We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must see!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ben Youssef Madrasa

Ben Youssef Madrasa
Kaat Benahid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 140 things to do in Marrakech
Attraction details
Austria
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Must see!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2015 NEW

The Ben Youssef Medersa is a fine example of traditional moroccan Architecture. In the heart of the medina it is a little tricky to find, but it is worth visiting it. Beautiful colorful mosaic tiles, fine wood carvings and calligraphic stucco as far as you can see.

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,552 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,935
    1,281
    293
    32
    11
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Don’t miss it if you love architecture”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2015 NEW

This was a beautiful old school and had a slightly disheveled sense about it, but that did not detract from it’s grace. I wish there had been more written explanations about the various rooms, in English or French or Italian, but I’m sure I could have found a guide if I really wanted one.

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Insight into schooling for imams”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2015 NEW

This is in the heart of the Medina and can be difficult to find even with the best map but worth a visit. You can visit courtyard and rooms where students were trained to become imams. You can admire most beautiful carvings and tilework. This is a very peaceful location in the middle of the hussle and bustle of the souk.

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Interesting cultural visit.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2015 NEW

We engaged the services of a tour guide who brought us here and gave us some good information on this building. Maybe not a great deal to see, but the entry fee is cheap and worth visiting for the history and cultural aspects.

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“wonderful space”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2015 NEW

go early to avoid the crowds - then you get to experience the place on different levels without fighting through people

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ben Youssef Madrasa also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Ben Youssef Madrasa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ben Youssef Madrasa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.