We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“if you like architecture and art this is for you” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ali Ben Youssef Madrasa

Ali Ben Youssef Madrasa
Just off Rue Souk el Khemis, Marrakech, Morocco
+212 5246-54578
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 91 attractions in Marrakech
Type: Architectural Buildings, Historic Sites, Educational Sites
Attraction Details
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“if you like architecture and art this is for you”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Amazing Islamic art with colourful symmetrical patterns - great pics taken and can be enlarged. Go late afternoon as it seemed to be much quieter.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,434 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,357
    844
    201
    27
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Amazing architecture, peaceful inside”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Brilliant crafted building, love to enjoy some time wandering about.
Outside was like a maze. Local people were not that nice. Make sure taking photos on the way to remember. Don't go to the leather market, too far and you will get lost in the end.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olney, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

You must go see this, if only just to admire the beautiful Maroc architecture... All my photos looked amazing. Go into one of the tiny rooms alone and imagine being one of the children back in the day. Really peaceful place and reasonable entry fee

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

This is near the Maison de la phoographie so it's worth visiting. The architecture is fantastic. There were not any guides around when we went but it would have been worth getting one to understand what all the little rooms are for!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful reflective place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

A truly lovely place, tranquil and calm. Loads of lovely corridors, nooks and crannies to explore. beautifully designed with typically well detailed Maroc decoration. If you are in Marrakech you really need to go and explore this place! On entry get a joint ticket for the Madrasa and the museum as the museum is also well worth a look around! Tickets are not expensive either i think around 75MAD for a joint ticket.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ali Ben Youssef Madrasa also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Ali Ben Youssef Madrasa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ali Ben Youssef Madrasa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Ali Ben Youssef Madrasa to your Saves list