We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extraordinary experiences and highly recommended!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jnane Tamsna

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Jnane Tamsna to your Saves list
Jnane Tamsna
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Douar Abiad | La Palmeraie, Marrakech 40007, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #149 of 470 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Extraordinary experiences and highly recommended!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

This is my first Trip Advisor review and I couldn't be more pleased with the exceptional service and lovely experience we had at Jnane Tamsna for my birthday with a group of 8 friends in October. The proprietor (and really your hostess) is the lovely Meryanne who did the perfect job of arranging the many small details like the airport car service, selecting the beautifully decorated rooms and organizing and recommending great guides and side trips (don't miss the Atlas Mountains). She also put together a very chic candlelight dinner on the roof of our villa for the night of the birthday soiree. Her fabulous taste and the amazing food produced from the gardens created by her charming husband make for a very special experience in the Palmeraie. We all loved it and I couldn't recommend it more highly!

Room Tip: We loved the Persian room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    13
    14
    10
    12
See reviews for
75
66
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

I spent a week for a culinary and cultural experience of Marakech at Jnane Tamsna. I was with a group of 18 so I was able to see a number of different rooms offered by the hotel. They were themed and lovely. I stayed in the Persia room with another person, the rooms were large beautifully decorated and each grouping of units had a swimming pool. The hotel is somewhat remoter for the city center of Marakech so the a number of meals were at the hotel. The food was delicious and authentic Moroccon cuisine. The staff was very gracious and the accomodations included a lovely breakfast each morning. The culinary classes were great fun. Our final evening was a candlelit dinner out of doors.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We just returned from a 5 day stay at this beautiful oasis. It was so nice to be away from the craziness of the medina and be able to enjoy the tranquility of the Palmerie. Meryanne, the owner, and her staff were so friendly and accomodating. We had massages in our room, relaxed by the very private pool and had amazing meals here. The staff had wonderful restaurant recommendations and we were easily able to get back and forth to the medina when we needed to. Be aware there is no ATM at this hotel so you need to get cash at the airport or in town. We were there for a wedding and they held an absolutely beautiful one here for 135 people. It was literally breathtaking. We hope to be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We loved Jnane Tamsna.

We could feel the owners' love on each corner... everything is beautiful!
Loved the garden, the hidden pavillion, the different pools,
the door of our room was stunning!

We also enjoyed the meal. Exquisite hamburger...

Samira was very helpful and nice. We forgot a suitcase at the hotel...
she took care of it and even replaced a broken wheel... incredible!

Relax and enjoy this beautiful hotel!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

I just spent the most enchanting stay at Jnane Tamsna in the Palmeraie of Marrakech. I have been to many destination weddings but this was beyond every one’s expectations. We were over 100 guests for dinner. After an exquisite dinner, there was a beautiful fire show and we danced until 6.A.M. The music was fantastic. The setting of the table was magical. It was entirely candle lit in a very lush garden. Stunning. We were about 50 guests staying in the hotel for 3 days. Every thing was attended with grace and efficiency. The food was excellent, the pressing free, the guided tours informative and the last day the brunch buffet was good and abundant. Everywhere, there were more flowers than one could count.

My room was very stylish. Antiques, old photos and an immense charm, which blend the Orient with an Art Deco colonial feel. The location is perfect. Secluded enough to have a total sense of privacy, but close enough to town to visit its beautiful old Medina. The house has a lot of patina. Very old trees in the garden, an interesting architecture, a privately owned place which is being run in a very friendly manner. I hope to return with friends and family in this very unique enclave.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

the whole experience of booking the rooms was difficult and not transparent regarding location of hotel room and pricing. upon arrival, we were told we had to use hotel booked cars, which were charging much more (2-3x). the rationale was that local taxis would get lost and when asked upon by staff to draw a simple map, this was met with a lot of resistance. food service was exceptionally unreliable and slow. AC was not working properly and toilet was running continually, yet no attempts at fixing. upon departure, we were billed a much higher room rate price and had to point that out. very disappointing experience and question the integrity of the operation.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York, USA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

We were really excited to stay at Jnane having read the reviews and seen the website. However, we were thoroughly disappointed with our stay. The place was generally nice, but dusty and didn't feel clean. More importantly, service was not honest.

1. Their car service arrangement destroyed our trust. Hotel manager didn't tell us when we booked to use their driver service so we ended up taking a taxi which was a big hassle since the taxi driver had no idea where the hotel was. She made it seem like it was our fault and we should have known to use their driver. However, it is basically racketeering. The hotel does not have any signs on the road for a reason. They don't want to be found by other taxi drivers. The sign on the door is very small. We felt that the owner and car services company were in bed together. Using other taxi services is discouraged and even chastised. While it was quite nice to be away from the medina, the driver charges 150 dirham ($18) each way (8km ride) and it takes 15-30 min to order the service. We later learned that a nearby hotel Dar Ayniwen offers free taxi service.

2. Service is very, very slow. When we asked for coffee or water, it would take over 30 min! However, services in Morocco are generally poor.

We would not recommend this place. If you want a nice garden and good hospitality in Palmerie, stay at Dar Anyiwen. Perhaps I'm being harsh, but I don't like the feeling of getting ripped off.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jnane Tamsna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jnane Tamsna

Address: Douar Abiad | La Palmeraie, Marrakech 40007, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#64 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Jnane Tamsna 5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The latest creation of Meryanne Loum-Martin, Jnane Tamsna comprises three houses - Jnane House, Moussafir House and Dar Ylane - with a total of 17 bedrooms within a walled garden. The property is located in a protected palm grove with spectacular views. The houses blend traditional interior courtyard architecture with the space, light and vegetation typical of the Palmeraie. Jnane Tamsa offers a romantic way to discover Marrakech and understand why it has become a legend. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Jnane Tamsna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jnane Tamsna Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jnane Tamsna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.