We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unmissable for architects or architecture enthusiasts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ali Ben Youssef Madrasa

Ali Ben Youssef Madrasa
Just off Rue Souk el Khemis, Marrakech, Morocco
+212 5246-54578
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 91 attractions in Marrakech
Type: Architectural Buildings, Historic Sites, Educational Sites
Attraction Details
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Unmissable for architects or architecture enthusiasts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

This 16th century madrassa (school) is a must for architects, architecture students or architecture enthusiasts. The tile, marble and wood work of the coutyard, classroom, rooms, etc. are masterpieces in carving. One can easily spend over an hour exploring the school and observing the many details it offers. The school is no longer in use but its typology will take most on a journey to its thriving school day times.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

2,438 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,360
    845
    201
    27
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oviedo, Spain
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

You have to see this. The architecture is gorgeous, the silence is magnificent... It's not a Quran school anymore, but it still feels like an intellectual respite in the middle of bustling Marrakesh.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darmstadt, Germany
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

This Quran school is one of my favorite attractions in Marrakech. A definite must-see. Try to go when it's not packed with tourists though.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Lovely break from the madness of the Medina”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Really enjoyed this old Islamic school. There isn't anything to do so I didn't give it 5/5 but it is beautifully peaceful and a great place to take pictures.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Very Beautiful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

This place was stunning and a welcome break from the heat/crazyness of Marrakech. We walked around it for a while and enjoyed how beautiful it was. Lovely visit!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Ali Ben Youssef Madrasa also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Ali Ben Youssef Madrasa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ali Ben Youssef Madrasa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Ali Ben Youssef Madrasa to your Saves list