We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Historical Dormitory” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ali Ben Youssef Madrasa

Ali Ben Youssef Madrasa
Just off Rue Souk el Khemis, Marrakech, Morocco
+212 5246-54578
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 90 Attractions in Marrakech
Type: Architectural Buildings, Historic Sites, Educational Sites
Attraction Details
Berkeley, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Historical Dormitory”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

The interior of the dormitory was so ornate and beautiful. We spent a long time exploring the nooks and crannies of the expansive building! If you are staying in Marrakech you must make time for a visit!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,542 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,421
    876
    212
    27
    6
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amman, Jordan
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Get cultured!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

I enjoyed the architecture of this school, the entry door and the country yard. Very cultural tour and highly recommended for the first time travelers to Marrakech. For more information visit alextravelblog.com

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Stunning building dating back to Shakespeare's time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

This building, restored in the past 20 years, was a sort of campus for Koranic scholars. Most of the rooms are small cells, plain and simple, many without daylight, where the scholars used to sleep. The most amazing part was the central courtyard where the patterning (tiles, wood and plaster) was overwhelmingly beautiful. A peaceful, inspiring space - definitely worth a visit.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, UK
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great arab design”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We, after a long trip from the main square, found the Ben Youssef Madrasa and we did not regret it !
It has a great history and some wonderful arabic design. We took lots of pictures and really enjoyed seeing the orginal arabic design and it is really unspoilt. It is worth every penny !

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knokke-Heist
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Interesting place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We visited this place and found it to be one of the most interesting places of historical and religious meaning in Marrakech, especially as the mosques are not accessible for not-muslims.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ali Ben Youssef Madrasa also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Ali Ben Youssef Madrasa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ali Ben Youssef Madrasa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.