exceptional! The service incredible the staff super friendly and a calm atmosphere! Just what you need after a day running through the souks. The meals served were delicious. The room welcoming and very well kept. The location is nice 10-15 minute walk from the square (Jemaa el Fnaa) and you can go by main road or souk which ever you choose.

We met a couple who had been staying at Riad Malika for 15 years. I would certainly recommend this place to others!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

My wife and I stayed in the gorgeous royal suite for three days at the beginning of january, after having been to other moroccan cities and having stayed in a number of different riads or luxury hotels. Words fail me to describe the comfort we had and how beautiful the place is. The staff is great: from Jean-Pierre, always full of good advices about where to go and what to see, to Rasheed, always available and ready to help.
Location wise it is extremely easy to find and it is a short walking distance from every important place in the Medina in Marrakech. We totally recommend it and we will be back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Having stayed in a number of Marrakech riads, I have come to expect that along with the charm and style, there is usually the downside of small rooms with too few windows and too little light. So when a friend and I arrived at Riad Malika and found ourselves in a spacious duplex with great windows, a small balcony and even a breakfast-perfect private porch - all moderately priced -I was absolutely delighted. Furthermore, instead of the usual courtyard with fountain and potted plants, we found a lush, inviting garden.
It was our first stop in a month-long journey through Morocco - in November and December - and it turned out to be one of the only places we stayed (including some that were more expensive) where there was adequate heating.
This is a very special place, owned by a lovely French couple and overseen with grace by the always accommodating Rasheed. But next time I'm booking the appropriately-named Royal Suite. We caught a glimpse on our last day; I don't thnk I've ever seen a more whimsical, more beautiful, more interesting or inviting hotel room anywhere in the world. I'm already looking forward to returning to Riad Malika.

Room Tip: There is not a bad room in the hiuse, but this is one property where paying a little more is more th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We lost our hearts completely not only to the city of Marrakech - but also to the "Riad Malika".
Never did we - anywhere in the world - feel so much at home, still with all the advantages of being in a hotel.
We have often made the experience of pictures promising more than they could live up to in real life. Riad Malika is quite the contrary.
It is so warm and welcoming - packed with the most beautiful furniture ( whether Maroccan style or some of the worlds orig. classic designs, from Eames over Panton etc.)
In other words : Don´t expect a high-tech hotel, open up your mind and let out your inner fairytale and you´ll love it too !
First 3 nights we woke up, not with the cock, but with the mosque (just around the corner) calling out the first morning prayer with the sunrise... We brought our earplugs and slept away from it all the last three days.
Marrakech is not a huge city - still there are so many beautiful spots/places and things to experience...
At the end of the day you probably have had your quantum of mint tea and if you - like us - would like to just lean back, relax, think about some of the experiences you made and look at whatever you bought today: Then it is so very nice and so much like coming home when the most friendly and kind staff you could imagine of the Riad Malika welcomes you and asks you if you have had a pleasant day. This is when we suggest you order an afternoon drink (Maybe a bottle of excellent Marrocan wine, they bring you the rest for dinner if you ask them to.)
Maybe you like to socialize with some of the other guests who returned from their day... If not, you ask to have the drink in your room, it will without any questions be brought to you. All cosy and so very romantic. "Whatever makes you happy" seems to be the motto of the Riad.
No question Jean Pierre is a huge part of this feeling.
He puts a 100% effort in that everybody not only gets the impression of being important but that it is important to him, as long as you stay in Riad Malika, you should have the most of life - nothing more or less !! ( Thank you again, Jean Pierre .)
We spend the last day enjoying the sun on one of the roof terraces for some hours before going out for one last time in the souks, coming home for a drink we enjoyed the absolute must: Hammam followed by massage... And in the end another wonderfully rustic, local dinner experience all at Riad Malika !
No doubt if you follow this recipe, you´ll sleep well !
We strongly suggest:
- Have your first dinner at the Riad and order it ahead by mail. The food is very, very good ! (We didn´t have any better elsewhere.)
- That you take advantage of the offer from the Riad, that somebody picks you up at the airport. (You could consider taking a normal taxi when returning - but it´s not much of a difference money wise... only much more safe and convenient the other way.)

We will be back. We will bring friends. We highly recommend this Riad to whoever is a bonvivant/hedonist.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

If you ever get a chance to spoil yourself, if you like an eclectic set of furnishings from the 1920's to the 1950's and loads of space to enjoy it, then don't miss the oasis that is "the Royal Suite" at the Malika. It's quite spectacular, with open fires in the winter for that cosy feel, a jacuzzi big enough for two and a grand piano in an anteroom which would have been better for tuning but, hey, nothing's perfect! You would never have believed what was behind the door when you came through the souk and the levels of service were a credit to the people who work there. Staying in the Medina was a far better experience in our opinion than one of the faceless hotels of the new town and every day was a wonderful experience, from breakfast to dinner!

Room Tip: There are two main suites. The Royal was worth the extra money so it's likely the other one will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed over the Christmas period with our six year old daughter and were instantly taken with our first impressions of the setting and the friendly and hospitable service. As the days went by we enjoyed the riad more and more mostly because it was clear that restoring and furnishing it had been a labour of love making it a great place to hang out and explore from the different rooftop terraces to sunbathe through to secluded shaded seating under the beautiful exotica and plants or the small but beautiful pool.

Great touches in the rooms were wifi, good bath and a shower, the fires set up each evening (hot and sunny in day but cold at night at Christmas), room cleaned daily and the choice of evening meals in the dining room for lazy evenings. There was always someone around to get a drink (alcohol rare to be found served in the Medina apart from licensed places which this riad is) or just for some local advice or help booking an excursion.

The location as with some of the best in the Medina was down an innocuous backstreet alley but after a few wrong turns we got our bearings realising what a great position we were and could walk to most places, whether the central square (10 mins) or the souks.

This is a beautiful oasis of calm with sophisticated and inspiring decor and friendly and helpful staff. Worth the cost for a very unique space and experience which was better than any photographs led us to believe!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Malika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Malika

Address: 29 Arsat Aouzal, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 1,046 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the first charmed hotel in Marrakech, located in a historic place of the Medina, a few steps from the famous Dar el Bacha, Riad Malika offers, in a subtle blend of "Art Deco" and traditional moroccan art, 10 luxurious rooms, patios, its swimming pool, hammam and its beautiful gardens shaded. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Riad Malika reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Malika Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Malika, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.