We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Utter bliss in the Oasis” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jnane Tamsna

Save Saved
You added Jnane Tamsna to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Jnane Tamsna
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Douar Abiad | La Palmeraie, Marrakech 40007, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #158 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Utter bliss in the Oasis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

I stayed at the beautiful Jnane Tamsna boutique hotel with three friends, and each and everyone of us was absolutely delighted. My room, the African Suite in the Moussafir Villa, was beautifully decorated with gorgeous textiles and antiques. We had this villa, and its pool to entirely ourselves, but all had great interactions with the other guests when we would wander through the lush garden to the main house for meals. It was clear that this oasis getaway attracts like-minded, creative and interesting people, who often come back together after having met during their previous stay. This was the case with some of the other guests we met. The staff was so friendly and this joined with the owner Meryanne's warm hospitality, made us feel entirely at home.

Samira at the office was very informative about what kind of activities we could do. She organized a camel ride and the camels were brought straight to the front door. As an advanced tennis player, I can say the tennis coaching lessons they provided were great, as well as the hotel's clay tennis court, which is in great condition.

The cuisine, sourced for the most part from their organic garden, was simply exquisite. Chilled cucumber soups and gazpachos, delicious spicy grilled meats, fresh fruit and amazing chocolate cake. The perfect end to each meal was the mint tea, picked from the garden the very day.

A great thank you to Meryanne, her staff and the Jnane family for welcoming my friends and I into this beautiful oasis paradise in which we could not have felt more at home. I look forward to coming back in the very near future.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    160
    12
    11
    9
    12
See reviews for
62
62
10
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Having never been to Marrakech or Morocco before I was somewhat nervous about what to expect. My husband and I had a 3 day stay and instantly felt relaxed from the moment we walked through the doorway. The decor is impressive - a difficult to achieve blend of simplicity with antique furniture, ornate doors and modern comforts. The staff are faultless in their effort to make you feel at home and serve in an unobtrusive manner. The meals are fantastic too - all cooked using fresh vegetables. At 25 euro ahead for 3 courses, we found them great value. There are several pools within the grounds so you can find a quiet spot if that is what you are after! We went for a run each morning outside the hotel grounds amongst the palm trees and camels! We are planning to return and hope to bring the children too to experience their own Moroccan adventure.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaptal9, Owner at Jnane Tamsna, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to express your enthusiasm about our property. We are truly happy that you enjoyed your stay.

We are very grateful as so often guests send me an enthusiastic personal email but they do not go on Trip advisor.

We very much look forward to hosting you with your children next time
Kind regards
Meryanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Stayed in Jnane Tamsna (JT) for 3 nights.

The short version of this review:
a nice, upscale, hotel, 20 min from city center with VERY expensive food.

Longer version:
Booking was easy, by the internet. Found JT via Iescapes.com but be aware that when booking through this and through Bookings or similar, the online company charges 15-20% on top; so book directly.
We were traveling with two kids and the hotel offered us to put both in additional beds, in the room, free of charge. A nice touch. Checkin was a bit slow and we were exhausted after a long car ride from Essaouira.
Our room, in the "main" house was nicely decorated in moroccan/french style with black/white photos etc. The hotel is composed of 4-5 different houses, each with a pool spread out over the grounds. You can go to the different houses and use the pools, if that house has not been rented.
During our visit, most/all were empty.
The famous garden looks a little faded and general upkeep of the hotel we felt a little lacking too.
The pools were not clean enough for a hotel in this price range, we were allowed to use the "blue" pool by one of the other houses but it too was not cleaned during our stay.
Service is friendly and non-intrusive. All non alcoholic beverages are free of charge, inc espressos / cafe au laits etc. Most welcome after Maroccos rather boring coffee.
Another plus, free laundry and free wi-fy.

So much for the positives, there is, however one major negative about staying in this hotel; the food.

As others have mentioned there is a fixed menu both for lunch and dinner.
At a price of 25€ pr person for lunch and 35€ for dinner (15 / 20 for kids aged 5-12)
This accounted for a total of 190 € for our family (2 adults and 2 kids aged 7 and 10)
, that is 2100 Dirams!

For this kind of money you can eat at some very nice places in Marrakesh.
The food served is tasty but basic. A simple salat, for starter, a grilled piece of fish for main and melon for dessert. Consider that you can get the same menu, perhaps done better, in town for 70-100 D pr person, this is a ripoff.
We ate at the very popular (a slightly touristy) Pepe Nero (3d on TA) for far less and had a very superior meal.

There is no shuttle but the hotel arrange taxis for take you out for 150 D.
Our suggestion, use this to eat else where.

So, in conclusion, the hotel is nicely decorated especially at night, service is good, the pools and grounds mediocre, the food, however, overpriced.

Would i stay again? Only as a group, renting a house for private stay, but the price of the food would make me look elsewhere first.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaptal9, Owner at Jnane Tamsna, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to review your very recent stay. When you book through agencies, they do not charge on top of the price. It is the same public prices published every where that you pay and that you paid. Indeed our famous gardens are suffering from a general drought these days. As you have seen it is extremely hot, and there is the desert wind called chergui blowing sand and dust all over the Palmeraie. It is also Ramadan, and the slow check-in you experienced (and that I do apologise for) was linked to the fact that the reception person had fasted all day and was probably a bit slow to move then. No water no food for about 12 hours a day in 45 degrees and plus... We do apologise for the fact that you experienced holidays in a very hot week, a very tired moment for people doing their religious fasting and that there was the sandy wind. I remember that our place was warmly recommended to you by friends of yours who came at another moment of the year.
Totally uninformed that you were coming with two children who were between 9 and 12, I guess.. We graciously offered you 2 free beds with their included breakfasts, soft drinks, pressing and laundry. Nothing of this was charged. I do hope that the future will give us opportunities to come back to our place and see it under the eyes of your friends who recommended it. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

I am now travelling with three friends in Morocco. We went to Jnane Tamsna just for lunch, having heard about the garden, the pools and the very good food. We liked it so much that we asked if we could book rooms for the rest of our stay in the region. Our Medina riad was gracious enough not to charge us for cancellation fees. People can be very gracious in this country. But the Medina was not for us : bikes traffic, pollution, noises, we were getting very claustrophobic.
Jnane Tamsna is a soothing place. We just fell relieved, happy, relaxed. What we liked the best was the scale of it, just the right size to feel in a private estate. Not in a big hotel nor in one of the Medina riads where we felt on top of each other.
In the morning, we would go out and jog in the beautiful Palmeraie. There is a jogging trail just in front of the gates. Then a delicious breakfasts with fresh vegetable juices ands whatever else we asked. Pool, massage, yoga, tennis, cooking classes, was organised by the desk upon request.Then walking around the beautiful old garden really gives a special feel to this place. Great service, impeccable and free pressing services, smiling staff, very stylish rooms, beautiful paintings, elegantly framed old photos... we were just in heaven. In the evening, the garden was full of candles and dinner was served under very big date palms. It was totally magic. I loved the fact that it was a set menu, diverse, fresh and flavored. That the tables were covered with roses and candles. That we could hear the birds. That we felt that nothing was artificial there. Nothing touristy.
It is a very special place. One can feel that it was made and designed by the owners, whose personal house is at the end of the property. Every thing is coherent.. I am into the design business and am obsessed with style. There was nothing to say ! Staff, style, design, food, activities, concierge services, all was impeccable but low key and understated. We met other guests. There was a London family, the mother said that they discovered the place 2 years ago and were already back for the 4th time. There was a nice group of New Yorkers who said that so many of their friends had been to parties there, that they had to come and check the place for their joint birthdays to come. I understand why people become so loyal to the place. It has no formality and yet is very elegant. All that you ask is possible and done. It was a truly perfect holidays. Next time we are coming with more friends.

Room Tip: Garden rooms were very spacious. Place was too busy for us to see any other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaptal9, Owner at Jnane Tamsna, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to review your very recent stay. When you book through agencies, they do not charge on top of the price. It is the same public prices published every where that you pay and that you paid. Indeed our famous gardens are suffering from a general drought these days. As you have seen it is extremely hot, and there is the desert wind called chergui blowing sand and dust all over the Palmeraie. It is also Ramadan, and the slow check-in you experienced (and that I do apologise for) was linked to the fact that the reception person had fasted all day and was probably a bit slow to move then. No water no food for about 12 hours a day in 45 degrees and plus... We do apologise for the fact that you experienced holidays in a very hot week, a very tired moment for people doing their religious fasting and that there was the sandy wind. I remember that our place was warmly recommended to you by friends of yours who came at another moment of the year.
Totally uninformed that you were coming with two children who were between 9 and 12, I guess.. We graciously offered you 2 free beds with their included breakfasts, soft drinks, pressing and laundry. Nothing of this was charged. I do hope that the future will give us opportunities to come back to our place and see it under the eyes of your friends who recommended it. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We were eager to take a cooking class while in morocco and chanced upon the cooking class offered by Janane Tamsna. It was one of our best experiences while in Morocco. The cooking group itself was small- it was my husband and I and two other families of 4.. So a total of 10!
The cooking class was held in a big kitchen within one of the villas and each person had an individual cooking station. It is a cooking class and not a cooking demo, which makes it an even better experience.
Our cooking instructor was a personable Moroccon lady who made the class even more interesting by giving us relevant information about Moroccan culture, food and cooking. The owners of Janane Tamsna, a lovely couple, stopped by to interact with all of us and were around when we actually ate what we cooked.
What we set out to make: fish filos, chicken tagine and moroccan tea. Given that I don't eat fish, our cooking instructor showed me how to make vegetarian filos. She also got each one of us to make a different type of chicken tagine using both sweet and savory ingredients like potatoes, onions, apricots, etc. By the time we were done, we had 10 different tagines that we all got to share.
The interaction and ambiance created in the cooking class was great. At the end of the 3 hours, all ten of us found ourselves sitting together on one table, sharing the tagines and bottles of wine over a leisurely lunch. Made for a wonderful morning and afternoon spent! Highly recommend when in Marrakech.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaptal9, Owner at Jnane Tamsna, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear "young chef"

Thank you for your warm words describing so well what our cooking classes are about. Our chef Bahija is a charismatic young Moroccan who has been with us for 15 years, during which she has been on cooking programs on German, English, French and American TV.
In all cultures, cooking is about the warmth of sharing. We try to express that by the way the class is set and then the produces are shared.
We hope to see you again in Jnane Tamsna and that you have cooked Moroccan food at home.
With kind regards
Meryanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

My first time in Morocco - I was so excited not knowing what to expect ! I had gotten a tip of one of my freinds, to visit Jnane Tamsna, so I did. I was me and my teenager son - coming for one week. It was above all expectations, service was top notch, the food so delicious ... and all around us beautiful beautiful architectural styles of buildings, with amazing art all over the place !! so green and flower- filled, with botanical gardens all over, and lot´s of palmtrees ....
We enjoyed it to the fullest ! So if you are going to Morocco, don´t hesitate to stay at Jnane Tamsna, you simply must experience this wonderful place !

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaptal9, Owner at Jnane Tamsna, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We very much look forward to your return. It was a pleasure hosting guests so curious, interested and respectful about the local culture and environment.

"Feeling at home" is what we try to provide, many thanks for naming your review that way.. !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed twice at Jnane Tamsna. The 1st time for 3 nights. Our best friend had taken it over for her 50th and it was magical. From the meals being served every day in a different place of their gorgeous gardens, to the hundreds of roses, the exquisite food and thousands of candles in the garden, all was just like a dream from breakfasts to dinners. Then we travelled for 6 days in Morocco and came back to Jnane Tamsna for our final 3 nights, since we had been too busy before to visit much of this old and beautiful city.
First of all, Jnane is at the perfect distance from the Medina, where you do not want to stay if you are looking for relaxing nights, space and vegetation. The old Medina is buzzing with exotic sounds, smells, colors but there is too much traffic, too much pollution to make it an enjoyable experience once you have finished visiting the old palaces and famous markets.
Then, after 6 days of tagines and cousous around the country,it was fantastic to come back to Jnane fresh vegetables from the garden, flavored modern fresh food and excellent home cooking.
Then the design, the talent of its gracious owner has been celebrated in the best magazines world wide for decades and she is indeed very good.
She has created a place where you just feel fine, happy and disconnected ! A serene and exciting atmosphere which has the magic of a private home, an elegant private home and not an ' over designed' boutique hotel like many we stayed at around the world.
Then the staff, we spoke to some and they had all been there for years, this must be adding to the magic of the place and the general happy vibes you can feel.
Free wifi all over, make you realise how much there is no need for a TV in room, impeccable laundry and pressing included in the room rate, vegetables and fruits juices upon our numerous requests were never charged.
The tennis coach was very good, the yoga teacher too, the massages were spot on. What is there to add ? We would love to go back and we will next time we go to Europe. It makes it a very short extension... The closest exotic one. We ran into a lot of guests who have been going there for years... We are definitely joining the club.

Room Tip: We found the standard one called Celadon very cosy and romantic. We also stayed in the beautiful Afr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Jnane Tamsna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jnane Tamsna

Address: Douar Abiad | La Palmeraie, Marrakech 40007, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#60 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Jnane Tamsna 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The latest creation of Meryanne Loum-Martin, Jnane Tamsna comprises three houses - Jnane House, Moussafir House and Dar Ylane - with a total of 17 bedrooms within a walled garden. The property is located in a protected palm grove with spectacular views. The houses blend traditional interior courtyard architecture with the space, light and vegetation typical of the Palmeraie. Jnane Tamsa offers a romantic way to discover Marrakech and understand why it has become a legend. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, MrandMrsSmith, BookingOdigeoWL and TripOnline SA so you can book your Jnane Tamsna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jnane Tamsna Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jnane Tamsna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.