We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not really good but also good” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Oudaya

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Oudaya to your Saves list
Hotel Oudaya
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   147 Rue Mohammed el Bequal | Gueliz, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #362 of 464 Hotels in Marrakech
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not really good but also good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

I stayed here from 27/7 until 4/8.
And let's say I've had better hotels..
I was with my sister and dad, and first we had a real small room, too small for 3 persons.
We got an other room, luckily, but they should've thought about it before.
Then again the room was not really awesome. Dirty and many things were broken.
The staff was bad, and also where the excursions. We got pick up 2 hours late, and it was much longer drive then they told us it would be, we went back earlier then they told us.
The organization could be a lot better!

I did have fun but i wouldn't go back

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    90
    95
    52
    39
See reviews for
36
110
29
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Basic standard, but solid, rooms not very big but clean, beds comfortable. They have rules about bringing food and beverages to hotel - not allowed, if someone has that kind of rule you imagine that they have wonderful food there, which actually was not amazing.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Stayed for 7 days here 15/7 -22/7
Staff very welcoming and polite. Beware there is a local tax which you will be charged for on arrival. 11dh/day (under £1)
Room - 5th floor with balcony very clean and linen towels changed daily
Pool area has many seats, about 10 sunbeds - kept very clean and good sized pool
Breakfast quite adequate - bread, eggs, pastries, flat breads
Dinner - 3 courses - very meaty (we're veggie) but quite happy to cook omlettes etc- mostly starter and desert was adequate for us.
Good area - no 1 bus to medina, close to Guerliz and numerous cafes and restaurants there
Carrefour 5 min walk
Would definitely stay there again

Room Tip: 5th floor with balcony overlooking pool was good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

The rooms are average. The staff are polite and the receptionist was extremely helpful. It has a nice pool but only about 10 sun beds. My advice is to use the solarium on the roof. There is a shower there and adequate sun beds. During my stay here I was the only person to use the roof whilst everyone else tried to wait for the pool area. The pool area can also become shady unlike the roof.
This hotel forbids you to bring in any food or drink from outside, this would be ok if the hotel itself had a shop or snack bar. The reception are supposed to stop people with their food or drinks entering, but even they agree it's a silly rule and they don't want the grief.
The hotel sells water for lunch and dinner as well as a selection of cold drinks. I have to use the work COLD loosely as they don't seem to put cold drinks into a fridge and when anyone asks for ice cubes they don't have any...weird when your in temperatures in excess of 40 degrees.
Would I stay here again...NO
Did I have a good time...YES

Room Tip: Book another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Oudaya for 7 Nights. We found it very pleasant indeed. It's a gentle half an hour stroll from the main square, and there are many good shops nearby as well as the Jardine Marjorelle. We found the rooms to be clean and comfortable. The food is very basic, but you get what you pay for. There are many other restaurants nearby if you want something more culinary.
The pool is an excellent sun trap for those who want a tan, but there are only 12 sun loungers, so get down early. We found the staff friendly and helpful, they may look a bit grumpy at first, but a smile and a "Bonjour" go a long way to breaking the ice.
This is a budget hotel that has seen better days, however if you want a low cost base to explore Marrakech, this is a good bet.
A word of warning however, when we arrived at 2am, we were presented with a bill for 156dr (around £11). This is apparently a hotel tax. It wasn't mentioned by our operator, nor in any of the literature. It is hotel policy, so don't worry, it's not a scam.
All in all a pleasant budget hotel for those who just want the basics. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

The overall first impression of this hotel was one of being quite good for a central location of Marrakech. Room was presentable, bathroom fine, small balcony overlooking another hotel pool.

Hot water for the shower was an issue, sometimes it worked and sometimes it didn't, but at best took about 10-15 minutes for the hot water to come through, what a waste of water.

Breakfast was good value but the coffee although kept in insulated jugs was cold. We stayed half board and the evening menu was less than good. First night choice of rabbit or fish, my wife likes neither and no alternative offered. The rabbit for me turned out to be the rabbit leg, had difficulty finding any meat on it.

On our last morning we had to leave early, should not be an issue as breakfast starts at 6:30, but upon arriving at 6:45 door was locked, staff member inside was sat down talking to another and gestured for us to take the long walk round to the back entrance to come in, needless to say I didn't and after a couple of minutes he did walk over to open the door.

Overall I would say, a nice quiet hotel, but don't waste your money half board, some lovely small reasonable restaurants close by in which to get evening meal.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

The hotel was great. It was very clean and the staff were friendly and helpful. The food was to a good standard. The hotel is also in near proximity to the tourists attractions, such as the square. There were no real problems with the rooms other than there was a problem with hot water in the shower, for most of our stay it was cold. However this was just a small problem. In all the hotel was great, and we had such an amazing time in Marrakech!! I would recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Oudaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oudaya

Address: 147 Rue Mohammed el Bequal | Gueliz, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #362 of 464 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Oudaya 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, HostelBookers, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Oudaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Oudaya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.