We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful architecture” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ali Ben Youssef Mosque

Ali Ben Youssef Mosque
Marrakech, Morocco
Improve this listing
Ranked #519 of 735 Attractions in Marrakech
Attraction details
Manchester
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“beautiful architecture”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We went to so many sites in Marrakech but enjoyed this from the outside. Very close to djamaa El fna square

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    9
    10
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Wonderful architecture”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Beautiful building with wonderful architecture. A photographer 's paradise.

Well worth a visit.

Intriguing to be allowed in to a mosque.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Non Muslims weren't allowed in but the building was beautiful and the calls to prayer throughout the day were enchanting to hear.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“The finest architecture in Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

A fascinating visit with a great deal to see. The main court, the mosque and the students rooms are all superb.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice from the outside”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

The mosque makes for a nice photograph opportunity from the exterior. My father and I walked and the outside and took a number of pictures. I'm not sure if entry would have been allowed for non Muslims

There were one or two locals outside trying to sell passing tourists a guide book but they weren't too pushy and actually had a good sense of humour.

Interesting stork nests nearby. The mosque is also a good reference point for this part of the city but shouldn't be confused with the main mosque

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ali Ben Youssef Mosque also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Ali Ben Youssef Mosque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ali Ben Youssef Mosque, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.