We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful architecture” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ali Ben Youssef Mosque

Ali Ben Youssef Mosque
Marrakech, Morocco
Improve this listing
Ranked #62 of 142 things to do in Marrakech
Attraction details
Manchester
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“beautiful architecture”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We went to so many sites in Marrakech but enjoyed this from the outside. Very close to djamaa El fna square

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Manchester456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Wonderful architecture”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Beautiful building with wonderful architecture. A photographer 's paradise.

Well worth a visit.

Intriguing to be allowed in to a mosque.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Non Muslims weren't allowed in but the building was beautiful and the calls to prayer throughout the day were enchanting to hear.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Terry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“The finest architecture in Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

A fascinating visit with a great deal to see. The main court, the mosque and the students rooms are all superb.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank WinchesterExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice from the outside”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

The mosque makes for a nice photograph opportunity from the exterior. My father and I walked and the outside and took a number of pictures. I'm not sure if entry would have been allowed for non Muslims

There were one or two locals outside trying to sell passing tourists a guide book but they weren't too pushy and actually had a good sense of humour.

Interesting stork nests nearby. The mosque is also a good reference point for this part of the city but shouldn't be confused with the main mosque

Helpful?
Thank seekeroffortune2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ali Ben Youssef Mosque also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Ali Ben Youssef Mosque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing