We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ali Ben Youssef Madrasa

Ali Ben Youssef Madrasa
Just off Rue Souk el Khemis, Marrakech, Morocco
+212 5246-54578
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 88 Attractions in Marrakech
Type: Architectural Buildings, Historic Sites, Educational Sites
Attraction Details
Andover, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Stunning!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

it is stunning! Not to be missed.The architecture is so ornate and lavish - worth getting the joint ticket for the museum next door which is also very interesting (50 dirhams for each or 60 for a joint ticket - no-brainer!)

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,623 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,454
    912
    223
    28
    6
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Merseyside
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Interesting and beautiful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

One of the grandest houses in Marrakech preserved for cultural interest, beautiful carved wooden doors and mosaic tiling. Very popular and close to the riad star

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls, Virginia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“An old school building”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

No information provided to make this plain building come alive with history. A sign or two in French and none in English.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Visit the first thing in the morning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

Edwina from House of fusion, with whom I did a wonderful cooking class, recommended that I should visit first thing in the morning before the tourist groups arrive, to see the building reflected on the pool. So that is what I did. I had the whole building for myself for a while. Beautiful quiet experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
69 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Traditional Moorish Architecture”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

This is one of the more impressive and well-preserved Moorish buildings in Marrakech, with a myriad of interesting side rooms set around an impressive central courtyard. Not in the same league as the Moorish buildings in Seville, Spain but definitely worth a visit during a stay in Marrakech.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ali Ben Youssef Madrasa also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Ali Ben Youssef Madrasa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ali Ben Youssef Madrasa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.