We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply my favorite hotel in the world!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jnane Tamsna

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Jnane Tamsna to your Saves list
Jnane Tamsna
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Douar Abiad | La Palmeraie, Marrakech 40007, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #135 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
madrid
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Simply my favorite hotel in the world!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

Great for families. Beautiful grounds, organic food, design, art, amazing. Meryanne and her American husband Gary go out of their way to organize trips, activities, meals. Total luxury. I think Brad Pitt stayed there. Even if you cant afford to stay tvere go for a yummy meal. Do a cooking class or make homemade soap with herbs from their garden. We loved having our own house and pool. The kids loved tve turtle!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    12
    13
    9
    12
See reviews for
70
64
11
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Jnane Tamsna for a little less than a week. It is a very romantic and peaceful property, surrounded by vegetable gardens landscaped in a very natural way. The location is beautiful, very quiet yet conveniently close to Marrakech. The service was impeccable and very friendly, the staff accommodated all of our needs at all times and made us feel at home. The owner is a great host who knows how to manage every little detail of her client's stay. Each room has distinct character and is decorated with incredible taste. We loved having lunch al fresco under olive trees, tasting vegetables from the property's garden and drinking mint tea by the fireplace in our room. We look forward to visiting again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We have become big fans of Jnane Tamsna and have stayed there many times. This time we came back for some sunshine and relaxation during the winter season (our plane had to be de-iced when we left Amsterdam). It was great and we have decided to do this every year. Upon arrival we were greeted by the same staff that has been around for years, a testimony to both Meryanne, the owner, and Jnane Tamsna. It felt like coming home.

We spent our days between reading books in the sun, having delicious lunches and sitting by the fire place at night eating our diner. Staying at Jnane feels like staying at the house of a good friend (with a smiling staff and 5 swimming pools..). We always leave Jnane inspired and full of good memories. This year they opened a bike track through the Palmeraie which is great for going on a walk and I would definitely recommend doing this.

What makes Jnane really different from the other places in the Palmeraie is the relaxed feel about it. It feels luxurious yet at the same time very grounded and real. Thanks to Meryanne's husband Gary, who is a renowned ethno botanist, the gardens are very lush. It is all done with respect to local vegetation and a minimal amount of water use, which makes it even more impressive. You can see people working on the vegetable plots under palm trees. All the houses are all very tastefully decorated, but it never becomes stuffy. Meryanne has a talent for effortless flair.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We have visited this hotel twice and love it. Very relaxing with lovely rooms and surroundings. Teh staff our lovely and attentive without being intrusive. Food is delicious too. No menus but we have never been disappointed. We love Marrakech and this is one of our favourite places.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed in Jnane Tamsna in a quiet week in January. The hotel was silent - just us and another couple.
We loved the atmosphere, the ambiance and the food. Overall our staying was lovely - until we found out we had lost over 2000 dhr (200 euro) cash. The money was in our wallet in the room. We should have never left our wallet in the room - nevertheless we were shocked that this happened in a hotel like Jnane Tamsna. After reporting the money got lost we were even more shocked about the reaction of the manager. 'This never happens here, the money most be somewhere'. Well,we were asked to pay for our staying in cash and we only went out for a hick without the wallet... So the money must have been taken out the wallet. Our complaint was not taken seriously and the we had to pay for a taxi to bring us to another cash machine.
Very unfortunate since the ambiance there was great.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaptal9, Owner at Jnane Tamsna, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for your positive comments about your stay. Just to clarify, our guests may pay either in cash or with a credit card. Some guests prefer to benefit from a lower rate by paying in cash to avoid the credit card processing fee. We were sorry to hear about your loss. All our rooms have safes for keeping personal belongings, and we are always happy to assist guests who want to leave larger valuables in the hotel safe at the reception. We apologise for the inadequate response of Brahim, the reception manager, who has been with us for 12 years and is (fortunately) unaccustomed to dealing with such an incident.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Stayed at Jnane Tamsna for a few days. From the rooms to the gardens, it is designed and decorated with taste, which come directly from the owners.

i liked how the place was very green. it stands like an oasis in a landscape that pretty much looked like desert with only date palm trees around. I believe most of the food comes directly from the gardens of Jnane.

there is very little traffic that passes by one distant side of the gardens, hence the tranquility was a treat. I suggest grabbing the seat by the fireplace on chilly nights, for a comfortable and cozy chat'n drinks.

if you like to have the modern luxury, perhaps it's not the right place for you, though. I find it as part of the character of the place that there was no tv in the rooms, for example. But, I don't go on holiday in such a place to watch tv.

If you drop your laundry in the basket in your room, you will be surprized how fast your clothes come back clean and folded neatly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaptal9, Owner at Jnane Tamsna, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your kind comment about our place and mentioning the speed and quality of our laundry service. I hope that we will have the pleasure to see you for a longer stay next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, MI
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Recently stayed at Jnane Tamsna for our wedding and can't say enough good things about our party and the stay!
After disappointing meals at several of the most highly rated Marrakech restaurants, we found the food at Jnane Tamsna to be the best of our trip. We were delighted to attend the tanjine cooking class with the wonderful chef Bahija and happy to learn how to create delicious moroccan salads and tanjines to share with our friends at home. She also made the best chicken pastilla we have ever eaten for dinner our first night there.
Meryanne, the owner of Jnane Tamsna, made a fantastic effort coordinating our intimate wedding and planning for a beautiful day. My husband and I were both so impressed by all the personal touches she added to make our day more magical and special than we could have ever imagined.
Meryanne also arranged a day-trip for us to the High Atlas mountains, which was by far the best excursion that we had during our time in Morocco.
Our room was beautiful, spacious, and tastefully decorated. The gardens around the hotel and pool are a relaxing, quiet place to unwind from the wildness in the medina.
We appreciated all the personal attention from the friendly and accommodating staff. Several english speaking staff made our time at Jnane easier.
We wish we had spent more of our time in Morocco at Jnane Tamsna, it was such a unique place.
Thanks to Meryanne and all the friendly staff for making our dream wedding in Morocco a reality!

Room Tip: Meryanne was very helpful recommending the best room for us - get in touch directly to ensure the be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaptal9, Owner at Jnane Tamsna, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your kind comment about our place and mentioning the speed and quality of our laundry service. I hope that we will have the pleasure to see you for a longer stay next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jnane Tamsna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jnane Tamsna

Address: Douar Abiad | La Palmeraie, Marrakech 40007, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#55 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Jnane Tamsna 5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The latest creation of Meryanne Loum-Martin, Jnane Tamsna comprises three houses - Jnane House, Moussafir House and Dar Ylane - with a total of 17 bedrooms within a walled garden. The property is located in a protected palm grove with spectacular views. The houses blend traditional interior courtyard architecture with the space, light and vegetation typical of the Palmeraie. Jnane Tamsa offers a romantic way to discover Marrakech and understand why it has become a legend. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Jnane Tamsna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jnane Tamsna Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jnane Tamsna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.