We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ben Youssef Madrasa

Ben Youssef Madrasa
Kaat Benahid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 101 Attractions in Marrakech
Type: Architectural buildings, Colleges & universities, Historic sites, Sights & Landmarks
Attraction details
Oviedo, Spain
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

You have to see this. The architecture is gorgeous, the silence is magnificent... It's not a Quran school anymore, but it still feels like an intellectual respite in the middle of bustling Marrakesh.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,795
    1,170
    280
    31
    10
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Darmstadt, Germany
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

This Quran school is one of my favorite attractions in Marrakech. A definite must-see. Try to go when it's not packed with tourists though.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Lovely break from the madness of the Medina”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Really enjoyed this old Islamic school. There isn't anything to do so I didn't give it 5/5 but it is beautifully peaceful and a great place to take pictures.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Very Beautiful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

This place was stunning and a welcome break from the heat/crazyness of Marrakech. We walked around it for a while and enjoyed how beautiful it was. Lovely visit!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“beautiful architecture”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

well worth a visit - simply stuning architecture. We had a guide with us and it was nice to have more in-depth background.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ben Youssef Madrasa also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Ben Youssef Madrasa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ben Youssef Madrasa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.