We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful!!!!!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Oudaya

Save Saved
You added Hotel Oudaya to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Oudaya
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   147 Rue Mohammed el Bequal | Gueliz, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #360 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awful!!!!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

Rude staff. Wouldn't even let me bring a bottle of water in off the street as all food and drink has to be purchased on site. A bottle of water!!!! Not a 3 course meal. And when we arrived at 10pm the bar / restaurant wasn't even open!!!! They are also retiling the corridor of the floor we are staying on. So we have to walk around the workman and through the dust. The hotel is 90% empty....why put us on that floor?!!!

Might seem cheap, but certainly not good value.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    80
    80
    47
    36
See reviews for
31
98
25
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is the worst I've ever stayed in. The staff, including management, have absolutely no customer service skills. The only good thing about this place is that it's relatively clean. However, don't bother to request no housekeeping as they'll send the cleaners in anyway and then tell you that if anything goes missing they will take no responsibility and instead said we should PAY a DAILY fee for using their tattered, manky, old safe.
Before making the dreadful choice of booking here, please note the following:
- The staff are rude, impolite and unhelpful. At check in the receptionist apparently could speak no English and literally dragged us all around the hotel to pay "tax" and dropped us in a box room. But when I went back to reception to complain she was suddenly fluent in English. Very rude, threw the key at us and told us to leave.
- The rooms literally STINK, including the toilets, which smell like a sewer and had stains all around the basin when we first arrived.
- The hotel do not allow any food or drinks from outside but will charge 10dh for a drink they buy for 3dh (the drinks are labelled with prices).
- The food is absolutely vile and stale. We paid for our food in advance and noted we were vegetarians, however, staff would only cater to us after numerous complaints and would not let us cancel or offer even a partial refund.
- The hotel staff will charge 200dh to make a booking for a trip to the beach and a further 300dh to make a phone call to the UK.
- The swimming pool is disgustingly dirty, I've not seen it cleaned since I arrived here and saw children jumping from a ledge into the pool - very dangerous.
- They lock one of the doors at night and don't tell anyone, so we were literally stuck outside for hours, banging on the door to get in. No one came & we had to walk ages to get someone to help.
- There is nothing to do in the area and the main square is at least a 30 minute walk away. Adding to that, there is a bar near one of the entrances, with drunken men falling out at all hours of the night. Ladies be careful!
- No one speaks English, which is fine being in a foreign country, but the staff don't even care to make any attempt. Only a few staff members made any effort to communicate with us or understand our requests.

Honestly, I could go on and on, but I'll end with this: save yourself the bother and book elsewhere. The hotel clearly lacks integrity and customer service, and instead only bother with money-grabbing tactics. We still have a few days left here and are eagerly anticipating our arrival home. The housekeepers even stole our dresses and after confronting reception (this lady even shouted at me for having a packet of sweets and bottlw of water) was tols they'd be brought to my room. She didn't even bother to ask what room I was in or what the dresses looked like. Needless to say they still haven't been returned.
Rooms are basic, but beds are comfy enough.
We booked as a 4star and later found out it is a 3star but honestly I'd give it 1star.
I wouldn't wish this hotel on my worst enemy - they've ruined our holiday and experience. Save yourself the trouble.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Just returned from a week long stay in Marrakech. The hotel offered up disappointment after disappointment, easier to list than sentence:

- Wrong room - twin instead of double
- No information provided WHATSOEVER by the miserable receptionist in Oudaya 2 - not told of where restaurant was or dining times. We were just thrown the key to the wrong room
- No balcony when this was part of our booking
- Light switch did not work properly in our room - it flicked on and off constantly before it settled
- Only hot water out of the sink tap
- No hot water during the day and during random evenings from the bath/shower
- Shower holder fitting fell off the wall
- Air conditioner leaked and flooded our room
- Over charged on tax - we didn't think to ask for a receipt at the time and only found out later that we had paid too much. The moody receptionist from Oudaya 2 simply hand wrote another receipt with the correct figures and told us that is what we had paid and they would not provide us with an invoice.
- Short changed on some money we exchanged at the hotel (they later corrected this when we queried it, but it was some hours later that they phones to say they owed us more)
- Water and food from outside the hotel are not allowed, despite them offering no snacks and only minimal lunchtime options of about 4 sandwiches and 2 small pizzas. Not even water can be brought into the hotel.

- Food - Breakfast has minimal selection and consists almost entirely of pastries and bread. No cereal, fruit, hot food, yoghurts. Coffee tastes literally of dirt and the orange juice is watered down and has sugar added to it. Evening meals, I suspect, are re-heated as the menu is the same at lunchtime. Again, not much variety and whilst the meals taste okay, we suffered after and resorted to eating at McDonalds!

Our rep was from adventure holidays/low cost beds? The souks excursion involved looking around a couple of sites - palace bahia and the saadian tombs. There is not much to see at all here. The tour guide was very knowledgable but seemed to lead us only to "mates" shops who tried to pressure us to buy their things, instead of simply showing us around. The rep also gave us very late knowledge of booking an excursion and kept moving the times, which meant we potentially wasted a day hanging around the hotel. Also, their excursions are expensive - see if the hotel is offering anything and shop around first.

Overall holiday was good, but only because we did our own thing. Learn to haggle - it's good fun and no more than a week is needed in this place. After that, you have seen everything there is to see in the square and souks. The people overall were friendly in Marrakech, but you need to have your wits about you and don't believe anyone who "works in your hotel" and wants to show you the way- they want to take your money!

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somerset uk
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I've just come back from here hotel was great was look after very well the place itself is another story I would never go back to Marrakech I was very disappointed by the lack of respect from the locals was hounded constantly and was conned left right and centre for a place looking to increase there tourism something needs to change I would never return for this reason hotel and weather was the only thing good about this holiday

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dagenham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Our stay there was good, majority of the staff were very friendly. The only major set back is the language barrier - only one or two understands what you are trying to say in English. We had few issues with missed dinner due to late check-in, non of the staff were able to take it up, and we were flatly refused to have one as gesture, until we spoke with 'Madame Wafa' who was very very kind to give us a voucher to have lunch on our day of departure.
In general, they are all very friendly.

Room Tip: Top part with balconies very good, though our bathroom needs a bit of refurbishment. Make sure they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Opava, Czech Republic
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Stayed in the hotel 2 nights, we had to change the room straight from the beginning due to cockroaches, after that did not seem to have any issues. Rooms are average size, A/C was working absolutely fine (very important as the temperature was reaching during day cca 50 degrees). The pool was dirty, did not dare to try it. A/C in the dining room was not functional, food of average quality. Location - approx 40 min walk from the main square. In the proximity supermarket and small shops to buy necessary things. In general, I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

The hotel is very nice.
We had such a nice time there.

The room were clean, and the staff are lovely and they helped a lot.
We went to a trip with them contact, and was safe.

it has got a taxi at there and many shops around and also a big supermarket close to.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Oudaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oudaya

Address: 147 Rue Mohammed el Bequal | Gueliz, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #360 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Oudaya 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers, Agoda, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel Oudaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Oudaya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.