We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Le Palais Rhoul & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Le Palais Rhoul & Spa to your Saves list
Le Palais Rhoul & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Route de Fes, km 6 | Dar Tounsi, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #341 of 460 Hotels in Marrakech
FRANCE
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
185 helpful votes 185 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

I have been dreaming of staying in this place for at least 10 years, and look at the beautiful web site every time with envy. We decide to go to Marrakech for 10 days, 6 at the wonderful Riad Sultana, 2 at Kasbah Tamalot and 2 at Palais Rhoul.

We arrived in the morning in an dirty, broken, up side down place, with no boding to welcome us, the swimming pool was empty (which is the central point of the palais)...it was such a shock I was almost crying and just wanted to get out of there.
We decide to stay, did not really know there to go and not happy with the other option offered to compensate.

We stay in a berber tent wich was quiet nice... with a bassin and a fire place.

The service is less than average. The owner is not interested at all by the guess or at least by us.
The price are all in Euros and more adapted to Saint Tropez than Marrakech.( I cannot really complain as we did not paid for any extra as a compensation for the disaster of our arrival)

To be positive: we had some nice meals, I really enjoy the Lamb shoulder and we really enjoy the Hamman which was a real experience

November is not the busy season, most of the hotel in la Palmeraie are empty . The Palais Rhoul was empty and very cold. As they was only 5 others guests they did not bother to light all the fire place in the restaurant and I had to call several time to have the fire in our tent.

The hotel has been privatized for couple of day for a pre wedding party and they were just not ready to receive other guess which they should have told us, we could have stay the all day in the high Atlas and avoid all the trauma... we should never have seen the place in such a mess
The charm, dream and magic have been broken.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    22
    9
    9
    16
See reviews for
34
123
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, County Down
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Was the highlight of our trip to Morocco. Food and service was beyond 5 star, the experience of this castle was something we will never forget and will be back to stay! Staff were fantastic and I would definitely recommend that is on your to do list if not on your hotel list! Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here on the first two nights of our honeymoon. The hotel was aware of this and made a really good effort to accommodate us. On the first night they arranged dinner (which was beautiful) and afterward when we retired to our beautiful tent they had set out dozens of candles and rose petals. We had noticed the hotel was very quiet and it remained that way all weekend. The first major problem however was at 7am on the first morning when we got an alarm call that we had not ordered. We spoke to them about it but got another one the next morning, this time at 6am!! On the first morning at 9am we went to have showers only to see workmen staring into our bathroom! They continues to work at the back of our tent for half an hour-there was no curtain to do anything about it. We didn't get any apology but were told they were aware of it and had told the workers to stop. Put a real dampener on the experience. Other than that the pools and grounds we're lovely. They arranged transfers in and out of town and for our car hire to come to us not us go to them. So a mixed bag really

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

Le Palais Rhoul is definitely one of the most amazing places we have visited.
This luxurious palace offers luxurious guest treatment, accommodation and facilities without being to stiff and formal. It is run by "real" people who managed to create most warm, natural and just amazingly beautiful place to stay.
At Palais Rhoul you instantly feel at home. It is so intimate and private.Yet the architecture of it is amazingly stunning and grandeur in its scale.
The very front of the palace is so clean and I may say: minimalistic. But just after stepping over the threshold a totally new picture opens in front of you. This clasical and rich in details interior takes one really by surprise. Amazing gardens, fantastic sunbeds, not mentioning beautiful pool.
We would like to thank all the staff for impeccable service.They were all so kind and professional.
In palaces own Hamam we would like to direct a special thanks to madame Hafida - who truly gave us the best Hamam experience ever!!
Wasima - one of the front faces of the palace - thank you again so much for giving us this warm welcome and such a beautiful room!!!
We are a couple who travels a lot. Marrakech and Le Palais Rhoul overcame our all expectations and left us with a feeling of definitely wanting to come back and we are already planning our next stay at this amazing place. This may truly be one of your "Thousand and one night" experiences!!!
Thank you very much!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

Sorry it has taken so long to write this review,the year has gone too fast ,we stayed at Palais Rhoul on the reccomendation of a friend in March this year,and it was just superb,we could not have wished for better service or a more stunning place if we tried. It was just far enough away from the madness to make us feel we had entered dreamland. We stayed in one of the luxury tents and could not have been happier.
Thank-you Palais Rhoul for one of the most special times in our lives ,we are going back next year . Bless you all for making us feel so special .Everything about this place is out of this world.
Style,class,peacefullness and great food ,the best pool ever and friendly staff.Cannot reccomend it more.....you will never forget this place once you have stayed there .jan and Trevor Smith ,Byron Bay Australia

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

The tents look interesting, and the cool trendy bar too (although it was closed when we went). Sadly the place looked unkept, was rather depressing and the pool area is "creepy". We found a table that looked just about passable to have a drink at, the only staff member went to answer the phone and a large smelly dog came and sat came by us..that was enough,, we left swiftly. Would not be tempted back, there are some really great places in Marrakesh.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

In the last 10 years we've visited Marrakech 7 times, experiencing different hotel options and combinations e.g. La Mamounia (before and after Jacques Garcia's "réaménagé"), Riad72, Ksar Char Bagh, Kasbah Tamadot (@Asni in Atlas), La Pause (@Agafay desert), but we allways ended up in Palais Rhoul...because: the setting is amazing (building, garden, swimming pools, rooms and tents, decoration), the service improved a lot, the food/menu increased the options (also with International cuisine) and the Hammam has excellent conditions and a very professional team.

We've also tried the hotel with groups of friends and worked quite well.

Pedro Subtil, Portugal

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Palais Rhoul & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Palais Rhoul & Spa

Address: Route de Fes, km 6 | Dar Tounsi, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#135 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#136 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Palais Rhoul & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Escapio, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Le Palais Rhoul & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Palais Rhoul Hotel Marrakech
Le Palais Rhoul And Spa
Le Palais Rhoul Marrakech
Palais Rhoul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Palais Rhoul & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.