We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely but service lacks” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Jnane Tamsna

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Jnane Tamsna to your Saves list
Jnane Tamsna
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Douar Abiad | La Palmeraie, Marrakech 40007, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #160 of 462 Hotels in Marrakech
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely but service lacks”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed in Jnane Tamsna in a quiet week in January. The hotel was silent - just us and another couple.
We loved the atmosphere, the ambiance and the food. Overall our staying was lovely - until we found out we had lost over 2000 dhr (200 euro) cash. The money was in our wallet in the room. We should have never left our wallet in the room - nevertheless we were shocked that this happened in a hotel like Jnane Tamsna. After reporting the money got lost we were even more shocked about the reaction of the manager. 'This never happens here, the money most be somewhere'. Well,we were asked to pay for our staying in cash and we only went out for a hick without the wallet... So the money must have been taken out the wallet. Our complaint was not taken seriously and the we had to pay for a taxi to bring us to another cash machine.
Very unfortunate since the ambiance there was great.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaptal9, Owner at Jnane Tamsna, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for your positive comments about your stay. Just to clarify, our guests may pay either in cash or with a credit card. Some guests prefer to benefit from a lower rate by paying in cash to avoid the credit card processing fee. We were sorry to hear about your loss. All our rooms have safes for keeping personal belongings, and we are always happy to assist guests who want to leave larger valuables in the hotel safe at the reception. We apologise for the inadequate response of Brahim, the reception manager, who has been with us for 12 years and is (fortunately) unaccustomed to dealing with such an incident.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    12
    13
    9
    12
See reviews for
66
64
11
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Stayed at Jnane Tamsna for a few days. From the rooms to the gardens, it is designed and decorated with taste, which come directly from the owners.

i liked how the place was very green. it stands like an oasis in a landscape that pretty much looked like desert with only date palm trees around. I believe most of the food comes directly from the gardens of Jnane.

there is very little traffic that passes by one distant side of the gardens, hence the tranquility was a treat. I suggest grabbing the seat by the fireplace on chilly nights, for a comfortable and cozy chat'n drinks.

if you like to have the modern luxury, perhaps it's not the right place for you, though. I find it as part of the character of the place that there was no tv in the rooms, for example. But, I don't go on holiday in such a place to watch tv.

If you drop your laundry in the basket in your room, you will be surprized how fast your clothes come back clean and folded neatly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaptal9, Owner at Jnane Tamsna, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your kind comment about our place and mentioning the speed and quality of our laundry service. I hope that we will have the pleasure to see you for a longer stay next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, MI
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Recently stayed at Jnane Tamsna for our wedding and can't say enough good things about our party and the stay!
After disappointing meals at several of the most highly rated Marrakech restaurants, we found the food at Jnane Tamsna to be the best of our trip. We were delighted to attend the tanjine cooking class with the wonderful chef Bahija and happy to learn how to create delicious moroccan salads and tanjines to share with our friends at home. She also made the best chicken pastilla we have ever eaten for dinner our first night there.
Meryanne, the owner of Jnane Tamsna, made a fantastic effort coordinating our intimate wedding and planning for a beautiful day. My husband and I were both so impressed by all the personal touches she added to make our day more magical and special than we could have ever imagined.
Meryanne also arranged a day-trip for us to the High Atlas mountains, which was by far the best excursion that we had during our time in Morocco.
Our room was beautiful, spacious, and tastefully decorated. The gardens around the hotel and pool are a relaxing, quiet place to unwind from the wildness in the medina.
We appreciated all the personal attention from the friendly and accommodating staff. Several english speaking staff made our time at Jnane easier.
We wish we had spent more of our time in Morocco at Jnane Tamsna, it was such a unique place.
Thanks to Meryanne and all the friendly staff for making our dream wedding in Morocco a reality!

Room Tip: Meryanne was very helpful recommending the best room for us - get in touch directly to ensure the be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaptal9, Owner at Jnane Tamsna, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your kind comment about our place and mentioning the speed and quality of our laundry service. I hope that we will have the pleasure to see you for a longer stay next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Recently travelled in Morocco for the 5th time. First time in Jnane Tamsna. I am going back there next time. Vast gardens, looking very natural. Hundreds of date palms, olive trees. Strong sense of place. Had stayed in hotels before where when you sit by the pool, you could really be anywhere in the world. There you are definitely in Morocco and in an oasis, mixing agriculture and century old trees. Room was very nice, very personal.The day I arrived it was slow and they kindly gave me the choice between 4 rooms. I did not know which one to choose. 48 hours later the place was full, but remained as peaceful. Main noise was birdsong. Food was very good, fresh, varied, healthy. You should know that they have opted for a set menu with 2 choices for dinners. But I really wanted to eat a Moroccan specialty I had heard about and they did it for me. You just have to ask. Staff very kind and friendly.Once the place was full I noticed several couples who were calling staff members by their names and were obviously regular guests. It added another layer of well being there. Don t expect a hotel with the formality and social pressure that goes with it. This place is a very nice private estate, with style, soul, history and a ' je ne sais quoi' which makes the experience very cool. A true find

Room Tip: There is no fitness centre but the entire Palmgrove to run or to bike. Reception organised a very go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

The surroundings and tranquility are breathtaking and magical. It captures the spirit of Marrakech.

On arrival, we were served with a much-needed delicious meal as we sat out by the poolside.
The room was airy, and full of light with a balcony from which to gaze out at the abundant flora and watch the stunning sunrises and sunsets. Not to mention the incredible scented toiletries made especially for the establishment!

The hotel staff was super friendly and after having been away from home for a while, it was wonderful to stay at a place that felt not like a hotel, but a cozy home. I loved reclining in the salon during the evenings sipping fresh mint tea .The décor was splendid and the hearty meals felt home cooked. The breakfast with the assortment of cheeses and dried fruits was simply the best.

The scents of jasmine, rosemary and orange blossoms are intoxicating. I would recommend this hotel for all those who want the real feel of being in an oasis. I loved the fact that it was out of the city centre.

I will return.

Room Tip: When booking do be specific about the location of the room and if you want a balcony of verandah.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portugal
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

You can be easily deceived by first impressions of this hotel, especially if you arrive at night. The architecture and interior design is very nice to look at, which is why the place is used for photo shoots (two during our weeks visit) but it really needs a good clean and tidy-up. The price and experience aren't matching. The furniture in the public areas are not comfortable to sit on but the beds and the sun loungers are. In our room we had a basin that flooded the floor and a tiny shower cubicle combined with the toilet which turned into an orthopedic catastrophe waiting to happen. A shower curtain would have made all he difference.

The food is very expensive for what is essentially home cooking; €35 main meal and €17 bottle of wine (no wine list) and there was no sign of organic produce from the garden. I had expected a well established all year round crop rotation vegetable garden from reading the website.

It would have been helpful to have information in the room about emergency / safety procedures especially as the rooms don't have telephones to reception. Other information like spa treatments or recommended trips would have been helpful along with taxi numbers. Make sure you know the price before getting a taxi - they were €30 to the medina and back which is expensive considering its only 7mins away.

Our trip to Marrakesh was to celebrate our 10th anniversary. We did enjoy the peace and quiet at Jnane Tamsna and the pools but we become tired of the incessant pestering by the staff about lunch/dinner at the hotel - consequently dinner recommendations were not that forthcoming which I would expect of an established hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

This hotel really surpassed all our expectations, from the warm welcome we received upon arrival to the heavenly gardens & stylish interior decor. It is a little oasis of calm & tranquility just 20 minutes away from the hectic souks in the Medina so the city centre is within easy reach. We had a gorgeous room in 1 of the houses on the grounds that overlooked 1 of the 5 swimming pools, with a sweet smelling jasmine tree right outside our window. The gardens were gorgeous, growing everything from fig & pomegranate trees to roses & palm trees.
Our room was absolutely lovely - more like a suite - with a glass door separating the bedroom & washroom that was a work of art in itself, cushion heaped sofa, double sinks (very handy for 2 sisters who travel with lots of toiletries!) and a separate toilet/shower room.
The interiors are simply stunning, the place has come straight from the pages of a design magazine, and indeed when we arrived a long fashion shoot was just wrapping up so we were in stylish company! The atmosphere however is completely relaxed, with friendly staff who did everything from bring us refreshments at the pool (without our ever having to ask) to help us get reservations is some great restaurants in town. Not that you'd want to leave the delicious food in the Jnane Tamsna - I'm only sorry our stay there wasn't longer to allow me to do some cooking lessons with their chef. This place is a real gem, I will be back!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool away from the main house - down by the tennis court is lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jnane Tamsna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jnane Tamsna

Address: Douar Abiad | La Palmeraie, Marrakech 40007, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Jnane Tamsna 5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The latest creation of Meryanne Loum-Martin, Jnane Tamsna comprises three houses - Jnane House, Moussafir House and Dar Ylane - with a total of 17 bedrooms within a walled garden. The property is located in a protected palm grove with spectacular views. The houses blend traditional interior courtyard architecture with the space, light and vegetation typical of the Palmeraie. Jnane Tamsa offers a romantic way to discover Marrakech and understand why it has become a legend. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Jnane Tamsna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jnane Tamsna Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jnane Tamsna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.