We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serenity in the desert” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jnane Tamsna

Save Saved
You added Jnane Tamsna to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Jnane Tamsna
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Douar Abiad | La Palmeraie, Marrakech 40007, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #156 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Killinchy, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Serenity in the desert”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

I had read all the poor reviews and realised that the people who wrote would not have been happy anywhere in Marrakech. This Riad is beautiful. It is a different type of luxury. Rooms are basic but sumptuous The food is excellent but little choice. The atmosphere is one of complete relaxation. The staff are five star nothing is too much trouble. We had a superb 5 day break over Easter and shopped, trekked in the mountains, visited the sights and ate out in the Medina.
This was a very different holiday than the beach or a city break but it had everything and more. We would go back to the comfort, splendour and service of Jnane Tamsna

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    161
    12
    11
    9
    12
See reviews for
62
62
11
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bourg Saint Maurice, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Jnane Tamsna is a beautiful boutique hotel situated in a calm wonderful setting out of the busy Medina in the Palmeraie area. It was my second time staying here and it was as fantastic and wonderful as the first time. The hotel living areas and rooms are all tastefully decorated and comfortable with fire places for the still chilly evenings of end of March& early April when we stayed at Jnane Tamsna. Beautiful roses& flowers everywhere candles in the evenings. A truly heavenly mini break we had. Food was wonderful & tasty the service polite and attentive and nothing is too much trouble. We were really well looked after by the staff and all our needs were met.Only regret was that our stay was too short! Cannot wait for our next stay at Jnane Tamsna.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

This is probably the first time I actually sit down to write a special comment on one of my stays, but this one is definitely worth it !
Where should I start ?! Imagine 5 stunning villas in a huge and beautiful garden. That is where I had the great pleasure to stay for 3 nights.
My room was spacious but cozy and beautifully decorated (simple and elegant, just as I like it).
The food was amazing (as a foodie person, that is one thing I look at ! ), the produce was fresh (from the market everyday!), and the flavors were divine.
To top it off, the staff were absolutely adorable : kind, helpful yet discreet...
I want to go back !
Thank you again, and well done to the hosts and their whole crew for making my stay so special and memorable !

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Stayed at beautiful Jnane Tamsna for a few days in March as part of Peggy Markel's Culinary Adventures. This was Peggy's 26th stay at Jnane Tamsna over 13 years and I can see why she keeps coming back and bringing small groups with her: the guesthouse is magical!

The gardens are wonderful, the ambiance delightful and elegant, and the service nice and friendly. When staying at the hotel you get the sense of staying in somebody's house and this is the perfect place to relax and decompress. There are lots of areas where to curl up with a book and magazine, including several swimming pools. The food was delicious and fresh. If you want to get away from the noise and hustle and bustle of the medina and enjoy some elegant peace and quiet, this is the place to go!

Room Tip: I saw several of the rooms and settled on the India room on the upstairs area. Beautiful and richly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

The people working there were very warm and friendly and nothing was too much to ask to accommodate our needs, especially that of our toddler whom they all befriended. They took great
care of us. We had a very relaxing week in this beautiful place, particularly exploring the wonderful botanical
garden.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

I rated the Fitness centre as excellent as the fitness coaches, tennis and yoga teacher are very instruictive, even though the fitness center initself does not exist.
The venues garden is marvellous and the parfums of the plants and flowers make you feel happy. The owner of Jnane Tamsna certainly created an atmosphere for everybody to feel far away from daily life but yet at home. The decoration and paintings are unique. The medina is nearby, in less the 10 minutes you can reach the souks. No matter if I visted the place in winter or in summer it always fitted my needs. In winter I stay in front of the fire places in summer I hide under the tree's shade. It is certainly a place to come back again and again and AGAIN

Room Tip: the garden rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech, Morocco
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

Jnane Tamsna was the perfect choice to relax after our two week stay in Morocco. Beautiful gardens, lovely room, friendly staff, many areas to read or chat, a little paradise......away from the hustle and bustle of the centre of Marrakesh, but still close enough to hop in a taxi and stroll around this city full of surprises. We got home totally rested, and can´t wait to come back.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jnane Tamsna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jnane Tamsna

Address: Douar Abiad | La Palmeraie, Marrakech 40007, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#59 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Jnane Tamsna 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The latest creation of Meryanne Loum-Martin, Jnane Tamsna comprises three houses - Jnane House, Moussafir House and Dar Ylane - with a total of 17 bedrooms within a walled garden. The property is located in a protected palm grove with spectacular views. The houses blend traditional interior courtyard architecture with the space, light and vegetation typical of the Palmeraie. Jnane Tamsa offers a romantic way to discover Marrakech and understand why it has become a legend. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, MrandMrsSmith, BookingOdigeoWL and TripOnline SA so you can book your Jnane Tamsna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jnane Tamsna Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jnane Tamsna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.