We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ben Youssef” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ali Ben Youssef Madrasa

Ali Ben Youssef Madrasa
Just off Rue Souk el Khemis, Marrakech, Morocco
+212 5246-54578
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 62 Attractions in Marrakech
Type: Architectural Buildings, Educational Sites, Historic Sites, Landmarks
Attraction details
Banbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Ben Youssef”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

A very interesting place to visit with very interesting architecture and see if you can work out which part of the pool is the deepest

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,877 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,597
    1,004
    240
    29
    7
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Well worth the visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Well worth seeing the ornate architecture how the students studied in their rooms and surroundings. Excellent value

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Historical Dormitory”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

The interior of the dormitory was so ornate and beautiful. We spent a long time exploring the nooks and crannies of the expansive building! If you are staying in Marrakech you must make time for a visit!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Get cultured!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

I enjoyed the architecture of this school, the entry door and the country yard. Very cultural tour and highly recommended for the first time travelers to Marrakech. For more information visit alextravelblog.com

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Stunning building dating back to Shakespeare's time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

This building, restored in the past 20 years, was a sort of campus for Koranic scholars. Most of the rooms are small cells, plain and simple, many without daylight, where the scholars used to sleep. The most amazing part was the central courtyard where the patterning (tiles, wood and plaster) was overwhelmingly beautiful. A peaceful, inspiring space - definitely worth a visit.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ali Ben Youssef Madrasa also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Ali Ben Youssef Madrasa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ali Ben Youssef Madrasa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.