We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Moroccan heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jnane Tamsna

Save Saved
You added Jnane Tamsna to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Jnane Tamsna
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Douar Abiad | La Palmeraie, Marrakech 40007, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #156 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Canterbury, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“A Moroccan heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

In the midst of the palm-filled desert at the outskirts of Marrakech lies the oasis that is Jnane Tamsna. I came here with my wife on a short break (part of our honeymoon) and it was absolutely perfect! Even with the attractions of the city centre so close, we hardly left the hotel. Why would you, when the three course 'table d'hotes' meals (organic, straight-from-the-garden, and served with casual and understated elegance) are so delicious, when the pools are so refreshing, when the gardens are so lush, and the overall experience so peaceful? We especially revelled in the privacy offered in the hotel: even when it was full, we always found lovely secluded spots for quiet tete-a-tetes. We really enjoyed eating both lunch and dinner outside in the shade of the olive trees or in the romantic courtyard. Besides all the wonderful things we have to say about the food, the location, the gardens and the fabulous interior decoration, the experience would not have been what it was without the presence of Gary, Meryanne, and their two brilliant children. The family are so welcoming, engaging and take a personal interest in every single guest - they were are the best kinds of hosts and we truly had the time of our lives. I would recommend it as the number one choice for anyone - single, in a couple, or with a family in tow - in Marrakech!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    162
    12
    11
    9
    12
See reviews for
63
62
11
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Set in nine landscaped acres within a private estate, Jnane Tamsna offers a total of 24 ensuite bedrooms spread over three properties: Jnane House, Jnane Moussafir and Jnane Villa. There are two large and two small meeting rooms as well as numerous sitting rooms, dining areas and outdoor spaces. The grounds feature five pools and a clay surface tennis court. Jnane Tamsna adopts a minimalist approach to Oriental splendour. Elements of traditional Moroccan style and colour have been adapted to achieve a peaceful, contemporary look. The cuisine is a fusion of Moroccan and modern European, using local produce sourced wherever possible from Jnane Tamsna's organic gardens. From individual rooms to exclusive villa rental, Jnane Tamsna offers a rare flexibility. As a private or corporate venue, it blends the large capacity usually only offered by hotels and the absolute intimacy, first-class food and fine service of the best private homes. - See more at: http://jnane.com

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We read about this on Lonely Planet as we needed a pool to dip into with the 45 degree heat and decided on this one. It was AMAZING, we felt like we were in paradise. Within 24hrs we came back again to spend the entire day by the pool, with a 3 course lunch and a lovely Casablanca wine. We also has the chance to meet the owner Meryanne, who was so welcoming and kind. We are already planning to come back in October. If I could live there I would, that's how fantastic it is.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Just got back from three weeks in Africa, with 8 days in Marrakesh. Jnane Tamsna is peaceful, tranquil, and we want to return. My husband, a retired Navy Admiral and I found this resort in the American Airlines flight magazine. We added it on to our two week Kenya and Tanzania safari.

I just read a troubling review on the property, and felt I owe it to MerryAnn Martin, owner of Jnane Tamsna, to give a proper, honest review of the property.

First, Mary Ann was on the property every day with her beloved dog "Diva" trailing with her. She lives on the property, and made sure each day that all our needs we being met. Gary, her husband, is a renowned ethnobotanist, and in Brazil right now currenty working on a project.

Comments on the food:

Breakfast: Each morning my husband would go for coffee at about 6 to 7. As the site says, there really isn't a dining room. You can request any meal under trees, as we did frequently.

We usually ate in the courtyard, with the other travelers. At breakfast each day, we found a lovely fresh fruit, yogurt, toast, cereal buffet set up for starters, placed on a lovely white linen table clothe. Each day the buffet was set up in a different way to create interest. Fresh watermellon, mellons, pears, with citrus. Also, a large bowl of fruits that had been soaked in great Moroccan herbs. (One morning when I had a headache, they brought a tray to the room with incredible coffee they bring in from Italy, plus croissants, jams, et al.)

After enjoying the buffet, a plate of Moroccan pancakes, croissants, plus a medley of jellys, we were asked what we would like. Eggs of any kind were made available. And the waiter went out of his way to make sure we were accommodated. The only thing we did't have at breakfast was pork, and I assume that it was that the staff are Muslim. We surely did not miss it!

We told the staff in the morning if we would be eating at the property for lunch and dinner, and also the time we wanted it.

Lunch: The first couple of days we enjoyed a salad, or fresh soup, followed by either grilled fish, chicken or lamb. The vegetables were incredible. As we were traveling for over three weeks, we decided to forgo the heavy lunches and requested just salads. Each day we found our salads different with fresh greens and vegetables. One day it was a tuna salad with the most wonderful tuna we had ever had. Wonderful Rose's, whites and reds, it was a treat.

Dinner: If you want something special, ask. Our last night I requested an Osso Bucco type dish we had had on another evening. And it was Turkey! Topped with a wonderful Moroccan sauce and cured lemon. Herbed carrots and potatoes rounded it off.
Desserts each night of fruit, cheeses, "floating island."

The kitchen: I visited the kitchen each day, it is off the main courtyard, with glass on all sides. You can clearly see the food preparations. Clean, with tanginess simmering with wonderful smells. One day I saw the women separating what seems to be a collection of weeds. I motioned that I would like to know what they were doing. They picked apart a bunch of greens, that had just been picked from the ground, and offered me one. I ate the small dark green leaf, and found a taste I had never experienced. It grows wild on the property and is a delightful addition to the salads. In being curious and open, we found new and different things.

My bachelors degree is in Interior Design. Naturally I was curious as to MaryAnns style. Authentic, with waxed walls, Berber rugs, and furniture. I was intrigued with the brass bolts on the doors, and even bought a big one in the Medina for our front door here at home. No, there are no keys to the doors as you bolt yourself in from the inside when desired. Safety was never an issue. We left out iPhones and iPad charging when we were out and were Never worried about security.

Each day Samirya or her colleague would have drivers pick us up for outings we requested. One day to a 5 star resort 5 mins. away for a Hamman visit. Fabulous! Another day we had a Global Diversion guide take us for an educational tour. A cooking class was booked however, that was the day I stayed in bed with a headache. Another day we joined a couple from London on a day trip to the Atlas Mountains for lunch at a Casbah.

Given there are five pools, we never had a problem finding a lounge to enjoy with a cool dip. Plenty of magazines and books available. Surrounded by trees and greenery well planned by Gary, shade was available when wanted. My husband enjoyed photo ops of all the birds on the property. The only sounds we ever heard were the call to prayers. Other than that, peaceful and calm.

We so enjoy meeting people and made many friend from afar. Especially noted, a traveling ethnobotanist colleague of Gary's visited as his son-in-law presented a paper in Marrakesh. We enjoyed getting to know him and his wife, daughter, granddaughter, and son-in-law.

The last night we were there, MaryAnne did us the favor of sitting with us at dinner and conversing until 11:30pm. We would have loved to hear more, but gave in and said good-bye. We found her to be a genuine person, interested in hosting those that want to experience Marrakesh. A fond of information.

To those who travel with designer clothes, bags, jewels, and expectations of "western style high-end", go elsewhere. No pretention here, I left all those things at home! Jnane Tamsna appeals to those who desire culture, well traveled folks, and excellent food and service.
We know of international high profile guests at Jnane Tamsna, and their privacy is guarantied.
Go, you will love it.

Room Tip: We were in a Garden room with private patio. The rooms are almost sound proof.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Londres
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

If you expect tropical lush green lawns and waterfalls go to Costa rica, not a desert. Here you will get the best of a dry climate, lush vegetation that does not destroy the planet and beautiful pools, privacy and a sense of stylish luxury.
When you arrive MaryAnne or Samira (her secretary) will organise a taxi to pick you up and you are greeted by an orange facade with a small path with a palm tree in the middle, obviously trees are too precious here to cut down and shade is cultivated and nurtured.
The hotel is low key luxury, health conscious and ethically minded, copper sinks are cleaned with lemons grown on the estate, no harsh chemicals, you are surrounded by vegetable gardens and flowers and trees so you might read about occasional bugs (we saw a spider) the place is super clean but there are birds everywhere, tortoises in the grass, so you also see lots of little wildlife.
Our room was on the ground floor on the courtyard with shade and a little pond , quiet and pleasant nicely decorated, a comfortable bed and open doors on a semi private terrace with really comfy sofas. The kids were in another room simpler but it did the job, we also visited rooms upstairs bigger and possibly nicer as they communicated so perfect for families.
The whole place is very kids friendly our 7 year old eats like us so salad as starter then a meat/fish dish with couscous/rice and vegetables. Deconstructed couscous dishes or wonderful tagines light and not oily perfect for the health conscious. Deserts were also lovely with orange blossom creams or simply fruit, they were light and delicious. Everything had a flavor of the Magreb, and we knew we were in Morrocco but how Morrocco should be in a perfect world, how we dreamed in would be a spring evening under the stars...

There are classes for kids but they need you to push to have them organised but they are quite pleasant and kids love running free in the gardens in total safety. Our daughter made a friend (not all guests are friendly and I suggest you choose wisely who you attempt to be friendly with with) and explored everywhere danced on the roof tops and ran under the palm trees. You can rent bikes and ride outside the grounds, there is a nice village to walk around and Gary can give you a botany course... lots of things to keep adults and children busy.
Otherwise staff is really friendly and helpful, Gary drove the parents of a sick child at 2 am to the hospital because the infant had drunk bath water and threw up (kid is fine by the way), Ismael in the restaurant is always smiling and helpful and I want to say the cooking class was difficult to book but really worth it. The cooking teacher was amazing very friendly she speaks French English a bit of German and Spanish. She was very kind to our daughter and explained everything thoroughly then we had our dishes for lunch and they were amazing . Our oldest son now knows how to cook ! Maryanne promotes local crafts and supports many families in the area the staff is truely wonderful (no keys on the doors everything and everyone is safe as if they were at home).
Ok I highly recommend the hotel my only (tiny) complaint was breakfast, the carrot juice was more water than carrots and no fruit or a fruit salad of apples (???) and a nice muesli but no variety or sense of plenty. There was an omelette bar but for those not into eggs no alternative. So that is my only complaint.
So in short a really great hotel, expensive but I believe it was worth it. If style and comfort are not enough remember this hotel justifies itself for the good it is doing local industry, it is well worth it for philosophical reasons alone.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Jane Tamsna is one of those rare finds in a sea of Riads and resorts in Marrakesh. If you like to find peace, relaxations, and feel like a super star then this is the Eden you are looking for. The owners and staff are all the at the top when it comes to meeting your needs and making you feel welcome. Everything from the most comfortable beds, sheets and exquisitely decorated rooms to the grounds you can wander and explore at your leisure, to even a camel brought to the front entrance for a ride through the Palmerarie surrounding the resort. The meals are beautifully presented using the harvested fruits and vegetables from the gardens that make up the grounds and are fresh and delicious. You are close to the busy city center but yet in a place of quiet. There is no better place to spend your time and make a home away from home.

Room Tip: They are all beautiful. The staff will help graciously help you with picking the right one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Where do i begin? Heaven on earth would be a great start, amazing staff, amazing gardens, amazing people ( meryanne, gary and family), amazing pools, and amazing mint tea ;)

The only downside is that if you go you will never want to return :)

Really near to the medina but peaceful enough to escape the city.

My second home :) x

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jnane Tamsna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jnane Tamsna

Address: Douar Abiad | La Palmeraie, Marrakech 40007, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Jnane Tamsna 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The latest creation of Meryanne Loum-Martin, Jnane Tamsna comprises three houses - Jnane House, Moussafir House and Dar Ylane - with a total of 17 bedrooms within a walled garden. The property is located in a protected palm grove with spectacular views. The houses blend traditional interior courtyard architecture with the space, light and vegetation typical of the Palmeraie. Jnane Tamsa offers a romantic way to discover Marrakech and understand why it has become a legend. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, MrandMrsSmith, TripOnline SA and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Jnane Tamsna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jnane Tamsna Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jnane Tamsna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.