We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure bliss” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jnane Tamsna

Save Saved
You added Jnane Tamsna to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Jnane Tamsna
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Douar Abiad | La Palmeraie, Marrakech 40007, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #158 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Dusseldorf
2 reviews
“Pure bliss”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We did not follow the advice of friends and had booked 4 nights in the Medina first and then at Jnane Tamsna. After 2 nights in the Medina we rushed to the Palmeraie and Jnane Tamsna. As beautiful and exotic as the Medina is, it was noisy, polluted and very claustrophobic. We were looking for a relaxing and exciting escape and Jnane Tamsna was beyond our expectations. Location is ideal, 15 minutes drive from the Medina but in a lush and old garden. The interiors are very elegant without ever being ostentatious or over the top. The food was fresh and full of flavor. Obviously made every day according to the menu of the day. Fruit and vegetable juices were spot on. The staff is friendly. The service is attentive. The day we arrived it was quiet enough so we could choose our room. We visited 4 and we did not know which one to choose, all different and all beautiful. I liked the sense of privacy as the grounds are vast and there are several pools. I liked the quality of guests we met there. Well travelled, excellent company and way too sophisticated to ever be arrogant or pompous. The whole stay worked like magic on our stressed minds and bodies ! We are going back next winter.

Room Tip: We liked them all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    160
    12
    11
    9
    12
See reviews for
62
62
10
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Jnane was recommended to us by a friend, and i suppose that now , after staying at Jnane we are in debt forever. We had a wonderful stay and were mesmerized by the beauty of the gardens, the smiles and service of the staff , the taste and smell of the food, the attention paid to the interior and the rooms. And all of this , in a warm and comforting way as if at home . Not to mention swimming pools, your laundry being done( ok , that's not like home.....), flowers in your room . Samira asking if she can help you. It is an experience truly. One that makes you feel special and fortunate.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaptal9, Owner at Jnane Tamsna, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you so much for the lovely way you expressed your time with us... and enjoyed thoroughly what we are about..

We so much look forward to your return..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We were staying at friends in Essaouira and visiting Morocco for the second time when we decided to go to Marrakech. We overheard in a restaurant a group of people raving about their stay in Marrakech and we asked them where to stay. They said Jnane Tamsna, we go there every year. We emailed the same night and were immediately answered a very welcoming and precise message about availability. Obviously not one of these automatic answers. 3 days later we were there. I'll try to be short because there is so much to say about how we loved it, felt pampered, welcome and happy.
The grounds, beautiful and natural seem to have always been there. We know a lot about ecology and loved the fact that all plants seemed native.Nothing looked artificial, hundreds of old date palms, olive trees, rosemary, vegetables.The whole place had a very organic feel to it and a fantastic sense of place. Just like the architecture and the interiors. Elegant but not pompous, old photos, beautiful art, old rugs, antiques and a lot of things designed by the owner. The food was delicious, a good break from tagines and couscous which we had found repetitive in many other places. Inspired by Morocco and by the taste of the owners, who are very Cosmopolitan and obviously well travelled.
The service was very attentive, friendly but professional. We had good massages, yoga, cooking class - remarkable- a well informed guide. As much as I try, I really can't find a thing we did not like there. The location is also perfect, because it is an oasis of about 8 or 9 acres, 15 minutes away from the Medina. As exotic and intriguing as the Medina is, it is noisy, polluted and way too claustrophobic to our taste. Every night the dinner setting looked like a fairy tale, candles in the garden, abundant folhage and roses and the birdsong,the birdsong, the birdsong !!! So loud and romantic, that at first we were joking thinking it was recorded... It was not at all ... What is so fantastic about this place is that it has nothing a hotel offers : no TV, no formal lobby but instead a gorgeous sitting room, no a la carte menu, but a very diverse table d'hotes with fresh produces picked up in front of you while you have breakfast in the garden.
I would try to summarise it as the ultimate lifestyle experience if you are about discreet elegance, true well being away from artificial luxury, boring formality and social pressure that so many hotels impose. We are going back, I will have my big birthday there next year and we are taking over the 24 bedrooms. I can t wait to share the experience with all our friends.

Room Tip: We had a charming standard room, the Celadon, a large room the Indian and a garden room the Beige. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We've been going to the Jnane for over 6 years now and every time is a delight. It really is like going home. The same staff: always helpful, always smiling. Meryanne Loumartin is a hotelier with excellent taste and style: it is as if we are staying at her home. No phones in the rooms; no locks on the doors; no hundred-choices bland menus at meal-times. There is a wonderful garden with many cool places to sneak away and read in, and lots of mini pools dotted all over (but unheated). The kitchen produces delicious food and the local rose keeps one going (but no-one will be horrified if you order chips or ketchup!). And the Medina is only a 20 minute cab ride away.
The Jnane is a hotel for people who'd rather not stay in one. Unplug your phone/computer and enter into a more relaxed and laid back way of life.

Room Tip: There are rooms in the main building which are good if you have children as they are near the dinnin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

In the midst of the palm-filled desert at the outskirts of Marrakech lies the oasis that is Jnane Tamsna. I came here with my wife on a short break (part of our honeymoon) and it was absolutely perfect! Even with the attractions of the city centre so close, we hardly left the hotel. Why would you, when the three course 'table d'hotes' meals (organic, straight-from-the-garden, and served with casual and understated elegance) are so delicious, when the pools are so refreshing, when the gardens are so lush, and the overall experience so peaceful? We especially revelled in the privacy offered in the hotel: even when it was full, we always found lovely secluded spots for quiet tete-a-tetes. We really enjoyed eating both lunch and dinner outside in the shade of the olive trees or in the romantic courtyard. Besides all the wonderful things we have to say about the food, the location, the gardens and the fabulous interior decoration, the experience would not have been what it was without the presence of Gary, Meryanne, and their two brilliant children. The family are so welcoming, engaging and take a personal interest in every single guest - they were are the best kinds of hosts and we truly had the time of our lives. I would recommend it as the number one choice for anyone - single, in a couple, or with a family in tow - in Marrakech!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Set in nine landscaped acres within a private estate, Jnane Tamsna offers a total of 24 ensuite bedrooms spread over three properties: Jnane House, Jnane Moussafir and Jnane Villa. There are two large and two small meeting rooms as well as numerous sitting rooms, dining areas and outdoor spaces. The grounds feature five pools and a clay surface tennis court. Jnane Tamsna adopts a minimalist approach to Oriental splendour. Elements of traditional Moroccan style and colour have been adapted to achieve a peaceful, contemporary look. The cuisine is a fusion of Moroccan and modern European, using local produce sourced wherever possible from Jnane Tamsna's organic gardens. From individual rooms to exclusive villa rental, Jnane Tamsna offers a rare flexibility. As a private or corporate venue, it blends the large capacity usually only offered by hotels and the absolute intimacy, first-class food and fine service of the best private homes. - See more at: http://jnane.com

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We read about this on Lonely Planet as we needed a pool to dip into with the 45 degree heat and decided on this one. It was AMAZING, we felt like we were in paradise. Within 24hrs we came back again to spend the entire day by the pool, with a 3 course lunch and a lovely Casablanca wine. We also has the chance to meet the owner Meryanne, who was so welcoming and kind. We are already planning to come back in October. If I could live there I would, that's how fantastic it is.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Jnane Tamsna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jnane Tamsna

Address: Douar Abiad | La Palmeraie, Marrakech 40007, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#61 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Jnane Tamsna 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The latest creation of Meryanne Loum-Martin, Jnane Tamsna comprises three houses - Jnane House, Moussafir House and Dar Ylane - with a total of 17 bedrooms within a walled garden. The property is located in a protected palm grove with spectacular views. The houses blend traditional interior courtyard architecture with the space, light and vegetation typical of the Palmeraie. Jnane Tamsa offers a romantic way to discover Marrakech and understand why it has become a legend. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, MrandMrsSmith, BookingOdigeoWL and TripOnline SA so you can book your Jnane Tamsna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jnane Tamsna Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jnane Tamsna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.