We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tile work worth the visit” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Ben Youssef Madrasa

Ben Youssef Madrasa
Kaat Benahid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 99 Attractions in Marrakech
Type: Architectural buildings, Historic sites, Colleges & universities, Sights & Landmarks
Attraction details
Tucson
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
54 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Tile work worth the visit”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We did not stay long, this was our last day in Maroc and we were on overload for such places. The tile work and gardens were very nice. A good place if you are just beginning your visit.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,782
    1,160
    278
    31
    10
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A reflection of the past”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

It was only towards the end of our adventure we discovered the Madrasa was a 10 minute walk from our Riad. This place is everything you expect it to be and more. The architecture, like the rest of Marrakech has been perfected to an exceptional standard. The Madrasa is well maintained and we enjoyed exploring this labyrinth of a building. Tour guides are available at an additional, small expense. You could easily spend a good few hours around here as it offers so much culture. As much as we loved the chaos of the Medina, it was insightful to reflect and try to comprehend school life here.

A must see whilst in Marrakech!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“if you like architecture and art this is for you”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Amazing Islamic art with colourful symmetrical patterns - great pics taken and can be enlarged. Go late afternoon as it seemed to be much quieter.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Amazing architecture, peaceful inside”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Brilliant crafted building, love to enjoy some time wandering about.
Outside was like a maze. Local people were not that nice. Make sure taking photos on the way to remember. Don't go to the leather market, too far and you will get lost in the end.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olney, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

You must go see this, if only just to admire the beautiful Maroc architecture... All my photos looked amazing. Go into one of the tiny rooms alone and imagine being one of the children back in the day. Really peaceful place and reasonable entry fee

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ben Youssef Madrasa also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Ben Youssef Madrasa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ben Youssef Madrasa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.