We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning architecture” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ben Youssef Madrasa

Ben Youssef Madrasa
Kaat Benahid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Recommended
$21*
and up
Souks and Medinas of Marrakech Tour
Ranked #4 of 142 things to do in Marrakech
Attraction details
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Stunning architecture”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

This is worth a visit for it's beautiful architecture and cultural interest, even if I wish it was better maintained.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank HLEC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Stunning!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

it is stunning! Not to be missed.The architecture is so ornate and lavish - worth getting the joint ticket for the museum next door which is also very interesting (50 dirhams for each or 60 for a joint ticket - no-brainer!)

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Interesting and beautiful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

One of the grandest houses in Marrakech preserved for cultural interest, beautiful carved wooden doors and mosaic tiling. Very popular and close to the riad star

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Terry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls, Virginia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“An old school building”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

No information provided to make this plain building come alive with history. A sign or two in French and none in English.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank WorldAlive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku
Level Contributor
67 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Visit the first thing in the morning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

Edwina from House of fusion, with whom I did a wonderful cooking class, recommended that I should visit first thing in the morning before the tourist groups arrive, to see the building reflected on the pool. So that is what I did. I had the whole building for myself for a while. Beautiful quiet experience.

Helpful?
2 Thank mh_jp
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Ben Youssef Madrasa also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Ben Youssef Madrasa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing