We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful architecture” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ali Ben Youssef Mosque

Ali Ben Youssef Mosque
, Marrakech, Morocco
Improve this listing
Ranked #86 of 137 things to do in Marrakech
Attraction details
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Wonderful architecture”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Beautiful building with wonderful architecture. A photographer 's paradise.

Well worth a visit.

Intriguing to be allowed in to a mosque.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    11
    10
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Merseyside
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Non Muslims weren't allowed in but the building was beautiful and the calls to prayer throughout the day were enchanting to hear.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“The finest architecture in Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

A fascinating visit with a great deal to see. The main court, the mosque and the students rooms are all superb.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice from the outside”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

The mosque makes for a nice photograph opportunity from the exterior. My father and I walked and the outside and took a number of pictures. I'm not sure if entry would have been allowed for non Muslims

There were one or two locals outside trying to sell passing tourists a guide book but they weren't too pushy and actually had a good sense of humour.

Interesting stork nests nearby. The mosque is also a good reference point for this part of the city but shouldn't be confused with the main mosque

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very traditional and amazing place to visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Went there during the prayer time with my wife but she was not able to go in as there is no women space but i was able to go in and pray. The courtyard the tiles are chipped and needs a bit of restoration. The place where abulation is performed is very nice. The prayer hall needs a lot of work mats are unclean. But worth viewing the place.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ali Ben Youssef Mosque also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Ali Ben Youssef Mosque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ali Ben Youssef Mosque, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.