We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible spleeping and washing conditions_full of old hippie style_close to Djemaa” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Essaouira

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Essaouira
Save
You added Hotel Essaouira to your Saves list
3 Sidi Bouloukate, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #309 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
Warsaw, Poland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Terrible spleeping and washing conditions_full of old hippie style_close to Djemaa”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2010

This is really no frills hotel, make sure you have ear plugs when planning to stay here.
No hot water whatsoever, filthy "toilet" and little shared so called "shower" with no place to hang anything even towel or your clothes....unfriendly stuff, thinny rooms..
But to stop with the moans - it is good value comparing to other 5€/per person deal hostels right next t Djemaa El Fna.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    42
    9
    8
    9
See reviews for
8
32
20
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield Lake, Ohio
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2010

Great value for money; clean enough everything considered and fine if you don't mind roughing it - value for money and good location definately. The hotel has a resident old british hippy type chap who is somewhat overpowering and pushy - but he can get you anything as long as he get's a cut. Not the most honest man around, beware of leaving anything on one of the roof top tables when you visit the loo! tthis man particularly ruined my stay with his constant attention seeking antics, and story telling that just didn't ring truel. Staff not particularly helpful, but overall ok for the budget traveller.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2010

The hotel is a budget hotel, with basic provisions but an awesome deal.
It is located in the medina and close to the Jama el Fnaa square.
We stayed here with a large group of 12 people for two nights.

The first night I slept on the roof which costs about €2.
The atmosphere on the roof is great and you will probably meet up with other travellers.
The rooftop view at night is also dazzling.
The roof however can get overcrowded so you'll have to make sure that you get one of the thicker matrasses as soon as you can.
You however shouldn't worry to much about the noise, lights go out arround 11pm on the rooftop.

The second night I took a room, which are fine though it can get very hot at night.
There is one shower on each floor so it's best to get up in time to take a shower (especially if you still want hot water).
Breakfast is awesome. You can get different types of breakfast including coffee, orange juice and croissants.

If you go to Marrakech and you are looking for a cheap deal with a great atmosphere this is the place !

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2010

All of the reviews about location, service, decor are true. This is a typical budget hotel and I was looking forward to staying there. However, there were bed bugs. I stayed in their largest (and most expensive room, I might add) for one night, with a plan to move to a smaller room for the second. Luckily I awoke before getting eaten alive, but there was no way I was going to risk a second night. Maybe they aren't in all the rooms, which would explain the large number of positive reviews on this site.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2010

All the traditional style hotels in Morocco are beautiful, but the atmosphere and value for money add to this to make this hostel an experience in itself. During our stays, many people were camped out on the roof terrace, looking over the city under the glow of the stars. Although we stayed in a twin room, we chatted to lots of these guests during breakfast on the terrace, or while having a coffee and taking in the city. It seemed that whether you stay here in a bed, or on the roof, you'll enjoy a really relaxed, friendly, comfortable and unique stay. I would definitely recommend this to any budget traveler. But it should be noted that if you haven't been to Marrakech before you will not be able to find this place alone!

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2010

Such a good hotel, after a disastorous night in another hostel, clean rooms, spacious, excellent staff and a brilliant price. You can see the High Atlas from the roof terrace which serves drinks and food at good prices. Really highly recommended

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2010

Very noisy in rooms on ground floor. We were woke early by people checking out early. Beautiful tiles throughout but this just adds to the echo of noisy neighbours! Room simple and small. Terrace pretty but a little crowded with rooftop guests. We stayed just one night before heading across the street to a quieter and cheaper riad.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Essaouira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Essaouira

Address: 3 Sidi Bouloukate, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 339
Also Known As:
Essaouira Hotel Marrakech
Hotel Essaouira Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Essaouira, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.