We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 days of Eden at Jnane Tamsna” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jnane Tamsna

Save Saved
You added Jnane Tamsna to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Jnane Tamsna
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Douar Abiad | La Palmeraie, Marrakech 40007, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #161 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
Paris, France
1 review
“5 days of Eden at Jnane Tamsna”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Of course the place is georgeous with a rare understanding of true luxury which goes with delicate authenticity. Of course you are elegantly welcome, offered raffinate refined meals within a private and exclusive environnement. Of course the personel staff could - and in fact is- behaving like in the most well educated family owned properties, with special care and heartfully attention.
Dont go there if you like zumba diner with lottery over the swimming pool in holiday camp. :)
But for a delight which allows fast access to Marrakech wild life (but alow a fast accessible) as well as a quick return to a civilised paradise to enjoy dinner in a marvellous patio, share, if one wish, exquisite conversations with other international delightful guests, animated greeted by the elegant owner. After the Medina noises and pollution, it was a delight to enjoy the many pools. The buildings, the colors, the art pieces, the extreme comfort and the unique gardens are a blessing.
Make sure not to advertise too publicly Jnane Tamsna. It is one of the best kept secret of Marrakech. I would not like to see there, guests who would not deserve it nor understand what a special place this is.. ..I was coming with my mother who had been there 5 times and I am now a " Jnane junkie " too.. !

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    12
    12
    9
    12
See reviews for
64
63
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I feel a little bad giving Jnane Tamsna an average rating. The room was beautiful as was the wider property, the service was very good and the food was nice. Samira was welcoming, our waiter for meals had such a gentle manner too.

However, I don't think anything I read in advance adequately reflected what this is, and it was just far too quiet and lifeless for us. That will appeal to many, but when you read that somewhere has 5 pools and a tennis court, you automatically assume there's lots else going on. There isn't. It has a whispering cathedral style feel.

Tripadvisor classifies some places as hotels and some as Speciality Lodging, and I think Jnane needs to be in the latter category. There are five houses around the large grounds. While we were there, there was only one other set of guests at all. However, the five houses set up would mean that even if it were busy, it would feel sparsely occupied.

Getting an oasis of calm is one thing, but when you're then on a very quiet road with nothing else around, it is disconcerting, particularly with the energy of Marrakech seemingly near but not quite at hand. As it happened, we had to leave early due to a friend arranging a big night out in Marrakech.

However, be clear if you book here that you know what you're getting. Total peace and quiet doesn't quite capture it - if that's what you're after, then this will be ideal. If you're looking for anything that you would classify as a regular hotel, this isn't it.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Do not go here if you want state of the art 5* facilities in a mass produced hotel with children's clubs and evening entertainment. But if you want 5* luxury in stunning quirky moroccan riad away from the hustle and bustle of Marrakech, in an oasis of beautiful gardens, offering tranquility and relaxation with the most fabulous staff then come to Jnane Tamsna.

We were travelling with our two sons aged 7 and 5 years and did debate whether Jnane Tamsna would be the best place for them to spend a week, however I can't express how fantastic this place is for two adventurers. We visited in August, which is low season for the hotel due to intensity of the heat of Marrakech in August. For this reason the hotel was quiet (at it's busiest there was 5 rooms occupied including ours) - this meant we were able to monopolise one of the pools to ourselves for the week.

We stayed in a garden room in the main house and it was truly stunning, the attention to detail was second to none. The room felt like a place of relaxation and the bathroom gorgeous with lovely bath products. There was a lovely shaded terrace which was perfect to relax on and play games. The room was spacious enough for the 4 of us.

Jnane House is beautifully decorated with a lovely touches and unusual pieces. The gardens are stunning and the pools magnificent - we used the pool by the villa (named the blue pool by the staff, but we named it the ping pong pool as there is a table tennis table by the pool). The pool and the area surrounding were lovely. We also had a few swims in some of the other pools as the boys were determined to choose their favourite.

The staff, Samira and the waiters in particular were fantastic. Nothing was ever too much trouble from booking activities (we did trips to Marrakech, dune buggies and camel riding), to catering for the children's meals after they fancied something different. We ate a hotel some lunches and dinners and the food was delicious, the staff were always happy to accommodate all tastes and requests.

Marrakech is approximately 20 minute taxi ride away and cost 150 dirhams each way (approx £10) if booked by the hotel (would highly recommend using this service).

All of the staff were what really made the holiday that extra bit special. The laundry service was excellent - I've never got home from a holiday with such a little amount of dirty washing.

I can't recommend Jnane Tamsna high enough and I will be returning sans children.

Room Tip: Garden rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tkanecsp@aol.com
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

This Riad sprawls out into the palm desert. Although there are only 20+ rooms there are gardens, desert and plans. It is serenity plus. The entire place is well planned and the decor is artfully done. It often feels like home. The swimming pools are marvelous and there is a fine chef. I ate both nights at the hotel in a candlelit courtyard. The taxis to town can be pricey, but if you are looking for a retreat from the hustle and bustle, this is the place for you. My room was upgraded and it was large, airy and beautifully done, there were luxurious soaps and bath products. The owners were delightful conversationalists and I can't recommend this place too highly.

Room Tip: Go beyond a standard room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We stayed at the Jnane Tamsna during the Easter holiday break. We were two adults and two children aged 9 and 6. We stayed in a garden pavilion room which had a sitting room area which we used for the children to sleep in at night. The size of the accommodation was good and you felt like you had your own apartment with space.

The hotel is a delightful find and totally quirky. It is a maze of windy pathways, which the kids enjoyed running around and through. There are many pools everyone can use but ours was particularly freezing. Really it would have been lovely if it could have been heated a little.

The staff could not have been more attentive and helpful. They put on cookery classes for the kids and acrobats and henna ladies. They also organised our trips into town with guides and also up to the Atlas Mountains, where we went for a day trip to the Kasbah Bab Ourika, which I would highly recommend. Outstanding views and an idyllic location.

Breakfast, lunch and supper are all served in one area, up outside the main pool when the weather is good, which it was. The food was good, but if you are staying a week or more then I would recommend booking some restaurants in town as the variety is not there, and you might need to break it up a bit.

If you are looking for state of the art 5 star service and facilities, then don't come here. If you are looking for something totally different and homely and lovely and very specially Moroccan, then do.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knysna, Western Cape, South Africa
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Jnane Tamsna has an old world charm and tranquility. The expansive gardens are lovely with five beautiful swimming pools and a number of accommodation options. As it was Ramadan and low season, staff was not thick on the ground but those who were there, were very helpful and attentive. We stayed in two garden rooms in the main house, which were individually decorated and shared large verandahs. It is the type of place we enjoy, the rooms are a little tired perhaps, and the bathrooms lacked the usual accompaniments, almost expected today in most hotels.
We joined the chef on one of our days, for an in-house cooking class. The food which we enjoyed for lunch, was very good, as were the breakfasts and candlelit dinner.
Factor in to your stay here, the added cost of a driver or taxi to get you to and from the city centre which is a 20 min drive.
Jnane Tamsna is a great place to stay. A home away from home, well away from the heat and bustle of the city.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We arrived for a 3 day visit to recharge our batteries. A perfectly beautiful, tranquil oasis. Gardens to explore with 5 swimming pools. Very friendly staff, nothing was too much trouble from daily laundry at no extra cost, complimentary soft drinks, to a flexible leaving time. We were welcomed and felt very at home immediately. We spent the days lazing by the pool, enjoying relaxing breakfasts outside, exploring the large gardens and enjoyed magical dinners with delicious wine, in the inner courtyard surrounded by olive trees and atmospheric candle light. Did not want to leave and are planning a return longer visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jnane Tamsna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jnane Tamsna

Address: Douar Abiad | La Palmeraie, Marrakech 40007, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Jnane Tamsna 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The latest creation of Meryanne Loum-Martin, Jnane Tamsna comprises three houses - Jnane House, Moussafir House and Dar Ylane - with a total of 17 bedrooms within a walled garden. The property is located in a protected palm grove with spectacular views. The houses blend traditional interior courtyard architecture with the space, light and vegetation typical of the Palmeraie. Jnane Tamsa offers a romantic way to discover Marrakech and understand why it has become a legend. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, MrandMrsSmith, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Jnane Tamsna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jnane Tamsna Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jnane Tamsna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.