We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A unique treasure!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jnane Tamsna

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Jnane Tamsna to your Saves list
Jnane Tamsna
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Douar Abiad | La Palmeraie, Marrakech 40007, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #157 of 473 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A unique treasure!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We stayed at Jnane Tamsna for 6 nights in May. We booked this holiday at short notice; in need of sun and relaxation, but also to take a break from our crazy work schedule in London. This wonderful place offers a real escape from the typical routine of conventional holiday destinations. Described as 'home away from home' it offers much more then a commercial hotel and that's why their service style may not be to everyone's satisfaction. You are left alone to make your own choices, but if needed, the assistance is there to offer more tailored program.
The meal times are very flexible so you are never under any pressure. The food itself is very healthy, so after few days you really get into some good eating habits.
We loved it so much that we are planning to go back for an extended weekends throughout the year with a next trip as early as next week!
Outstanding place (without any stuffiness) and the peaceful oasis make for a real special combination.
Without doubt one of my favourite holiday destinations!
Meryanne Loum-Martin has to be the best host in Marrakech.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    14
    14
    11
    12
See reviews for
75
70
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

We just spent a week at Jnane Tamsna and were very disappointed with the service, attitude and inefficiency of the staff and facilities. We have 3 young children and were left to our own devices on arrival, after a 12 hour trip, while our temporary room was being set up (unbeknown to us) - we were never shown around Jnane Tamsna. A newly wed couple were then put between us and another family...very thoughtless. The complimentary laundry service was terrible...clothes were damaged, went missing and were returned wet. The room cleaners only replaced soap and towels when asked and we had to do without floor mats...a 'drain' was exposed in the wall which had an awful odor (apparently the reason we could not stay in the room on the first night). The breakfast presentation and offering never varied for the entire week - all it requires is a little effort...they even ran out of teaspoons. We ate out in town most days after very disappointing meals and realizing they are not very kid friendly or flexible with meals or times. Room service is basically non existent too. We had requested activities prior to traveling and had to follow up on these on arrival and plan most of our own outings and activities...we received different rates and the general attitude of the management was one of superiority. My suggestion is they need to go back to basics. Overall a very disappointing stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Jnane Tamsna for 5 nights in April. We were thoroughly impressed.

What makes this place unique is the wonderful, personal service offered by the lovely Samira and GiGi who were exemplary in ensuring we had everything we needed and their sincerity made us feel that we were staying somewhere special. A home away from home, is how Jnane is marketed and they come pretty close to achieving that.

The property offers a real escape from the madness of the medina. We particularly enjoyed breakfast in the garden listening to nothing but the sound of birds and watching the kids search for wild tortoises in the gardens. The croissants were excellent, by the way.

It is not quite perfect: service at mealtimes is often too slow and some requests fall by the wayside, but actually, this was never a real problem.

The main negative is the expense of taxis from the Palmeraie- it really adds up and this was our biggest expense during our stay. Eur30 for a 10min journey to and from a restaurant in the Palmeraie is not insignificant over the duration of 6 days.

I strongly recommend a visit, if not a night's stay at the breathtakingly beautiful Kasbah Bab Ourika in the Atlas Mountains, an hour's drive from the Medina. The stupendous view of the snow capped mountains had me lost for words...

We felt truly refreshed when I returned from Jnane Tamsna and we took home some perfect memories. We travel extensively and rarely return to the same place twice, but I would return to Jnane without hesitation.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

It's an oasis. (Period)
We had one of the large rooms next to the second swimming pool, and everything was perfect. The gardens provided shade, the pool was in front of the room (ideal with kids) and the main house was a 1 min walk for breakfast or dinner. The only drawback: it's such a relaxing environment that you end up staying in much more than you'll have planned... And with €35 pp and €15 per kid for dinner plus lunch the costs are likely to be high. Taking that into cinsideration... A place in heaven can never be too expensive ;-)

Room Tip: The large room is big enough to add two beds for 2 kids. Ask for the large room next to the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

My wife and I visited this lovely oasis of calm for 5 days in mid April. We had a majestic time, loving it all, especially the people running the place. It was fantastic. The food, the pools, the decor... Many thanks Jnana Tamsna!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killinchy, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

I had read all the poor reviews and realised that the people who wrote would not have been happy anywhere in Marrakech. This Riad is beautiful. It is a different type of luxury. Rooms are basic but sumptuous The food is excellent but little choice. The atmosphere is one of complete relaxation. The staff are five star nothing is too much trouble. We had a superb 5 day break over Easter and shopped, trekked in the mountains, visited the sights and ate out in the Medina.
This was a very different holiday than the beach or a city break but it had everything and more. We would go back to the comfort, splendour and service of Jnane Tamsna

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bourg Saint Maurice, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Jnane Tamsna is a beautiful boutique hotel situated in a calm wonderful setting out of the busy Medina in the Palmeraie area. It was my second time staying here and it was as fantastic and wonderful as the first time. The hotel living areas and rooms are all tastefully decorated and comfortable with fire places for the still chilly evenings of end of March& early April when we stayed at Jnane Tamsna. Beautiful roses& flowers everywhere candles in the evenings. A truly heavenly mini break we had. Food was wonderful & tasty the service polite and attentive and nothing is too much trouble. We were really well looked after by the staff and all our needs were met.Only regret was that our stay was too short! Cannot wait for our next stay at Jnane Tamsna.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Jnane Tamsna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jnane Tamsna

Address: Douar Abiad | La Palmeraie, Marrakech 40007, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#73 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Jnane Tamsna 5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The latest creation of Meryanne Loum-Martin, Jnane Tamsna comprises three houses - Jnane House, Moussafir House and Dar Ylane - with a total of 17 bedrooms within a walled garden. The property is located in a protected palm grove with spectacular views. The houses blend traditional interior courtyard architecture with the space, light and vegetation typical of the Palmeraie. Jnane Tamsa offers a romantic way to discover Marrakech and understand why it has become a legend. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith and Odigeo so you can book your Jnane Tamsna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jnane Tamsna Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jnane Tamsna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.