We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy, but tired, hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de la Menara

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel de la Menara
Save
You added Hotel de la Menara to your Saves list
Ave. des Ramparts, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #393 of 490 Hotels in Marrakech
Cheshire
Level Contributor
37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Classy, but tired, hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2010

We stayed at the end of March after travelling up from Agadir for a night. The location is second to none, just out of the centre, without being too much of a walk. We stayed in a double room, number 104, with two double(ish) beds. We had two young children (3 years old and 4 months old) who throughly enjoyed it. Breakfast was really nice.

It just looks like it needs a good paint. Our room was clean, with a great balcony and great view. The staff were friendly and nice and had good parking facilities so close to the centre. The room cost us 400 Dirhams which is about £32 and Ive had alot worse in Blackpool for that sort of money. You get what you pay for in my opinion.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrSerious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Queensland, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2009

My partner and I stayed here as it was the joining hotel for our two back to back Intrepid tours through Morocco. The hotel staff were unfriendly, we were given stale bread and what tasted like orange cordial for breakfast and the rooms were, well, in need of a major facelift. We had no hot water unless we let the shower run for 35 minutes and then you could shower if you only ran the hot water tap. Not the best experience when you are arriving at 10.30pm at night after travelling for most of the day! As our Intrepid guide stated to me on our way to this hotel that it frequently does not have hot water I can not believe Intrepid are still using this hotel for their tours.

  • Stayed November 2009
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tagineking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Marrakech hotels

Melbourne
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2009

I stayed at this hotel at the beginning and end of my tour. I did not have such a bad experience like other travellers and was lucky to have a clean room, working AC, clean towels and hot water. My room had a balcony with nice chairs and a table. However the TV only caught one channel in one of the rooms and the second time I stayed the TV didn't work at all. Breakfast was very average indeed. The outdoor Bar and Pool facilities are probably the highlight of the hotel (although I did not enter the pool). I found the staff helpful and polite however best to come equipped with a little french.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank venus7979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2009

We had a wonderful trip to Morocco, but begining and ending at De La Menara was a downer. Bettery hotels off in the countryside, IMHO. Dowdy common areas (was probably fantastic in its day), dingy/worn rooms (I hate other people's hair ground into the carpet), AC with no thermostat, dour staff at the front (well, one nice person). Below average breakfast - had better eats in 300 person Berber mtnside village than here.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CopperDogMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katherine
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2009

I am very sad to say that we were made stay here by Intrepid travel as we were on one of their tours. We were very unimpressed with this hotel and Intrepid for making us stay there. Almost no one in our tour group of 6 got hot water in their shower. The beds were yuck. Breakfast was ok, but nothing fancy. It was a big, heartless hotel with no charm, no character and no hot water. Yuck yuck yuck!

There are many fabulous little family run riads in Marrakech that are 10 million times better than this for only $20 (Australian) per night more. Don't bother with big cheap hotels, go for a riad; you'll be pleased that you did.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katherine_Local
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2009

We stayed in room 108 at the beginning of our trip and room 55 at the end.. The staff did not welcome us either time. The rooms were not clean, especially the bathroom. Both times we were bitten. Had trouble getting hot water from the shower, after asking three times it did happen so it is available. The rooms are not cleaned as I discoveed shards of glass in my foot, looking further there were lots in the carpet. A croissant for breakfast was good, but the staffs general hygiene is poor at all times.

  • Stayed April 2009
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bert015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qatar
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2009

True this place isn't your usual 5-star luxury hotel but it's relatively clean and has an excellent location. It's right outside the walls of the old city, so it's only a 10 minute walk to Jemma El-fna. It has a very charming downstairs sitting area and courtyard with a nice pool and a mini-bar/restaurant. They serve up a simple yet substantial breakfast. The staff is also very nice (they speak Arabic, French, and English quite well) which makes it a pleasant stay for a few nights. It's much better than some of the other hotels in that price range/ star range with similar location. Trust me, I've stayed in some of them!

  • Stayed March 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ThereIsAWill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
2.0 mi away
Ryad Mogador Menara
Ryad Mogador Menara
#356 of 490 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 stars 382 reviews
1.8 mi away
Diwane Hotel
Diwane Hotel
#286 of 490 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 823 reviews
1.7 mi away
La Mamounia Marrakech
La Mamounia Marrakech
#160 of 490 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 1,324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Kenzi Club Agdal Medina
Kenzi Club Agdal Medina
#201 of 490 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 3,394 reviews
1.0 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#6 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,483 reviews
1.5 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#5 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Menara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Menara

Address: Ave. des Ramparts, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #393 of 490 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 300
Also Known As:
De La Menara Marrakech
De La Menara Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing