We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How do you describe Eden?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jnane Tamsna

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Jnane Tamsna to your Saves list
Jnane Tamsna
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Douar Abiad | La Palmeraie, Marrakech 40007, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #163 of 480 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“How do you describe Eden?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2006

My stay at Jnane Tamsna was glorious! It envelopes you in the mystery that it Morocco itself. Meryanne, the owner, has quite the eye for asthetics and detail. The lush, sprawling gardens, wind around the villas, adding an air of this mystery and comfort. The gardens grow organic fruits and veggies that will be on your plate. The food is most yummy and care is taken in the kitchen, with just the right spices and skill.
The staff treated me like a pasha, and I felt cared for and relaxed.
The big bath tubs are a great touch.
I felt like an old friend or a member of the family. Meryanne shares her house with you in the manner of the most gracious of hosts. I still feel the sun kissing my skin, near the bluest of pools, lined with palm trees and other greenery.
The only thing I can not credit her for is the double rainbow I saw
the day before I left, and the drums I heard in the background.
This was one of the most top notch experiences I have had in a good ten years of world travel. Jnane Tamsna offers such relaxation and peace, away from the bustling crowds in the Medina. I needed the rest, and when I got home to Chicago, everyone told me how "chill" I looked.
I would highly recommend this palace to the most discerning of travellers.
Brava Meryanne, and thanks for a great time!

  • Liked — the grounds and the room
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Tips/Secrets — enjoy it all!!!!
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    15
    15
    11
    12
See reviews for
75
70
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2006

i made my second visit this year to Jnane Tamsna - a haven away from the noise and cacophony of the medina! Spent 5 days in the lap of luxury - fabulous food (healthy, organic, incredibly tasty!) I dont eat fish, and the chef always made an alternative for me - irrespective of the planned menu. The rooms were individually designed and decorated and every possible need was accommodated. I hosted a house party for friends and family - all of whom were overwhelmed at the quality of the houses, pools, and service! My thanks go to Meryanne, Ibrahim, Nene and Samila for making it such a wonderful and memorable stay. I highly recommend Tamsna as a 'home' while in Marakesch - only 20 mins from the Medina, and ample taxis (cheap too!) to take you there, wait for you and bring you home.

Everyone should stay at Jnane Tamsna at least once in their life ..... its an amazing experience. I'll be back next year !

  • Liked — the beautiful rooms, attention to detail and calmness
  • Disliked — nothing - it was perfect in every way
  • Tips/Secrets — book early! its a great place and no one should miss out !
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2006

We enjoyed three nights at this luxury oasis in the Palmeraie, which certainly lived up to its reputation for the best in Morrocan 'chic' thanks to the direct influence of the owner, who was quite charming. We had an immaculate room with terrace in the main building, while the delightful gardens made it all very easy to relaxe by the swimming pool. The staff were always extremely friendly and helpful, while all the meals we had there were absolutely first rate - having a wife who is a professional cook, we tend to recognise the best!!
This is definately the perfect place to unwind from the stresses and strains of life, but also use as a convenient base from which to explore the souks and all the other gems of Marrakech, about 15 minutes taxi ride away. Sadly it all went too quickly.....

  • Liked — Chic and relaxing Surroundings, charming staff and excellent food
  • Disliked — Can't think of anything unless the 15 mins taxi ride into Marrakech bothers you..
  • Tips/Secrets — try and get room with terrace
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2006

I stayed at this magnificent hotel/guest house with my boyfriend for 4 nights, and we never wanted to leave. From the minute we arrived till the minute we left we were treated so well and so personally it felt like we were staying at our own house. Our room was beautiful, with the perfect sized bed, bathroom and dressing area.
All the staff were so polite, and warm and welcoming and adhered to our every needs. To us the most brilliant part of the stay was the cuisine. Among the 3 swimming pools were extensive vegetable and herb gardens (which you could wonder around) and from this the lunch and dinner was served. Wonderful fresh vegetables, and fruits. Ther were no menus, you sat down at the table whether it be in the main courtyard of the hotel or privately by the pool, and three courses would follow, which were as always a total surprise.
All in all we had one of the best, most relaxing and romantic holidays and it was all down to this hotel. The owner was there during our stay, who was a lovely woman and she had designed the interiors of every room, and had a wonderful boutique which I just had to buy one of their trademark lanterns from!!
We will be reommending this beautiful and charming hotel to all our friends and family, and will definitely visit it ourselves again one day!
Antonia

  • Liked — the food, the ambience, the personal style of all the staff and the style and design of the hotel
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Tips/Secrets — stay in the suite/villa with its own pool, but every room and its location is perfect
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Les Deux Tours
Les Deux Tours
#106 of 480 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 506 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
#11 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 706 reviews
11.3 mi away
Fellah Hotel
Fellah Hotel
#287 of 480 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Mosaic Palais Aziza & Spa
Mosaic Palais Aziza & Spa
#78 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 270 reviews
3.9 mi away
Ksar Char-Bagh
Ksar Char-Bagh
#93 of 480 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 128 reviews
3.0 mi away
Tigmiza - Suites & Pavillons
Tigmiza - Suites & Pavillons
#96 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jnane Tamsna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jnane Tamsna

Address: Douar Abiad | La Palmeraie, Marrakech 40007, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#78 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Jnane Tamsna 5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The latest creation of Meryanne Loum-Martin, Jnane Tamsna comprises three houses - Jnane House, Moussafir House and Dar Ylane - with a total of 17 bedrooms within a walled garden. The property is located in a protected palm grove with spectacular views. The houses blend traditional interior courtyard architecture with the space, light and vegetation typical of the Palmeraie. Jnane Tamsa offers a romantic way to discover Marrakech and understand why it has become a legend. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MrandMrsSmith, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Jnane Tamsna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jnane Tamsna Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jnane Tamsna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.