We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“if you like architecture and art this is for you” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ben Youssef Madrasa

Ben Youssef Madrasa
Kaat Benahid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 141 things to do in Marrakech
Attraction details
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“if you like architecture and art this is for you”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Amazing Islamic art with colourful symmetrical patterns - great pics taken and can be enlarged. Go late afternoon as it seemed to be much quieter.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,673 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,000
    1,320
    309
    33
    11
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Amazing architecture, peaceful inside”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Brilliant crafted building, love to enjoy some time wandering about.
Outside was like a maze. Local people were not that nice. Make sure taking photos on the way to remember. Don't go to the leather market, too far and you will get lost in the end.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olney, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

You must go see this, if only just to admire the beautiful Maroc architecture... All my photos looked amazing. Go into one of the tiny rooms alone and imagine being one of the children back in the day. Really peaceful place and reasonable entry fee

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

This is near the Maison de la phoographie so it's worth visiting. The architecture is fantastic. There were not any guides around when we went but it would have been worth getting one to understand what all the little rooms are for!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful reflective place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

A truly lovely place, tranquil and calm. Loads of lovely corridors, nooks and crannies to explore. beautifully designed with typically well detailed Maroc decoration. If you are in Marrakech you really need to go and explore this place! On entry get a joint ticket for the Madrasa and the museum as the museum is also well worth a look around! Tickets are not expensive either i think around 75MAD for a joint ticket.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ben Youssef Madrasa also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Ben Youssef Madrasa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ben Youssef Madrasa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.