We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic, but cheap and with great location in the Medina! Good value!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Essaouira

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Essaouira
Save
You added Hotel Essaouira to your Saves list
3 Sidi Bouloukate, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #303 of 462 Hotels in Marrakech
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Basic, but cheap and with great location in the Medina! Good value!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012 via mobile

I stayed in this Hotel one week during christmas, and once i got used to the cold rooms, and the wc and shower in the hall, it Was great. Clean, great location, quiet, very cheap and friendly staff - especially the cleaning ladies. Other guest were nice too.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    41
    9
    8
    8
See reviews for
8
30
20
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ellezelles, Belgium
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2011

every year we stay one or two nights in hotel essouira when we pass marrakech
nice rooms,great terrace,hot shower an very friendly ownerin the centre of the medina ,near "place jem el fna" where you can have breakfast
the whole family is big fan

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2011

What makes a great budget hotel if not good staff, good location and cleanliness? Essaouira tops all three of these categories. The hotel provided great comfort - and that for a price much lower than what you would pay elsewhere for the same thing.

Marrakech had overwhelmed us with its chaos; but when we got back to the hotel we knew we were so far away from that. The hotel is only three minutes away from Djemaa el-Fna; but it's so peaceful and calm. And that's such a treat in a place like Marrakech! The rooms are all situated around an indoor courtyard beautifully decorated with blue tiles. They are clean, the beds are large and comfortable. There is a lovely terrace, where you can see all of Marrakech and the Atlas Mountains. Breakfast is not included, but you can eat well for agreeable prices.

And, the staff. They were cool people, friendly as if we really were their friends - not as if we were foreigners whom they had to make content. Just after checking in we asked the receptionist where we could find food that would be cheap and good, preferably places for locals. He gave us the best tips, we were grateful to him after every meal at #14 in the Djemaa.

Let me summarize: Hotel Essaouira is the place for the happy traveller.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2010

we stayed in here on our last day of our trip, selecting the hostel as a "last minute panic", but were very pleasantly surprised when we arrived. Although the rooms are very basic ( there is no electrical socket in the rooms or corridors, if you are thinking of charging up phones or cameras over-night) the building is very pretty; distributed like a riad with an inner patio, fountain and galleries where the rooms are located. On top there is a big roof-terrase with an "almost" view ;-) We were here in the winter, so it was quite cold, but I am sure in the summer the terasse is just exelent.
We needed to get up very early to catch the airport bus, which is conveniantly right around the corner from the hostel ( no. 19 running from 06.15 - till midnight I think, so no need to catch an overpriced taxi:-)
Even though the hostel is very close to the main square Jem el Fna, its on a side street with many other hostels, so it was pretty quiet. For one of the cheepies ( 10 Euros a night) its very worth it.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2010

This is really no frills hotel, make sure you have ear plugs when planning to stay here.
No hot water whatsoever, filthy "toilet" and little shared so called "shower" with no place to hang anything even towel or your clothes....unfriendly stuff, thinny rooms..
But to stop with the moans - it is good value comparing to other 5€/per person deal hostels right next t Djemaa El Fna.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield Lake, Ohio
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2010

Great value for money; clean enough everything considered and fine if you don't mind roughing it - value for money and good location definately. The hotel has a resident old british hippy type chap who is somewhat overpowering and pushy - but he can get you anything as long as he get's a cut. Not the most honest man around, beware of leaving anything on one of the roof top tables when you visit the loo! tthis man particularly ruined my stay with his constant attention seeking antics, and story telling that just didn't ring truel. Staff not particularly helpful, but overall ok for the budget traveller.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2010

The hotel is a budget hotel, with basic provisions but an awesome deal.
It is located in the medina and close to the Jama el Fnaa square.
We stayed here with a large group of 12 people for two nights.

The first night I slept on the roof which costs about €2.
The atmosphere on the roof is great and you will probably meet up with other travellers.
The rooftop view at night is also dazzling.
The roof however can get overcrowded so you'll have to make sure that you get one of the thicker matrasses as soon as you can.
You however shouldn't worry to much about the noise, lights go out arround 11pm on the rooftop.

The second night I took a room, which are fine though it can get very hot at night.
There is one shower on each floor so it's best to get up in time to take a shower (especially if you still want hot water).
Breakfast is awesome. You can get different types of breakfast including coffee, orange juice and croissants.

If you go to Marrakech and you are looking for a cheap deal with a great atmosphere this is the place !

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Essaouira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Essaouira

Address: 3 Sidi Bouloukate, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 339
Also Known As:
Essaouira Hotel Marrakech
Hotel Essaouira Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Essaouira, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.