We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spot On!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Gallia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Le Gallia to your Saves list
Le Gallia
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   30 Rue de la Recette, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #242 of 462 Hotels in Marrakech
Bristol_UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Spot On!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

We wanted to photograph the craftspeople in the Medina and the life of Djema el Fna. Le Gallia is just off the square so everything was a short walk away - important when carrying heavy camera kit.

Mr Said was very helpful, emailing to explain how to get there on the bus from the airport. It was a short trundle from the bus stop, didn't need a taxi. We requested a multi-way Euro extension lead for all our gadgets and it was in the already in the room when we arrived.

The hotel has a lovely traditional feel with rooms set round a central courtyard which has a large palm tree and other plants, very relaxing after the bustle of the streets outside.

Breakfast is fresh croissants, bread, pancakes, served in the courtyard, a good start to the day. There's a wide choice of restaurants and cafes within a very short walk.

We felt Le Gallia was excellent value as it is a perfect location, clean and comfortable and in traditional Marrakesh style.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    38
    10
    6
    1
See reviews for
12
29
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thun, Switzerland
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

We had booked three rooms and stayed 3 nights over the weekend. The rooms are spacious, have everything you need, nice paintings and stylish lamps. They are being cleaned on a daily basis, which is not always the case in Marrakech. The breakfast is simple but everything you need and good as well. It is served whereever you want it.(room, terrace etc.) The owner is very helpful and friendly! Perfect price/performance ratio!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darmstadt, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

I was very happy with the Hotel Gallia and would stay there again. The location is super - just around the corner from the main square and directly accessible to taxis. The room was inexpensive, but adequate and clean. It was great to have a room with air conditioning after a hot day walking around. The central courtyard with palm tree and vegetation where breakfast was served was nice. I found the hotel personnel helpful and friendly. I made the reservation via email and received answers back promptly. Don't understand the ratings complaining about slow and unfriendly service. Perhaps I had an advantage because I could speak French. Unfortunately payment was only in cash as the credit card machine was out of order all the time.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for the last night of our trip, in a very comfortable room. It has a roof terrace with pretty views across the city, and it is only a 5 min walk from the Djemma-El-Fna. The staff were very welcoming, and I'd certainly stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Arriving in Marrakesh we went with a woman we met on the train to a new riad that had just opened. A lovely place with a really friendly atmosphere, but the rooms were just too tiny.
We booked a trip to the desert and before leaving looked around for another place to stay, choosing Le Gallia on the recommendation of a fellow traveler. It was considerably more expensive (we are definitely budget travellers), but we looked at and booked a nice, big room on the ground floor.
Came back from the desert and found that we were in a small, dark room upstairs. Our protests were met with indifference that swiftly changed to downright rudeness. "Find another hotel." was his advice. So, after one night, we did finding a cheaper riad with friendly helpful staff.
The room wasn't bad, though it was nothing special. We would have been content there, but for the attitude of the owner. I got the impression that he was getting by on a reputation that he doesn't deserve.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I booked this hotel on recommendation and I don't think I have ever felt more welcome. The hotel is beautiful, clean and centrally located (5 mins walk to the square!)

Breakfast was also lovely and relaxed. I only wish I could have stayed longer to properly enjoy this wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorking, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Often use this place when visiting - have now stayed here 4 or 5 times. The rooms are good, the courtyard lovely, the roof terrace excellent. It has bags of character and helpful staff. Breakfast is plentiful and good quality, the cleaning ladies are very friendly and happy to do laundry for a few extra dirhams. The wi-fi though, was very patchy and unreliable and staff not especially interested in fixing it. However, i have to advise against the hotel 'helping' you with a car rental. We were given a car in terrible condition that had been poorly repaired from a crash. When delivered, it was parked so as to hide this, with the damaged side against a wall. Discovered the damage later, about 2 hours from Marrakech. Got really worried that they were pulling a fast one and trying to get us to pay for damage we didn't cause, but they didn't, after a little arguing. Even so, it soured the trip to the desert and caused unnecessary stress. Lesson: never be rushed when looking at a hire car and inspect ALL SIDES of the car AND WHEELS well before accepting it. Some of these cars have been badly abused and are best avoided. Wheels especially are damaged by driving on piste roads. They tried to make up for this by getting the car-hire company to give us a free trip to the airport but they turned up so late we nearly missed our plane - not helpful.
Nice hotel though, reasonably quiet considering how close to the shops and main square.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Gallia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Gallia

Address: 30 Rue de la Recette, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #242 of 462 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Le Gallia 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Le Gallia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Gallia Marrakech
Le Gallia Hotel Marrakech
Hotel Gallia Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Gallia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.