We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice school in the heart of the Medina” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ben Youssef Madrasa

Ben Youssef Madrasa
Kaat Benahid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$41*
and up
Marrakech Discovery Tour
Ranked #2 of 150 things to do in Marrakech
Attraction details
oklahoma
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice school in the heart of the Medina”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

A fascinating place with amazing architecture. It was great to walk around and browse. Pretty cheap to get in. Would have liked more things to help self guide on a tour, but overall pretty interesting.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,942 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,145
    1,422
    328
    35
    12
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Maputo, Maputo, Mozambique
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful old school”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Lovely old school full of history. Better appreciated with no tour groups. We did not have a guide but could be useful. Difficult to find but worth the effort.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
high wycombe
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Ben Youssef Madrassa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Well worth the visit, we bought a combined ticket for this and the museum, good value. Beautiful architecture.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aussie in the UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Mesmerising”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

I have visited this Madrasa 5 times over many years. Best to come when the doors open in the morning. Architecturally I regard it as the finest in Morocco ( having visited the ones in Fes and Meknes). I love the solitude of the rooms upstairs, and the fine designs carved in plaster (upstairs). On the ground-floor : well, feast your eyes on Moroccan carvings and tile-work that would be amongst the most exquisite in Morocco. The fountain is amazing. Refresh your spirit!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“More of the same rundown tat”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Honestly don't bother.
If you're at the Marrakesh Musee don't buy the combined ticket.
It's just another run down building. Same tile work. Same plaster and wood work. I might have got another star had it actually been restored to an acceptable standard.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ben Youssef Madrasa also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Ben Youssef Madrasa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ben Youssef Madrasa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.