We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jnane Tamsna

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Jnane Tamsna to your Saves list
Jnane Tamsna
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Douar Abiad | La Palmeraie, Marrakech 40007, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #165 of 480 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Home from home!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

We have been visiting Jnane Tamsna and it is always such a pleasure to return. It really feels like our home from home in Marrakech. Relaxed atmosphere, verdant gardens, delicious food, much of it grown in the organic gardens or on the owners' nearby farm. We have been alone and with our children, plus we held our unforgettable wedding there - what a party! In summer, spring, winter and autumn, it is always a relaxing time we spend there. Last week there was a lot of rain, which gave us a perfect excuse to curl up by the fire in our room or in the salon, and read and play backgammon. It was heavenly!

Room Tip: Each room is unique and all have their charms. In winter I recommend the ones with a fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    15
    15
    11
    12
See reviews for
75
70
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

We had a wonderful week here over Christmas. The hotel and accommodation is very stylish but doesn't feel over-designed. We had wonderful log fires in our room each night. The owner Meryanne and her staff were extremely hospitable - always there to help with a smile. The food was outstanding. Three delicious courses arrive at your table (no menu) - a delicious mix of French and Moroccan. We relaxed in the grounds enjoying the winter sunshine, played some tennis on their clay court and explored Marrakech (only 15 minutes by taxi) - a perfect winter break. We felt we had the best of both worlds - the tranquility and space of the Palmerie but with the sites and bustle of the town not far away. We would highly recommend Jnane Tamsna and hope to return soon.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

This is my first Trip Advisor review and I couldn't be more pleased with the exceptional service and lovely experience we had at Jnane Tamsna for my birthday with a group of 8 friends in October. The proprietor (and really your hostess) is the lovely Meryanne who did the perfect job of arranging the many small details like the airport car service, selecting the beautifully decorated rooms and organizing and recommending great guides and side trips (don't miss the Atlas Mountains). She also put together a very chic candlelight dinner on the roof of our villa for the night of the birthday soiree. Her fabulous taste and the amazing food produced from the gardens created by her charming husband make for a very special experience in the Palmeraie. We all loved it and I couldn't recommend it more highly!

Room Tip: We loved the Persian room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

I spent a week for a culinary and cultural experience of Marakech at Jnane Tamsna. I was with a group of 18 so I was able to see a number of different rooms offered by the hotel. They were themed and lovely. I stayed in the Persia room with another person, the rooms were large beautifully decorated and each grouping of units had a swimming pool. The hotel is somewhat remoter for the city center of Marakech so the a number of meals were at the hotel. The food was delicious and authentic Moroccon cuisine. The staff was very gracious and the accomodations included a lovely breakfast each morning. The culinary classes were great fun. Our final evening was a candlelit dinner out of doors.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We just returned from a 5 day stay at this beautiful oasis. It was so nice to be away from the craziness of the medina and be able to enjoy the tranquility of the Palmerie. Meryanne, the owner, and her staff were so friendly and accomodating. We had massages in our room, relaxed by the very private pool and had amazing meals here. The staff had wonderful restaurant recommendations and we were easily able to get back and forth to the medina when we needed to. Be aware there is no ATM at this hotel so you need to get cash at the airport or in town. We were there for a wedding and they held an absolutely beautiful one here for 135 people. It was literally breathtaking. We hope to be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We loved Jnane Tamsna.

We could feel the owners' love on each corner... everything is beautiful!
Loved the garden, the hidden pavillion, the different pools,
the door of our room was stunning!

We also enjoyed the meal. Exquisite hamburger...

Samira was very helpful and nice. We forgot a suitcase at the hotel...
she took care of it and even replaced a broken wheel... incredible!

Relax and enjoy this beautiful hotel!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

I just spent the most enchanting stay at Jnane Tamsna in the Palmeraie of Marrakech. I have been to many destination weddings but this was beyond every one’s expectations. We were over 100 guests for dinner. After an exquisite dinner, there was a beautiful fire show and we danced until 6.A.M. The music was fantastic. The setting of the table was magical. It was entirely candle lit in a very lush garden. Stunning. We were about 50 guests staying in the hotel for 3 days. Every thing was attended with grace and efficiency. The food was excellent, the pressing free, the guided tours informative and the last day the brunch buffet was good and abundant. Everywhere, there were more flowers than one could count.

My room was very stylish. Antiques, old photos and an immense charm, which blend the Orient with an Art Deco colonial feel. The location is perfect. Secluded enough to have a total sense of privacy, but close enough to town to visit its beautiful old Medina. The house has a lot of patina. Very old trees in the garden, an interesting architecture, a privately owned place which is being run in a very friendly manner. I hope to return with friends and family in this very unique enclave.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Les Deux Tours
Les Deux Tours
#105 of 480 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 506 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
#11 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 706 reviews
11.3 mi away
Fellah Hotel
Fellah Hotel
#288 of 480 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Mosaic Palais Aziza & Spa
Mosaic Palais Aziza & Spa
#78 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 270 reviews
3.9 mi away
Ksar Char-Bagh
Ksar Char-Bagh
#93 of 480 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 128 reviews
3.0 mi away
Tigmiza - Suites & Pavillons
Tigmiza - Suites & Pavillons
#96 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jnane Tamsna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jnane Tamsna

Address: Douar Abiad | La Palmeraie, Marrakech 40007, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#79 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Jnane Tamsna 5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The latest creation of Meryanne Loum-Martin, Jnane Tamsna comprises three houses - Jnane House, Moussafir House and Dar Ylane - with a total of 17 bedrooms within a walled garden. The property is located in a protected palm grove with spectacular views. The houses blend traditional interior courtyard architecture with the space, light and vegetation typical of the Palmeraie. Jnane Tamsa offers a romantic way to discover Marrakech and understand why it has become a legend. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MrandMrsSmith, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Jnane Tamsna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jnane Tamsna Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jnane Tamsna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.