We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite adequate with antique charm” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Essaouira

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Essaouira
Save Saved
You added Hotel Essaouira to your Saves list
3 Sidi Bouloukate, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #306 of 460 Hotels in Marrakech
San Cristobal de las Casas, Mexico
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Quite adequate with antique charm”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

This is an old, somewhat rundown hotel. I got a large, airy room with private bath. The mattress was only slightly sloping towards the middle. A good centrally located stopover for someone on a modest budget.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    39
    9
    8
    8
See reviews for
7
29
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I've stayed here a few times in the last few years for about a four weeks in total. 100 dirhams for a double. They have one single room for 70. Wifi is included, which tends to be very good during the day, a little less stable from about 5.00 pm onwards. The rooms are clean but basic. Most have no windows - only windows that open out onto the inner courtyard, not onto the outside. Some are a bit cell-like, but what can you expect for this price? They also have a sink. But toilets/showers are outside/communal (hot water 24 hours). Really nice rooftop with a view of the Atlas range. Due to the traditional riad design, whereby the four sides look onto a communal square and thus onto one another, things can get noisy. Even people talking in their rooms can be heard on the next floor. The worst thing is the slamming of doors. Between 11.30 pm and 6.30 am, it tends to be quiet. But, as someone else said, bring your earplugs. If saving money is your main concern, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We were a group of 8 friends travelling on a budget. This place was a very good start for us. Very cheap, very close to Djemaa El Fna square, even charming if you're sporty and do not care about sharing a bathroom. The management let us have a pleasant terrace-breakfast at the near "Riad Mogador" which apparently is run by the same people. We had a very good time, we stayed here on our way back as well.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

I slept there for one night when we were waiting for our flight back from marrakesh and it is right what you seek when all you need is a place to stay. it was simple but clean, comfortable and very cheap. 70 dh is next to nothing in marrakesh and it is fairly easy to find and just a few minutes walking from the djemma el fna. if you are looking for a clean place and travel on low budget i can advise you consider staying there.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

I asked a room for the close riad but no room were available so the owner sent us to next block and offered a big room in Hotel Essaouira: at a first glance it was ok but during the night I was completely eaten by bed bugs. I would not recommend even to my enemies to spend a night in this Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012 via mobile

I stayed in this Hotel one week during christmas, and once i got used to the cold rooms, and the wc and shower in the hall, it Was great. Clean, great location, quiet, very cheap and friendly staff - especially the cleaning ladies. Other guest were nice too.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellezelles, Belgium
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2011

every year we stay one or two nights in hotel essouira when we pass marrakech
nice rooms,great terrace,hot shower an very friendly ownerin the centre of the medina ,near "place jem el fna" where you can have breakfast
the whole family is big fan

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Essaouira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Essaouira

Address: 3 Sidi Bouloukate, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 339
Also Known As:
Essaouira Hotel Marrakech
Hotel Essaouira Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Essaouira, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.