We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ben Youssef Madrasa

Ben Youssef Madrasa
Kaat Benahid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 150 things to do in Marrakech
Attraction details
Olney, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
28 attraction reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

You must go see this, if only just to admire the beautiful Maroc architecture... All my photos looked amazing. Go into one of the tiny rooms alone and imagine being one of the children back in the day. Really peaceful place and reasonable entry fee

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,849 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,094
    1,389
    319
    35
    12
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 attraction reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

This is near the Maison de la phoographie so it's worth visiting. The architecture is fantastic. There were not any guides around when we went but it would have been worth getting one to understand what all the little rooms are for!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful reflective place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

A truly lovely place, tranquil and calm. Loads of lovely corridors, nooks and crannies to explore. beautifully designed with typically well detailed Maroc decoration. If you are in Marrakech you really need to go and explore this place! On entry get a joint ticket for the Madrasa and the museum as the museum is also well worth a look around! Tickets are not expensive either i think around 75MAD for a joint ticket.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 attraction reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

The courtyard is jaw droppingly beautiful. The islamic architecture makes it a must see when visiting Marrakech. Great for taking pictures.

Side note: Be wary of people trying to take you to see the tannerys outside. They claim they will not charge you anything but the person they hand you over to will upon completion of the tour demand money. Don't pay ad say you will report them to the police.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rushden, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 attraction reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Stunning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

What an amazing site. Just so beautiful and tranquil. Seeing where the studentsd lived and learnt was great. Be sure to have your camera with you as you will want to catch the beautiful architecture.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ben Youssef Madrasa also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Ben Youssef Madrasa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ben Youssef Madrasa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.