We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easter break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Marrakech le Tichka

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Marrakech le Tichka to your Saves list
Hotel Marrakech le Tichka
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Abdelkrim Khattabi | Quartier Semlalia, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Free room upgrade
Ranked #320 of 471 Hotels in Marrakech
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Easter break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

A French colonial style hotel , great for the family ! Staff very courteous and helpful , remember languages spoke here are Arabic and French so if you can brush up on your French it will help your holiday immensely ! However you will still get by without . A couple of places to see - Atlas Mountains (all day trip into the mountains ) ,Majorelle gardens ( a couple of hours maybe for a relaxing break from the heat just to contemplate) quad biking ( great for young and old but please be careful , my daughter went over the handle bars and hospital trip but we went back a couple days later) Souk market at night or day ( we had an attempted pickpocket but local morrocans caught him and gave him some corporal punishment ) great bargains to be had bit you have to bargain !
A little criticism of the hotel - needs some repairs but not enough for me to spoil my holiday

Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    183
    100
    45
    30
See reviews for
76
190
15
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Greater London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Booked a room for a day online by lastmin.com. lovely hotel but when i checked out was asked to pay even though i showed them on my email i paid. I was told this is reservation lastmin.com wont charge you. When i came back to united kingdom i realized i was charged by hotel and by lastmin.com. very disappointed with staff who checked me out as i told him this. i didnt expect this 4 star hotel to overcharge. My worst experience in morocco as i have stayed in 5 differeny hotels there

Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2015

We stayed in this hotel and really couldn't fault it for the price we paid.
Firstly the hotel is located about a 10 min taxi drive from main square. Believe me the hotel and it's location are a welcome retreat after spending a day doing all the touristy things!
Our room was spacious. Although we asked for a double apparently it is quite common to get two single beds pushed together. Nice balcony and good bath and shower.

We stayed half board and we were quite happy with the food. It was all buffet style with plenty of choice. Try the cooked to order pancakes for breakfast they're great!

The staff are very friendly and if you ask will do anything for you.

Although it is very easy to pick up on several negative points, these were only minor so it's not really worth mentioning. One small tip is when you change your money get plenty of 50, 20 notes and 10 dirham coins as these are ideal for taxis and tipping.

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2015

The first impressions of this hotel were favourable when my wife and myself arrived late on a Tuesday evening.

With its hanging lanterns and Moorish architecture it pushed all the right buttons for authenticity. The check-in procedure went smoothly and after being taken to our room all we really wanted to do was to get to the restaurant, since we had eaten nothing all day other than an early breakfast en route.

The real difficulty that I have with this hotel is reconciling their 4 star rating. This is too ambitious and based on food alone it remains for me very definitely in the 3 star camp.

To start with the reservation had been made several months earlier and at that time I had requested a room with a double bed, garden view and non smoking. This was duly confirmed although the hotel pointed out they did not have non smoking rooms on offer but that the ashtray could be taken away. In reality we did get a nice quiet room with a balcony and garden view but it turned out to be twin-bedded with the ashtray remaining a prominent feature! Too tired and hungry we retained the room but after dinner encountered further issues.

The room and bathroom were both of a good size with comfortable beds and came up to expectations. However, the bath tiling splash back had a very noticeable cracked tile and one bath panel had come off and was propped up against the side of the bath. It was also necessary for housekeeping to call in maintenance to clear a partially blocked wash basin. Although the towels and other essentials were changed on a daily basis a full room service appeared to be less frequent. Whilst the room was generally clean there was a quite evident need for dusting skirting boards, door frames etc. I had also been under the impression that the hotel provided room service but there was not one single piece of information, promotional literature or writing material in place other than the mandatory room rates and evacuation procedures on the door. The minibar though working was completely empty. In the public areas one of the two lifts (which we used to access our room on the 3rd floor) broke down early during our stay and was still out of action several days later when we departed the hotel.

As we were staying for over a week we chose to be on a bed and breakfast basis with the full intention of taking most meals in-house. Not being part of a tour group we had looked forward to dining in both restaurants and visiting the a la carte menu. The problem being there was just one restaurant in operation and the only food on offer was the buffet each night.

For a hotel claiming to be 4 star, breakfast in my opinion, simply did not reflect that rating e.g. no choice of fruit juices (only orange), no yoghourts and only a single type of cheese and salami style meat. The hot food ranged from overly dry scrambled eggs to floating in its own water, grilled tasteless tomatoes, a concoction of caramelized onions and cocktail sausages and potatoes that were mostly inedible. The items in the shaving dishes were often not replaced promptly meaning on occasions a wait of several minutes and on one morning when the restaurant opened at 7.00 a.m. the hot food did not make an appearance for another 20 minutes. The best part about breakfast were the green olives and the mint tea!

The picture remained much the same for dinner which is why we decided to take most of our meals elsewhere and the hotel immediately across the car park proved to be a most welcome alternative. Speaking with a fellow guest I encountered the same complaints concerning food quality and the only meal that I truly enjoyed in the hotel was the Moroccan buffet theme night.

At the risk of appearing hypercritical I worked for a number of years at senior management level for international hotel groups in Saudi and the Gulf countries and believe I can identify shortcomings. The picture is not meant to be all negative as it is a lovely hotel, the interiors are eye catching (particularly the work done by the American designer Bill Willis), the majority of the staff are always friendly, welcoming and willing to oblige and the actual service at the point of sale is very good. The real issue here is failure by management to address specific needs for which they, of course, are ultimately responsible. To mingle with the constantly changing groups from France, Germany, Japan etc who stay for perhaps one or two nights it is quite obvious that they are catering almost exclusively for this market segment thereby maximizing
room occupancy and restaurant covers. This at the expense of other guests like myself and my wife staying on a much higher average room rate and paying the full price for what I consider to be an inferior quality of food.

I wish the hotel well but on balance would not stay again and would venture to suggest that they need to `up their game' in what is already an increasingly competitive marketplace.

Room Tip: Room with balcony and garden view overlooking the swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slovenia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2015

The hotel looks impressive, nice Moroccan decor, nice pool, nice staff. Wi-fi works fine.
The location is about 3 km from the centre of Marrakesh, the taxi is about 2 eur. Not so much to do around the hotel.
The room could use some thorough cleaning and some upkeep (balcony doors don't close well...).

Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2015

This Hotel is a fabulous place to stay. I was there in 2003 and have been close by a few times since. The interior is coloured marble in the foyer and is fitted out in high spec throughout. The rooms are spacious and well maintained. We stayed half board, superb breakfast and dinner in the garden. The pool was lovely as were the staff who made you feel welcome from day 1. Although not close to centre we really enjoyed travelling to the souks in a horse drawn callash. We felt like royalty and were treated as such. Nothing was too much trouble for all the people we met. If you plan a trip to Marrakesh , treat yourself, it,s a magigical place you'll never forget. Bon voyage. Jim Harper

Room Tip: All rooms are large and beatifully furnished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2015

The hotel was not very close to city centre but was a cheap taxi which were easy to find. The breakfast was nice and everything was available at hotel which had the most comfortable beds and luxourious decor and relaxing vibe.

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Marrakech le Tichka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marrakech le Tichka

Address: Av. Abdelkrim Khattabi | Quartier Semlalia, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#29 Best Value Hotel in Marrakech
#132 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#148 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Marrakech le Tichka 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charm and ambience, comfort and convenience, the Hotel Tichka Marrakesh displays a revolutionary design. Nestled in shadypalms in a quiet district North of Gueliz, this hotel is only ten minutes from the historic Marrakesh medina and just fifteen minutes from Marrakesh's best golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Marrakech le Tichka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tichka Salam Marrakech
Tichka Salam Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Marrakech le Tichka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.