We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky and relaxed family break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jnane Tamsna

Save Saved
You added Jnane Tamsna to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Jnane Tamsna
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Douar Abiad | La Palmeraie, Marrakech 40007, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #161 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
London
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Quirky and relaxed family break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at the Jnane Tamsna during the Easter holiday break. We were two adults and two children aged 9 and 6. We stayed in a garden pavilion room which had a sitting room area which we used for the children to sleep in at night. The size of the accommodation was good and you felt like you had your own apartment with space.

The hotel is a delightful find and totally quirky. It is a maze of windy pathways, which the kids enjoyed running around and through. There are many pools everyone can use but ours was particularly freezing. Really it would have been lovely if it could have been heated a little.

The staff could not have been more attentive and helpful. They put on cookery classes for the kids and acrobats and henna ladies. They also organised our trips into town with guides and also up to the Atlas Mountains, where we went for a day trip to the Kasbah Bab Ourika, which I would highly recommend. Outstanding views and an idyllic location.

Breakfast, lunch and supper are all served in one area, up outside the main pool when the weather is good, which it was. The food was good, but if you are staying a week or more then I would recommend booking some restaurants in town as the variety is not there, and you might need to break it up a bit.

If you are looking for state of the art 5 star service and facilities, then don't come here. If you are looking for something totally different and homely and lovely and very specially Moroccan, then do.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    160
    12
    11
    9
    12
See reviews for
62
62
10
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Knysna, Western Cape, South Africa
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Jnane Tamsna has an old world charm and tranquility. The expansive gardens are lovely with five beautiful swimming pools and a number of accommodation options. As it was Ramadan and low season, staff was not thick on the ground but those who were there, were very helpful and attentive. We stayed in two garden rooms in the main house, which were individually decorated and shared large verandahs. It is the type of place we enjoy, the rooms are a little tired perhaps, and the bathrooms lacked the usual accompaniments, almost expected today in most hotels.
We joined the chef on one of our days, for an in-house cooking class. The food which we enjoyed for lunch, was very good, as were the breakfasts and candlelit dinner.
Factor in to your stay here, the added cost of a driver or taxi to get you to and from the city centre which is a 20 min drive.
Jnane Tamsna is a great place to stay. A home away from home, well away from the heat and bustle of the city.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We arrived for a 3 day visit to recharge our batteries. A perfectly beautiful, tranquil oasis. Gardens to explore with 5 swimming pools. Very friendly staff, nothing was too much trouble from daily laundry at no extra cost, complimentary soft drinks, to a flexible leaving time. We were welcomed and felt very at home immediately. We spent the days lazing by the pool, enjoying relaxing breakfasts outside, exploring the large gardens and enjoyed magical dinners with delicious wine, in the inner courtyard surrounded by olive trees and atmospheric candle light. Did not want to leave and are planning a return longer visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We stayed in Jnane Tamsna for 5 days following a brief 2 day stay in a Riyad in central Marrakech on the edge of the Souks (market) area. The contrast could not have been greater - the hustle and bustle and continuous motor bike traffic of the town were replaced with a quiet, serene, almost utopian area to relax in. We benefitted from having our own on-site villa with a pool with complimentary non-alcoholic drinks provided by the hosts whenever needed - what more could you want!

The breakfast, lunch and, if you wanted it, dinner were served outside in the courtyard area. The food was exceptional taste wise and of reasonable cost. The Moroccan wine I highly recommend. The service provided by the friendly waiters and the knowledgeable hotel staff could not be faulted.

We decided to eat at a couple of restaurants (La Fondouk & Pepperoni) in the city area on 4 of our nights and were not disappointed, great food. The only issue you have is negotiating the short distance from where the taxis drop you off to the restaurant down dimly lit, smelly alley ways with a variety of locals offering to show you the way for a few Direhm. Best to always keep small loose change with you just in case you get lost.

Back to the hotel which, although attractive with its surrounding gardens and typical Moroccan style architecture and layout was far removed from modern western hotels, which probably would offer more comforts, especially in dealing with the 40c+ temperature. Our villa was similar and though comfortable and clean it contained old fashioned furniture and fairly basic bathroom facilities.

Overall a nice place to escape to with excellent Moroccan hospitality, but maybe not so for those who expect the ultimate western style hotel environment. For instance there was not one TV to be found (and the World cup had just started) and no fitness centre - so just sit back in the beautiful sunshine and pour some more of the excellent Moroccan wine!

Room Tip: For the full escape take one of the villa rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Wonderful food. Friendly staff. Very relaxing. Could not have asked for more! Just outside of the city but with more expanse than your average Rhiad. It was like staying in someone's house with a beautiful menu, perfect swimming pools and a very friendly team. Go!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

The hotel was probably very nice 15 years ago. New pools have been recently added and garden is very nice, but rooms are quite disappointing, also considering the price. Smelling bathrooms are not clean, showers coinciding with toilets in tiny dumpy rooms, and rooms generaly oldish and dusty. A feeling of a glory from the past with potentiality... Staff is nice and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We stayed at Jnane Tamsna for 6 nights in May. We booked this holiday at short notice; in need of sun and relaxation, but also to take a break from our crazy work schedule in London. This wonderful place offers a real escape from the typical routine of conventional holiday destinations. Described as 'home away from home' it offers much more then a commercial hotel and that's why their service style may not be to everyone's satisfaction. You are left alone to make your own choices, but if needed, the assistance is there to offer more tailored program.
The meal times are very flexible so you are never under any pressure. The food itself is very healthy, so after few days you really get into some good eating habits.
We loved it so much that we are planning to go back for an extended weekends throughout the year with a next trip as early as next week!
Outstanding place (without any stuffiness) and the peaceful oasis make for a real special combination.
Without doubt one of my favourite holiday destinations!
Meryanne Loum-Martin has to be the best host in Marrakech.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Jnane Tamsna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jnane Tamsna

Address: Douar Abiad | La Palmeraie, Marrakech 40007, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#61 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Jnane Tamsna 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The latest creation of Meryanne Loum-Martin, Jnane Tamsna comprises three houses - Jnane House, Moussafir House and Dar Ylane - with a total of 17 bedrooms within a walled garden. The property is located in a protected palm grove with spectacular views. The houses blend traditional interior courtyard architecture with the space, light and vegetation typical of the Palmeraie. Jnane Tamsa offers a romantic way to discover Marrakech and understand why it has become a legend. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, MrandMrsSmith, BookingOdigeoWL and TripOnline SA so you can book your Jnane Tamsna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jnane Tamsna Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jnane Tamsna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.